Pink and Grey Galahs or White and Gray

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 20:55
ThreadID: 78041 Views:7634 Replies:10 FollowUps:25
Hi All at Ex Oz
I have lots of pink and grays(SCIENTIFIC NAME:Cacatua roseicapilla) around my house, but two of them are white and gray with some pink, have had many people tell me what they are but that is only there opinion, would like to know from anyone in forum if they could tell me what they are ? It would be good to be able to tell people what they are and sound half smart.
Regards Paintar

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

Reply By: stevie1947 - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:04

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:04
Hi Paintar. I seem to remember someone telling me along time ago that Galahs can cross breed with Corellas, which are white. If this is true then maybe this is the explanation. I have somtimes seen flocks of corellas with the odd galah mixed in and vice versa.
AnswerID: 414503

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:06

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:06
Google up a "major mitchell cockatoo" or Lophochroa leadbeateri and see what you think.
AnswerID: 414504

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 15:41

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 15:41
Nope, They aren't Majors
FollowupID: 684772

Reply By: equinox - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:09

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:09
Nice topic Paintar,

I'd like to know what these are, seen at Juston Well last year.

AnswerID: 414506

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:22

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:22
Galahs

FollowupID: 684706

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:24

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:24
Just normal boring Galahs? Damm Greg

FollowupID: 684707

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:50

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:50
Keep your eyes open for these

FollowupID: 684716

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 18:51

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 18:51
And these

FollowupID: 684781

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:00

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:00
oh I've seen plenty of them around :)

FollowupID: 684784

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:12

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:12
If I walk out the back door now, I can see a huge area that looks exactly the same as your photo.
FollowupID: 684792

Reply By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:21

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:21
Looks like a Corella x Galah hybrid

Galah - Corella hybrid photographed

Certainly not a Major Mitchell.

AnswerID: 414511

Reply By: Member - John R (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:25

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:25
Hi Paintar

In WA there is a different race of galahs, assimilis, to the rest of the country. Adult birds have pink crests, whereas the usual galah has a whitish crest. I wonder if all these are immature birds to some degree, which are "washed grey" on the breast, just getting their adult colouration?

Cheers, John

AnswerID: 414512

Follow Up By: Member -Paintar - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:50

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:50
Hi John
These Galahs have been around few years now, don't think they are young.
immature birds are for WA ex treasurer
FollowupID: 684717

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 18:31

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 18:31
Good one, Paintar! LOL

Have a look at this pic and see what you think.

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 684779

Reply By: Member -Paintar - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:39

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:39
Come on Girls and Guys all I need is a answer so when people ask me, I look half smart when I tell them the answer????
AnswerID: 414513

Follow Up By:- Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:44

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 21:44
To me it looks like a hypomelanistic (reduced black pigment) pure Galah. ie. not a cross with another species.

Hypomelanism is one of the more common naturally occurring mutations, google it for more info.
FollowupID: 684713

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 23:53

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2010 at 23:53
Major Mitchells have been known to cross breed with pink and greys in captivity.

AnswerID: 414537

Reply By: Wilko - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 08:00

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 08:00
Corella x Galah.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 414551

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 10:29

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 10:29
I kill them at every chance I have been granted a license to shoot them because of the damage they do. In our area they have completely destroyed lawns and gardens etc. This year fortunately I haven't seen so many of them, last year there were flocks of 100 or more which would land on an area and destroy it within minutes.
AnswerID: 414564

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 17:22

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 17:22
Have to wonder what the world is coming to when we shoot birds because they land on our lawn...

By that logic I can have scrub turkey for Christmas this year ;)
FollowupID: 684775

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:22

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:22
Amy you'd make a great spin doctor or journo, nobody shoots them for landing on a lawn. If you going to reply with an antagonistic post please quote word for word. Both Galahs and Cockatoos are classified as pests in certain circumstances. I have never shot one for landing on a lawn, in fact nowadays we use an air rifle to scare them away however they have destroyed gardens in our area and lawns. In some cases people have spent thousands on their gardens and lawns which have been totally decimated. Don't stop at birds Amy how about Kangaroos, have you ever heard of a cull..? The list goes on and sometimes a cull is the only way.
FollowupID: 684794

Follow Up By: Secret Mens Business - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:30

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:30
Galah Problem recognised Humans to blame..!
FollowupID: 684796

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 21:42

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 21:42
No need to crack it, it is fairly foreign to any city dweller that these native birds are such pests- we all get excited about heading out of the city to actually see them.

Not so the humble Brisbane turkey, who has dug up my newly planted back lawn... he might still make it to the table for Christmas!

BTW, the use of smileys usually indicates humour... which was clearly missed judging by your response!
FollowupID: 684802

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 22:00

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 22:00
BTW, the use of smileys would have been handy at the end of taking my comment out of context, I can only react as I see it. I believe my reply was not cracking it but merely putting things into perspective. Have fun, P.S. I love the shot of your rig, is that you driving..?
FollowupID: 684804

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 08:14

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 08:14
No worries, and yes that's me driving, though if you look closely you'll see we're actually going backwards... don't tell the 1HZ bashers!
FollowupID: 684830

Reply By: Bomber_WA - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 17:19

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 17:19
They are a cross between a Pink & Grey and a White cocky.

They are pretty rare and if you can catch them, a collector will pay A LOT of money for them. I will say it again... A LOT OF MONEY...
AnswerID: 414607

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 18:42

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 18:42
Betta grab it before terrafirma blows it away:)

FollowupID: 684780

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:27

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:27
Very funny My Explorer however to penetrate the great unknown it would be necessary to first make an attempt to understand the circumstances before undertaking inhospitable actions..! I certainly don't shoot rare birds or any birds nowadays because my early actions achieved the desired and legal result. Better grab a Kangaroo too while your there before they are culled away..!
FollowupID: 684795

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:55

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:55
TerraFirma
Sorry mate – just making a joke. Wasnt actually passing judgement on your actions. I am all for culling native animals if they exceed natural levels and cause damage to their native environment and manmade ones. Corellas are actually a problem down this way and shooting them is one control method I think. Serious problem with Kangaroos as well in old rural properties adjoining new subdivisions. Shooting them may seem barbaric but its the only real solution in the circumstance. No point shooing them away - that just makes it someone else's problem. Happy culling.

FollowupID: 684797

Follow Up By: Member -Paintar - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 21:06

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 21:06
Hi Bomber
Where do I find a collector? , I might try that if I don't get shot
catching them,
FollowupID: 684798

Follow Up By: Bomber_WA - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 10:23

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 10:23
If it was me, I would get the classifieds and make a few phone calls to people selling birds, they will point you in the right direction.
FollowupID: 684844

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 10:27

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 10:27
Whoever catches it will probbaly need a licence (assuming its a wild bird). You can just go around capturing wildlife for the pet trade to make money, though of course many do.

FollowupID: 684846

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 10:29

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 10:29
fairly sure they are protected fauna so despite the fact you can get cull permits itsstill illegal to collect from the wild
FollowupID: 684848

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 10:34

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 10:34
All native fauna is protected by law unless "declared" otherwise.

FollowupID: 684849

Follow Up By: Bomber_WA - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 12:11

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 12:11
I think the guys are right, its not legal.

I was just saying that "hypothetically", if you were to somehow give these birds to someone who somehow left some cash for you, the cash would be a fair bit.

In this hypothetical situation, you probably wouldn't advertise the birds because it may or may not be legal, which is why you ring people who are selling other birds and do a bit of investigating first.

Hypothetically.
FollowupID: 684860