Unimog travel in Oz

Submitted: Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 15:46
ThreadID: 78011 Views:9931 Replies:13 FollowUps:27
I will be travelling around in a Unimog U500 expedition vehicle. Can anybody shed some light on how this rig will fare on the Anne Beadell and Connie Sue? I would like to try the CSR but will need to get with a group or tag along. I have spares, welding equipment, power tools, air tools and hand tools. I have 130 gallons of fuel and 150 gallons of water. I have 2 spare tires or tyres in Oz speak along with a burning desire to explore as much of Oz as possible over the next 6 months. I would like to meet some others that have done these trips and pick their brains. You can see my rig at www.gxvmoghvn.com. I welcome any and all constructive criticism and look forward to hearing what you have to say. I have traveled the Plenty highway and Roper river run. I have not done anything difficult.

Reply By: uneekwahn - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 16:06

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 16:06
Can I come with you? :)
AnswerID: 414343

Follow Up By: Member - Ronald M (QLD) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 16:40

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 16:40
Now that depends doesn't it?
FollowupID: 684566

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 16:47

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 16:47
I don't think you will have issues with any of those planned destinations in that wicked BEAST!!!! What a great looking rig... Very envious.

Now, at the risk of pointing out what I'm sure is VERY obvious to you by now, PLEASE note that we drive on the left side of the road!!! ;-)

The reason I mention this is because I know of one major head on collision on an isolated highway, which was caused by a German tourist "forgetting" (due to a general lack of traffic no doubt) that he was supposed to be on the left of the road. I can imagine how easy this would be to do if you've always been used to driving on the right.

I agree that you would be best off travelling in a convoy, if only for the sake of companionship and the "nice feeling" that if the whole day tunes into the brown, smelly stuff that you actually have someone there to help you out.

Best of luck and safe travels.

AnswerID: 414346

Follow Up By: Member - Ronald M (QLD) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 16:54

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 16:54
Thanks for the heads up. The truck has Vario Pilot and I can move the steering to the right side. I will keep on my toes and try to stay to the left!

I do hope to hook up with people because I know that there is strength in numbers.
FollowupID: 684568

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:27

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:27
We also have a fairly local case recently where a visiting spanish scientist working in the cancer field in Canberra came over to the coast. It appears he may have come out of a side track onto the Princes Hwy and collided head on with a Motor Cycle. The rider and pillion passenger were both killed so please keep your thoughts about you as it can happen to anyone. I turned onto the wrong side of the road in the US about 15 years ago and it is a scary thing to do. Safe travels and have a great tour. Bob.

FollowupID: 684605

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 07:09

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 07:09
Even if you turn onto the correct side, it's vital look first and we look to the right, they look to the left. I have done heaps of driving in Europe and that I believe is the single biggest pitfall. Its very hard to break such an old habit.
FollowupID: 684634

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 17:01

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 17:01
Man what a nice setup, makes me very envious. You should have no problem anywhere in Oz with that setup, perhaps except really soft sand dunes. how does it handle sand?

If you make it to Western Australia, drop us a line and we can hopefully show you some good local tracks and places.

AnswerID: 414349

Follow Up By: Member - Ronald M (QLD) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 17:15

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 17:15
Thanks for that. One of my concerns is the track width of 77 inches out side of the tyres. Some tell me that that is too wide for the Canning even if I go in at well 5 or well 9. I do plan on spending a couple months in WA. and will look you up.
FollowupID: 684569

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 17:32

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 17:32
Sounds and looks great but 130 gallons of fuel ???. I'd like to have a lot more in a vehicle that can carry it and use it.

AnswerID: 414358

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 17:45

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 17:45
I get between 5 and 9 Miles per gallon depending upon the driving conditions. At 5 my range is 650 miles or 1046 km. At 9 it gets up to 1170 miles or 1882 km. Is that not going to be good enough?
FollowupID: 684576

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 21:08

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 21:08
Ron, check out the info under "treks" (menu). This will give you some idea as to the distance between fuel stops. Also, good to do some tests in dune country before you do treks like the Canning to check what fuel consumption you're getting. Cheers
FollowupID: 684613

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 08:47

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 08:47
Alan H , 130 gallons = 585 lt ,= 585 kg + 150 gallons water = 675lt = 675 kg .
1260 kg in fuel and water alone , how much more do you recon he needs ?
FollowupID: 684645

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 11:03

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 11:03
Alloy, are you using Imperial Gallons or US gallons
FollowupID: 684750

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 12:06

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 12:06
Imperial at the not quite 100% correct conversion of 4.5lt per gallon ,and yes I know there is a difference between US and imperial , then again his range is still pretty good for a 10 ton truck , lol.
FollowupID: 684753

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:11

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:11
How heavy is the Mog fully loaded?

What are you using for emergency comms? Recommend either Iridium satphone or HF radio.

You should also carry the equipment to repair your own tyres.
Tyres will need to be deflated when driving over soft surfaces (eg. sand) and then re-inflated.

Fuel could be a problem, when driving on soft surfaces, fuel will be consumed at an unbelievable rate.

my .02
AnswerID: 414372

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:39

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:39
About 23,000 pounds. I have a Iridium sat phone and a hf radio. I have everything to change tires and I have the tools to disassemble the wheels and put new tires on. I have puncher repair kits and tire irons. I installed military bead locks so I can run very low pressure if required. Fuel could be a problem I just do not know what rate of consumption to expect on the sand. I am going to Moreton Island next week and will get my first sand driving done. I will make sure that I know what the expected fuel burn will be before I take off on an extended desert track.
Thanks for your comments
FollowupID: 684593

Follow Up By: chisel - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 09:04

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 09:04
Unfortunately Moreton Island is very easy (firm) at the moment due to recent rains. So you won't get much effective practice on soft sand there.
FollowupID: 684647

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 09:23

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 09:23
Recon that if it goes up and down the rubber track at the light house a few times fully loaded the mog will go anywhere ,
FollowupID: 684649

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:23

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:23
Hi Mog

Is it much wider than the standard Landcruisers etc? Even with the F250 we are limited on some of the tracks.

We met people who toured north and south America over a seven year period with a huge custom built Unimog camper. They put it on the market before coming to Australia as it would have been too big, so they purchased a Landcruiser camper to tour Australia. The big Mog is still for sale where it is housed in Canada.

AnswerID: 414376

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:42

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:42
Yes it is 77 inches wide. To tell you the truth, if I could do it all over again, I would buy a Land cruiser and an off road trailer. However, I have what I have and will have to make the best of it.
Thanks for you comments
FollowupID: 684594

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:56

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 19:56
If you are a lot wider than a landcruiser track, it is going to play havoc with your tyres. (Read= lots of flat tyres)

FollowupID: 684598

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:08

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:08
Ron I don't think the width will be too great a problem, you're narrower than my Humvee by about 100mm (4 inches).
I think you may have a bigger problem with the height.
I found on the CSR that yes I was running at the outer edge of the track (wrecked two tyres due to driver error) but I was also sneaking under a lot of the overhanging foliage as the Humvee is only 60" high. We've travelled on far narrower and more overgrown tracks than the CSR, it is relatively wide compared to some, Nissan's and Toyota's are only around six inches narrower than me and if you're 4" narrower you won't be much wider than them. As I said I think you may find height is a bigger problem.
FollowupID: 684603

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:23

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:23
Peter is on the money (Gday Pete!)
On one Anne Beadell trip, we came across an OKA with his high air intake full of trees.....Had to pull it apart to clean it out. In places it's a bit of a corridor.

My 79series is 71" wide and is narrower than a normal Landcruiser. So you're not much wider.

Pete, Hope you got the Tshirts - pity we won't cross paths this year.

phil
FollowupID: 684604

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:46

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:46
I am probably more concerned with the height than I am with the width. I wish that it was not so tall, but it is what it is and I will have to try to make the best of it.
Thanks for your comments
FollowupID: 684609

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:05

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:05
Welcome Ron, like others have said you have a beaut set up.

Re HF radio, give some thought to joining VKS 737 radio network, for help, guidance, outback support etc.

Re tyres, it's my perception when you can't track in the wheel paths along a track that you might be more susceptible to punctures than others. Thought also your tyres may not be that common out bush. 2 tyres usually not bad but just wondered whether an additional carcase might be worthwhile. Just a thought.

Enjoy yourselves
AnswerID: 414380

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:43

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:43
Thanks for the tip about VKS 737, I will look into this. As for an additional tyre, I do think that having one more would be a good idea. The darn things weigh 2 or 3 hundred pounds and are not the easiest things to handle. I am going to try to locate a few of these tyres just in case I need one at some point during my trip. They are in short supply because of the military action around the world.
Thanks for your comments.
FollowupID: 684608

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:43

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:43
Hi Ron.
I reckon your biggest problem could be tyres. Those rotten little Tojos leave lots of tyre staking bits on the outer edges of tracks. Try and stay right in the middle and be prepared to fix a few extra flats.
There are some general slide shows here OKA196 Motorhome
and this has some pics of the Anne Beadell...
The Anne Beadell is an easy treck, but can be quite scratchy in places.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 414386

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:51

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 20:51
Thanks for the information, I will check out your link. As far as scratches go, I know the old girl is going to take a lickin for the next few months.
FollowupID: 684610

Reply By: Eric Experience - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 21:08

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 21:08
Ron.
You will not find mud because our tracks are closed to vehicles when wet, there are heavy fines for driving on closed roads. You will find this frustrating because you could get through but are not permitted. The side walls of your tyres are they re enforced ? The only problem I can see is clearance from trees. I also drive a Merc 4x4 not as high as yours but I have to stop often to cut a branch of a tree when on tracks not used by motor homes. If you come to Melbourne I would love to meet you. Eric
AnswerID: 414391

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 07:10

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 07:10
Thanks for your comments. The tyres are very heavy and have thick side walls. These tires are used by military vehicles all over the world. However, I am going to locate a few here in Oz just in case I run into trouble. I have a good saw that I can use to trim the odd branch. I hope that my height is not a show stopper.
FollowupID: 684635

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 22:35

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 22:35
Ron that's one impressive camper!
The issues you may have are equipment failure due to corrugations & rough roads (you have alot of equipment to go wrong ;-) We have a saying in Oz. K.I.S.S. (Keep it simple stupid) The less gear you have the less you have to go wrong & the less weight you need to carry.
If you get seriously bogged there is not going to be much around that will be able to pull you out. Are you carrying bog mats?
I have seen an old army truck drive the CSR before so I suggest the Unimog will be able to traverse any & all obsticals. Trees will however scratch the paintwork quite a bit.
560 litres is twice the water you will need on any remote trip in Oz & alot of unnecesary weight to carry. Part fill up as required.
Look forward to hearing more of your travels.
Cheers Craig.............
AnswerID: 414404

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 07:15

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 07:15
Thanks for your comments. I know that I have way too much stuff on Mog Heaven. I hope that it doesn't get shook to death on the rough outback roads. She doesn't ride like a Landcruiser it rides a little like an army truck.
FollowupID: 684636

Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 23:55

Monday, Apr 26, 2010 at 23:55
Fantastic vehicle Ron. Looking forward to seeing you on the track.
The outback calls

AnswerID: 414409

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 07:17

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 07:17
Thanks for that. I am looking forward to this adventure and getting a chance to meet new friends alone the way.
FollowupID: 684637

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 09:19

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 09:19
Reading parts of your website , the truckwash where the Mog is being cleaned is only about 1 klm from where you get the Micat for Moreton Island , looking at some of your photos you would really want to "name and shame"the blokes who did the wireing ,worse than a dogs breakfast , is the Mog set up for 240v or 110v ?
AnswerID: 414427

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 10:39

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 10:39
I have both 110 and 240 volt inverters. The company that built the camper did not have a clue as to what good workmanship is. I have redone almost everything that they did. I should have built it my self. It leaked like crazy also. I would never recommend those people to any body. However, it has to get me around Australia so , I will have to make do.
Thanks for your comments.
FollowupID: 684661

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 10:47

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 10:47
Should you get out to the geographical centre of QLD , Muttaburra is best on a Friday night , population currently 103 of which 80% would be at the one and only pub on a Friday night.
FollowupID: 684662

Reply By: cycadcenter - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 11:15

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 11:15
Just wondering if you got through AQIS OK, safety inspection and got some 3rd party insurance.

Aussie inspectors are not as easy going as the ones in the USA.

Bruce

San Diego/Childers
AnswerID: 414571

Follow Up By: Mog Heaven - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 12:39

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 12:39
I should be finished with AQIS today, and will take the truck to Transport Queensland for their inspection. The truck is like a new truck so I hope that I have no problems with TQ. I got 3rd party last week and should be good to go soon. I am looking forward to getting out of the city and into the bush.
Thanks for your comments,
Ron
FollowupID: 684756

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 12:57

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 12:57
Hope everything goes OK, The only thing I would be a bit concerned about is the wood you used for cabinets, it's supposed to be stamped as "Heat Treated" for entry into OZ.

Wouldn't like to see your whole truck fumigated in Methyl Bromide for wood bugs.

A couple of years ago I was at the AQIS inspection station getting some plants done for export and there was a young family there with 4 kids from 2-10 immigrating from NZ and they had all the kids toys packed in new apple cartons,
The AQIS inspectors wouldn't buy that they were new cartons and all went into the incinerator.

Bruce
FollowupID: 684757