Cape York -- Spare Tyres?

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 16:13
ThreadID: 78079 Views:5656 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Heading for Cape York for the first time in a few weeks (Weather permitting!)
Would prefer to carry only one spare wheel as the second spare wheel has to ride on the Troopy's roof-rack. I do also carry a comprehensive tyre repair kit.

My feeling is that Cape York would not be too tough on tyres.
What's the consensus.... do I need to carry both my spares?

PS. Won't tell you what tyre brand as half of you will say "Carry 6 spares". LOL

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 16:22

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 16:22
The PDR does have sections that can be hard on tires - It depends how fast you travel. Around Laura and north of Coen are the worst places (Archer river area)

Take it easy and you should have no issues - Take a good plug kit and a spare tube instead

Regards Tony
AnswerID: 414710

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff H (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 18:19

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 18:19
Hi Tony, What is an easy speed

FollowupID: 684915

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 18:54

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 18:54
For the PDR 80k is an easy speed :-)

There are many sections where you will have to go slower, traveling at 80 will enable you to adjust speed easily as required.

You will get the locals flying past you at 100-120, though they would never do over 100..really :-)

The river rocks used in the road surface north of Laura are Ok after it is graded, as the year rolls on they dislodge and some are quite a size. Not unusual to have worn ruts to travel in with fist size rocks littering the track.

Just south of Archer river there are surface rocks that once again get exposed after worn by traffic and can be a hazard. When you get to here you are only usually doing 60k anyway as the road has quite a few bends...that is if you are not a local, then the 100k limit still applies.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 684929

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 16:33

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 16:33
Allan, When does Murphy's law come into the equasion? Have carried the 2nd spare all over the county GRR, Cape York, Simpson etc & only had a flat on the good roads(not QLD roads). The bypass roads are fairly corrugated & crushed gravels, The telegaph tracks have the odd stake or two plus some pretty jagged rocks. When I go again Will be carrying the extra spare. Enjoy your trip.
AnswerID: 414714

Reply By: B1B2 - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 16:34

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 16:34
G'day Alan,
We had no problems with tyres on the cape run, but you could carry a spare tyre without the rim incase you shred one. It would be lighter. If you don't travel too fast on the bypass rds you should be ok.

AnswerID: 414715

Reply By: Curlynan - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 17:37

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 17:37
Spare tyers are a bit like the $64000 question. Done Cape York didn't need a spare, 1st trip on GRR none either 2nd GRR 2 tyers needed. Birdsville trk need a spare. Done Ooodnadatta, Tanamai, Cobourg Pen none needed. The trip around Tassie needed one on the bitumen............ We always carry 2 spares on wheel and another spare that is not. Better to be safe than sorry.
AnswerID: 414730

Reply By: Jackie & Cloe - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 23:47

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 23:47
Hi Allan B,
I have travelled to Weipa and various communities over the Cape on a regular basis over the last 12 -15 years. Every time I travel the roads up there they just keep getting better on every trip. I have never had a flat tyre. I have light truck tyres on my Land Cruiser. My latest trip, late last year, I smashed a windscreen when a hit an eagle in flight.

Rob
AnswerID: 414770

Follow Up By: Jackie & Cloe - Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 23:55

Thursday, Apr 29, 2010 at 23:55
We have 3 vehicles doing a run to the top (Cape York) leaving Cairns 30th August 2010 returning to Cairns about 15th Sept.

Rob
FollowupID: 684966

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 07:55

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 07:55
Thanks chaps,

We have the time to drive easy and carefully so I think I'll leave the second spare at home and reduce weight up top.

Now I'll cross my fingers that it soon dries up a bit!

AnswerID: 414787

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 10:52

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 10:52
I carry spare tubes for my tubeless tyres!. Weighs nothing but gets me out of trouble if the tyre is still in a good enough condition to put a tube in it (run out plugs or you can't get it to seal etc.

Not a long term fix but gets you to the next servo.

AnswerID: 414812

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:05

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:05
Yes Gossy, I also carry a spare tube and a comprehensive repair kit including plugs and internal tyre patches.

FollowupID: 685006

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:56

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:56
"Won't tell you what tyre brand as half of you will say "Carry 6 spares"."
All jokes aside the brand, age & construction of the tyres could well be key reasons to carry a 2nd spare. For example any set of tyres with less than 40% tread, have a dedicated road pattern, are overloaded or have the words "Cooper" ;-) moulded into the sides would all be more susceptible to puncturing & worth having the extra spare particularly if travelling alone into remote areas.
I have a comprehensive repair kit & didn't bother with a 2nd spare for my last Cape trip.
Cheers Craig..............
AnswerID: 414907

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 21:45

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 21:45
Well they are a year old, have 80% tread and dammit, I'll get to work on the moulded brand with a belt sander tomorrow! LOL

FollowupID: 685104