Never booking over the phone for National Parks camping again.

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 06:58
ThreadID: 78051 Views:7905 Replies:10 FollowUps:8

Related Pages

Just sharing a story regarding doing the right thing. Bought our new camper and decided its maiden voyage will be Byfield National Park. I rang Nat Parks and asked to book a site at Water park for a camper. No worries said the girl and happily took our money and said its site 13. Should have stopped there but we headed out all excited to find there is a rail in the way to our site. Another phone call and another girl said no you cant have camper trailers there its only tent sites. Pretty annoyed by this time I asked is there other camp sites up here where we can use our camper. The answer was no they are booked out only on 9 mile left but challenging. We even went to the Byfield store and asked there, the dumb fellah was as useful as a ashtray on a motor bike. We herd of some stories of our friends adventure to the 9 mile some 10 years ago and decided to drop the camper back to Yeppoon and continue the planned day trips with the addition of 60 odd ks a day return. So the next morning we headed out to Red Rock camp site to have a look. There would have been 10 grassed fire placed camp sites available, you could park a 23' van on them. By this time the crankiness was pretty high but continued and went to Stony Creek. Yeh they were booked out. We went out to the 9 mile and no worries these days as the board walks are great. So our first trip in the camper didn't turn out as expected due to listening to yet another inexperienced chicky babe on the other end. We have decided to never ring ahead again.
We had lunch and swim at Stony it was a fantastic family day out. I wanted to finnish my blog of Byfield but it will have to wait till we return up there some 9 hours drive one way some day.
Sharon

Reply By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 07:54

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 07:54
G’day Sharon,
I’m finding there are more sites being restricted to tents only with numerous sites that used to accommodate camper trailers being bollard off. It appears National Parks Queensland favours tent camping where you carry your belongings from the car. I think this has been commented on before on this forum or maybe the myswag.org/forum.
I always book over the net as there is usually a description on what the site will accommodate, though I haven’t checked to see whether this is the case with the area you booked.
Myles.
AnswerID: 414548

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 08:08

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 08:08
We to think the phone booking idea is useless. On our way to cape york last year we were told by the information centre about a campground which had self registration(can't remember the name) When we got there we found a sign that said you have to phone and book. Great, no reception. Rang on the sat phone but couldn't get any sense from the person on the other end so we gave up and went somewhere else that we could just book in to.
We also went out to 1770. Infomation centre told about a nice camp spot on the beach, again told self registration. Got down there about 1 1/2 drive to find a sign saying you need to booked by phone. We did the right thing and rang. Person on other end says computers are down, you will have to find a ranger. I asked where the nearest ranger would be, the response was "I don't have that kinda information, you will just have to look for one".
We stayed 2 nights free as we couldn't find a ranger, we looked for one honest lol.
We did comment on the fact that most sites are now tent camping only and not accomodating for trailers or vans.
Thats why we try to go bush and get away from all that

Josh
AnswerID: 414553

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 08:12

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 08:12
Hi Sharon.

During a recent conversation with an NP ranger, it was made clear to me that NP's preference is for campers that are "low impact". In other words those that bring their camping gear in on their back.

Wim
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 414555

Reply By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 08:50

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 08:50
I too have been told after booking online and then calling re: permits that the paper permits will be available at the campsites, which they aren't! Got an infringement notice on the tent a couple of weeks ago and came across the friendly Ranger later that day- he said it had happened to more people than he could count and he had a supply of paper permits with him.

He did mention that after 4pm QLD time the NPWS/DERM office is manned by temp staff who aren't likely to have local knowledge, and it's best to ring before then!
AnswerID: 414556

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 11:54

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 11:54
Admittedly a while back, but I rang ahead to book a campsite (tent) somewhere in N.Qld. It took nearly 20 mins on the mobile as this newbie on the other end tried to sort out their computer system. I think the phone call cost about twice the cost of the campsite. The recommended site turned out to be the worst of those available. And the rest were empty apart from one latecomer.
Gerry
AnswerID: 414575

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 14:19

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 14:19
I thought it was just us, bad luck. Seems we are not alone.
AnswerID: 414592

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 14:26

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 14:26
Red Rock Camp Site.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 414593

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 17:38

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 17:38
Come stay in Victoria. Generally great staff with accurate advice I've found. They are just about to remove the entry fees to all Victorian Parks in July! Majority of campsites are camper trailer freindly too. Over Easter we headed up to the Murray Sunset National Park. Large open campsites, many with new BBQ fire places, water tanks & even firewood provided ............. all for free :-)

"Parks Victoria welcomes Premier John Brumby's announcement that entry to all of Victoria's national parks and metropolitan parks will be made free of charge to encourage people to get active in the great outdoors."
Link
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 414611

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 18:14

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 18:14
The only problem with Free Camping is you get the Drop Kicks camping there.
As has happened in the Barrington Tops. Over crowded and many locals have given up going there on long weekends ect.

Wayne B
FollowupID: 684778

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:06

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:06
"Parks Victoria welcomes Premier John Brumby's announcement that entry to all of Victoria's national parks and metropolitan parks will be made free of charge to encourage people to get active in the great outdoors."

Hiya Craig..

Yeah while not putting in the Infrastructure to monitor what Wayne B has just stated...If its easy access the Ferals will reside and trash..Brumby really needs to get out himself and see the litter and crap paper everywhere.Then he'll think different,He has no Idea..

Cheers mate..
FollowupID: 684786

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:08

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:08
we also stayed at msnp over easter crosby lake.
it was great free sites toilets and free fire wood
FollowupID: 684787

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 22:11

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 22:11
Bit of a stretch to suggest free camping/entry to Parks will somehow automatically lead to an increase in feral behaviour & litter?
Anyway I think you misread my reply. While the entry is free everywhere there are still quite a few popular sites that will continue to charge camping fees where additional services are provided. eg: Lake Catani @ Mt Buffallo.
The point remains camping opportunities especially for camper trailers (as opposed to carry your tent in) are well catered for in Victoria & hope to never go down the path of Queensland.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 684805

Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 07:15

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 07:15
G’day Craig,
I’m not against the Queensland system altogether. USUALLY you will have a site reserved. It could certainly do with some improvements though and I reckon there should always be sites available for self registration for those like Motherhen and me who like unplanned travel as well as the online or phone bookings.Sundown National park does this…. So many sites only available when booked on line and some sites only available by self registration.
Having said all that, I rarely stay in National Parks these days preferring free isolated camps.
Myles.
FollowupID: 684819

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:18

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:18
Try booking Lawn Hill - pays yer money and book a site weeks in advance to find out that they either:

1. overbook and/or
2. don't verify bookings and don't patrol

The net effect arriving at around 5pm after a long and fairly exhausting drive to find there's no campsites left for vehicles.... and they don't give a flying toss.

Old man (who's a grumpy bugger at the best of times) managed to do some 'superficial' damage ;-) to the grassed area with the overloaded 80's series and trailer (not to mention a few grunge marks from my HJ47 !!)

Serves them right......
AnswerID: 414620

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:00

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 20:00
Hi Scott

We wouldn't have fitted in there and we had the option of Adel's Grove so it was an easy choice for us. They are very small sites. I hope you enjoyed the gorge after the trauma.

FollowupID: 684791

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:51

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 19:51
Hi Sharon

I had planned to boycott the Queensland on line park booking system - for which the phone is an alternative. We travel in an unplanned fashion, and of course when you get to a park you are usually out of Next G range. We also like to see we can fit our long rig in before paying. Bollards often preclude us. However we did not want to miss out on seeing some of the parks while we were there just to protest.

Places like Lawn Hill and Carnarvon Gorge we had to stay at private parks, so we visited them without worrying about access.

First park we would have stayed at was Porcupine Gorge. I asked at the Hughenden visitor centre and was told that half the camp sites were book on line and the other half on site self registration. The map she gave me gave no indication of size or access, so we camped roadside instead.

We wanted to go to the Mt Moffatt park and choose to book online. The camp ground was open and roomy with not many campers, and it was some kilometres on a sandy track to register at the ranger station as there was no self registration at the entrance to the park or to the camp ground. We booked on line from Injune CP. Our neighbouring caravanner also planned to visit with friends travelling in company. They tried ringing without success on the specified booking number, and the Parks Department Offices in the area, but it was out of office hours and into the weekend. Their friends then made the on line booking for them. Someone came into the camp ground later in the day found they had to go to the ranger station to register; hence they had to set up their tent in the dark because of the unplanned deviation. I don’t know which is sillier – the on line system or not having the self registration at the entrance to the camp ground or park entrance.

Next we booked for Girraween as it was school holidays, and the weekend was fully booked. There are only a few spots suitable for caravans. We booked for the two available nights to make sure we got in, stayed at a caravan park not far away overnight so we got in during the morning to secure a place. Lucky we did, as by early afternoon all the caravan sites were gone and we were packed in tightly. It made sense to be able to book in these circumstances, and well as to know what the situation was. We would have liked three nights there, but knew ahead that we couldn’t.

As you discovered, the system does not give you enough choices to specify your size or type or rig, so booking up front is a gamble. I hope you got your money back. Have you written to Qld Parks to complain?

AnswerID: 414624

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 21:59

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 21:59
Hi Motherhen, I wont get a refund just a credit for when we want. I was thinking of complaining but if they cant get the bookings correct I think complaining will fall on deaf ears as well. We have learnt a lesson with this. We just sold our van to a fellow eo member and went back to a fully off road camper trailer. We would rather avoid the caravan parks as now we are self sufficient just got to sort out a couple of electric conversions. I will post Q's on here for all our future camping trips before we leave. Our next trip may be Carnarvon unfortunately during the next school holidays. Did I read correct that online booking is best for there. Bet there isn't a facility there for me to use my credit lol.
Sharon
FollowupID: 684803

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 22:15

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2010 at 22:15
Hi Sharon

I am a great believer in pointing out what is not working well, to get it working for the next people.

Carnarvon Gorge has a privately run CP - nice but at $38 per night for two, way more than we paid anywhere else in the whole trip. You need to stay on site though so no choice. Booking is also advisable as it is busy year round.

We stayed at the Dargonelly NP camp ground in the Mt Moffatt section of the Carnarvon Range NP and that is where we booked on line.

I have reported on both of these on Badger's Caravan Park review website. Look for Takarakka CP and Dargonelly camp ground.

Mh

FollowupID: 684806