Scrap rego: push to charge drivers per km

Submitted: Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:01
ThreadID: 78104 Views:5318 Replies:27 FollowUps:48
Morning all,
The Henry tax review will be released on Sunday and one of many proposals that will be put forward is a user charger per Kilometer traveled.
ABC NEWS Story
"According to IPA's calculations, the average motorist would pay about 8 cents for every kilometer they drove"
I travel on average 18000km's per year, which equates to a cost of $1440.00 under this scheme. This is what could be abolished, registration, licensing fees and the fuel excise.

License, $50 odd dollars per year.
Rego, $406.00
Green Slip, $278.99
A total of $734.99
At present there is a 38.143 cents per litre (cpl) excise on unleaded petrol and low sulphur diesel.
So I travel 18000km's and use some 2250 liters( this is a rough usage)
The excise is about $858 to travel that 18000km's.
Which gives a total of some $1600.00 a year in fees & taxes, so I'm in front about 140 bucks. Have I got these figures right?

So what do you guys think about a scheme like this?
I know you can buy insurance as a use as you go scheme, will this work?

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:12

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:12
LOL.. Do you REALLY think you'll get something for nothing from KRudd?? ROFLMAO...
AnswerID: 414831

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:22

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:22
No I don't John.
That's what worries me. As you know, what looks good on paper sometimes is only smoke & mirrors. :(
FollowupID: 685007

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:12

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:12
Well in Qld "The Smart State" its $800 to register a 6 cylinder car now.

In NZ they have a similar system for diesel vehicles.

You have to buy RUC's in multiples of 1000k IN ADVANCE.

It goes according to GVM of the vehicle so a Car would be a 2000kg rate or maybe 3000kg for a big one up to a Bdouble etc.

Costs x amount per K at say 6c pk for car up to maybe $1 a k for biggest rig.

Dont get caught being behind as the cost of getting up to date is

Say you are $500 behind So you pay $1000 to get up to date and $500 in advance again
Then you pay twice the amount you were behind for the fine.EG $1000

All trucks have to have hubometers and cars are done on odo readings.

Dont know that it would work unless everyone had hubometers as it used to be pretty easy to wind back an odometer.

AnswerID: 414832

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:25

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:25
Why wind it back, all I have to do is dis-connect it . All I can see here is a big mob of cheating , and I don't blame anyone who did, we get ripped off enough already.

FollowupID: 685008

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:28

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:28
Hi Graham,
That had crossed my mind, that it would be open to fraud.
Maybe they might do as the power companies do some times, NOT actually read your meter, but average it out, if you think you've payed more, they can come and read it, some times this works to their advantage and you have to pay more. Hmmm

FollowupID: 685009

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:51

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:51
To Doug T

We ran taxis and had to have an operating speedo in case someone potted you.

Toyotas were easy 10mins. Fairmonts were good just put a switch in the stepper motor circuit

Now with digital odos its fairly hard to do

Just dont do what one guy did and wound it back too far and when he went in for his 6 month certificate the guy said

How many trips did you do backwards. LOL
FollowupID: 685012

Follow Up By: oldfart1953 - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:17

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:17
With the 'newer modern' vehicles, winding the speedo cable backwards is a thing of the past now, firstly they dont have a cable as such now....it all works on electrical pulses, turn the speedo drive in either direction it creates a pulse that registers on the dash & taking the odometer in an upwards direction. Secondly most new vehicles require that pulse to tell the vehicles computer what speed its doing for the correct operation of the transmission & fuel delivery & in some cases the correct operation of ABS.

CU down the road
FollowupID: 685030

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:23

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:23
Howdy oldfart,
With modem technology I think they would be able to use a GPS tracking device of some sort.
It's getting cheaper & cheaper these days. So yes, to try and fiddle the speedo cable is out of the question.

FollowupID: 685197

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:13

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:13
As an uneducated guess, i would assume the break even point to be 20,000km in your case.

This means that every person who travels more than 20K would be worse off......do i smell a problem with city v's country driving characteristics?

AnswerID: 414833

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:32

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:32
I was thinking it would be close to the 20 thousand K mark.
In the story, "Driving during peak times in a metropolitan centre would cost more but the charge would be less if motorists ventured out during off-peak times" but how would they know where you've driven?

FollowupID: 685010

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:53

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:53
They were discussing that on 702 this morning.

What I didn't get was how do they know how much of the mileage is peak or off-peak without installing tracking devices in the vehicle ???
FollowupID: 685013

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:10

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:10
Maybe Scott, they will have installed in cars a device like an E tag, at our expense of cause. I don't.
FollowupID: 685027

Follow Up By: Stuart BMW - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:54

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:54
I think you're right Jon. An E tag device that will eventually monitor your speed as well, not right away of course they'll get us used to the tracking system first then slip in the speed monitoring. Big brother eh ? Gee I sound a bit paranoid or is it cynical ?
Stuart
FollowupID: 685072

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:27

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:27
Hi Stuart,
The more I think about this the more it becomes practical with modern technology.
GPS tracking systems are becoming cheaper and smaller.
I think Big Bro has been watching for awhile now :(

FollowupID: 685199

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:16

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:16
And I run LPG.. No excise... I Loose :-((
AnswerID: 414834

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:35

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:35
Unfortunately at this point in time john you do.
But this could change, :P
FollowupID: 685011

Reply By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:23

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:23
I guess if it was collected at the time you purchased your fuel it would be good .

But that would be too simple wouldn't it !!

AnswerID: 414835

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:22

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:22
Steve,
Have you ever know a government idea to be simple?
They'll make it as complicated as possible to suit themselves.
FollowupID: 685033

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:53

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:53
I have thought for along time, that registration & CTP insurance should be in the way of a fuel levy, that way everybody is registered & insured, also it means that it is a user pays system.
AnswerID: 414839

Follow Up By: montana - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:14

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:14
i dont mind paying for what i currently use but i object to paying over 3 grand a year under the 8 cent scheme
FollowupID: 685018

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:20

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:20
Hi Shaker,
Everything is moving to a user pay system these days and yes there should be a method of 100% registration & CTP insurance cover. Look how many vehicles are being picked up atm for this through the latest camera technology.

G'day montana,
Your right in feeling that way as do a lot of us. I feel that a lot of us will pay for stuff we wont use, but I don't think the government will miss out here.

FollowupID: 685031

Reply By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:59

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 12:59
They tried this in the Uk and it got bumped. Was tracked with a black box. logged time of travel, Miles, and speed.
It didn't last..

AnswerID: 414841

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 15:27

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 15:27
Hi Steve,
Who footed the bill for the installation?
Was it government supplied or was it installed by an approved installer?
What was the reasoning behind pulling the pin on it?

FollowupID: 685039

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:02

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:02
Who said anything about insurance ie CTP??

My reading was about REGISTRATION.

The executive director of Infrastructure Partnerships Australia (IPA), Brendan Lyon, says all existing road taxes - including registration, licensing fees and the fuel excise - could be abolished and replaced with a per-kilometre charge for motorists.

CTP is a requirement of the government but not a tax.
So I suggest you will be more out of pocket than you consider.

Regards Philip A

AnswerID: 414842

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:01

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:01
hi
rangie phil

i cant imagine that krudd would change from the present system
if he 's not going to make millions out of the new one

( just look what he's done to smokers and is set to gain 5billion out of that but he over looks the fact that smokers also get to vote???? )

ps i dont smoke but feel sorry for them

because thats what krudd is all about

the new system is designed to encourage city folks to use public transport and if thats not availuble where one happens to live then you will be bitten

imho it will also kill off the tourist industry and put big reductions on outback travel for those who can barely afford it now

but on the other hand everything that idiot has tryed to introduce so far has gone a -over -t so heres hoping !!!!
FollowupID: 685025

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:27

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:27
Your right Philip, I guess I just take it for granted that when I rego the vehicles that CTP is just part of it.

FollowupID: 685080

Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 22:47

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 22:47
Krudd will only get $2 billion from smokers over 5 yrs. there has been no mention where the other 3 billion is coming from.

Lets see, thats smokers taken care of, who's next????
FollowupID: 685113

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:17

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:17
BuggerBoggedAgain,
Yes I think your right, there are a few in sights.
Who is next?
FollowupID: 685195

Reply By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:14

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:14
Might have appeal to city/urban dwellers.

Not much chop when you have to drive 220 km round trip to the grocer, chemist or hardware!

Our two vehicles average 75,000 km per year combined.

I can't wait!

AnswerID: 414845

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:51

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:51
Yeah me too Traveller. The GU I bought off my Uncle in November 08 has 100+ thousand more k's on it now than when I bought it...then there is Mum's taxi (the Green GU)

I could see me and a heap of others driving around with no speedos (hang on that doesn't sound too good, settle down girls I'll reword that!!! LOL). I meant driving around with speedos disconnected hehehehe.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 685022

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:08

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:08
hi trevor

dont you think that the dirty rat would employ a team of inspectors who will

check your vehicle at random to see if the speedo is connected

krudd will stop at nothing to extact more $$$$$ out of us
so look out
better continue to look over ones shoulder eh!!! lol
FollowupID: 685026

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:37

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:37
mazcan,

Of course, you are correct. KRudd could not even be bothered to organise inspectors to check over the proper installation and roll out of roof insulation fiasco let alone something as simple and non life threatening as checking a speedometer reading.

I reckon Ruddy may have turned a few staunch Labour voters into sceptics, in his short term at the lodge???

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 685036

Follow Up By: Expletive - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 17:56

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 17:56
All this will end up just like his INSULATION debacle.Every thing this Gov. does is end up in more Taxes.Lol

FollowupID: 685060

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:32

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:32
Hi Bob,
He should be nicknamed Errol Flynn.
FollowupID: 685065

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:50

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:50
A couple of discussion points on the Henry Tax Review....

And I’ll start by saying the Henry Tax review is about finding ways to fund a growing and aging Australian population and on that basis it ultimately means that in the long-run, many, if not most Australian households will be paying more in tax one-way or the other. We might gain on some things, and lose on others. But rest assured this review hasn’t been undertaken to work out ways to be giving money back to us taxpayers!

This review is a potential blue-print for the future, and if the current Federal Government’s track record of implementation is anything to be guided by, don’t hold your breath waiting....mind you they have a few things to pay for, so expect to see those who have worked hard and built up some equity, and have sought to better themselves through up skilling to achieve a higher salary, will be ‘slugged’ quick and fast – watch superannuation for instance.......

But as it relates to this discussion about Licence, Registration, Greenslip, and other motoring charges, the devil may well be in the detail. At the moment these fees are the domain of the individual State Governments, so to unilaterally suggest that the Federal Government can bring in a per kilometre fee to pay for these items will require discussions on who would administer the system, how the money would be collected and how the funds will be distributed to the States. Much easier said than done, but it will make for an interesting read.

Good weekend to all.......The Landy

AnswerID: 414851

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:58

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:58
"But rest assured this review hasn’t been undertaken to work out ways to be giving money back to us taxpayers! "

That's not what KRudd says...

"THE Federal Government aims to cut the amount of tax faced by the vast majority of Australians, Prime Minister Kevin Rudd says"
FollowupID: 685024

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:36

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:36
Afternoon Landy,
Oh I agree with you that the Henry Tax review is about finding ways to pay for government spending. I also think that the government ATM is in such a deep hole I wouldn't trust them on anything. I'm waiting for the federal budget to be handed down, what kinda a mess are we really in?
I was also thinking about how will he take over the taxes & fees that the state governments manage and collect. This seems to be a past time of his of late, meddling in state affairs.

Sorry John, I've never believe anything that has fallen out of his gob.
Hmmmm.

FollowupID: 685035

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 15:40

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 15:40
Kevin Rudd says many things, and whilst I'd expect to see a labour government in Canberra for at least another 3 years, there is little chance that Kevin will be there for much longer than 12 months in his current capacity......

And beware that little three letter word 'aim'..... we can all 'aim' for things, whether it comes to pass is another thing, as is so often the case in Canberra these days!

Cheers, The Landy

FollowupID: 685041

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:12

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:12
Whoops...feels like we are 'labouring' under this government...but I did mean a Labor government..........

The Landy

FollowupID: 685063

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:19

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:19
I'll forgive you this once only,
OK.
FollowupID: 685196

Reply By: brushmarx - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:51

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 13:51
Without getting too carried away with comparing current prices to kilometres travelled, I would look at what the Government would do within four years of implementing the scheme.
8 cents per kilometre will soon become 10 cents, then 12 and 14.
The push for higher prices will sound so moderate, "only 2 more cents per kilometre", instead of a 25% increase.
Based on lack of some Stamp Duty reductions after implementation of GST proved that State Governments can't be trusted.
The Qld Govt increases fes like this with Q Leave fees on building projects. They increase it by 0.2% of the contract price which sounds cheap, but in reality adds $400 for a house.
Sly and subltle changes in taxation can only be beneficial to one level of Aussies, and that is the State and Federal Treasurers.
This Henry character is paid by politicians to suggest options to suit politicians.
I do a moderate 20 000k's per year, and I can't see any immediate benefit, but sure can see some pain coming.
AnswerID: 414853

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:24

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:24
brushmarx, I think your right that 8 cents is only a base to start with.
Kinda like rates on properties.
Council has a base rate, then they apply for increases under financial hardship. At the time it doesn't like much, but over a couple of years it grows.

FollowupID: 685079

Reply By: ob - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:11

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:11
Would it be over simplifying to suggest abolishing all rego, stamp duty and various sundry charges and just increase the fuel levy. That way u use u pay u don't use u don't pay????

ob
AnswerID: 414856

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:15

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 14:15
Yep....over simplifying it. Some of the charhes mentioned are State, and some are Federal..they'll spend the next 15 years trying to work out how it will work!

FollowupID: 685029

Reply By: Rob! - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 15:16

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 15:16
As landy said above "the Henry Tax review is about finding ways to fund a growing and aging Australian population" The problem with an aging population is that their health deteriorates and they become very expensive.

The govenrment's single greatest cost is health. (That's why it's so hard to increase health spending.)

An average person's health costs of their last two years of life, equate to all their previous years put together.

As the babyboomers reach an age where their health costs are going to spiral out of control, they are going to be a massive burden on the country's finances. Never before in the history of the modern world has there been such a large proportion older people supported by a relatively small working group.

Therefore we have the following choices
1. Increase the younger, working population (through births and migration)
2. Increase the tax everybody pays (including super)
3. Let people die two years earlier then they otherwise would.
or all of the above.
AnswerID: 414860

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 15:31

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 15:31
I hope I can die soon...its going to get too hard to be alive
AnswerID: 414861

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:13

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:13
And your tax at that point in time as well

Ya can't win.

FollowupID: 685077

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:34

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:34
then swmbo the kids or whoever can take care of it!
FollowupID: 685097

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 16:12

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 16:12
Hmm.
I saw an item on TV last week that the Chamber of Automotive Manufacturers (I think) announced that vehicle carbon emissions had decreased by 13.5% last year. They put it down to more people buying diesels, although IMHO its generally people buying more fuel efficient cars.

That means in general terms that fuel coinsumption declined by around 13.5%, so the fuel tax would have declined by a similar amount.

Governments HATE declining tax bases.

If the current trends continue then the "take" will continue to decline.

The Feds and State Governments wll therefore be looking for an INCREASING tax base. When people have more economical cars they tend to drive further , just ask me.

Regards Philip A

AnswerID: 414866

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:18

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:18
Hi Philip,
I missed that.
I could see that it would be a concern for them.
Do you remember what program it was on? I might be able to find a podcast or script on it.

FollowupID: 685078

Reply By: stumbly1 - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 16:51

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 16:51
"According to IPA's calculations, the average motorist would pay about 8 cents for every kilometer they drove"
I travel on average 18000km's per year, which equates to a cost of $1440.00 under this scheme. This is what could be abolished, registration, licensing fees and the fuel excise.
Notice they say "COULD be abolished"

Does any body remember the build up to introducing GST?

Forget the fact that he said "there will be NO GST under this government", then proceeded to introduce it.
Their biggest lie was, and I know the state gov's. are to blame aswell, "if you agree to GST, it will remove all these other taxes"
Yep, and we all believed that too. Some minor taxes were reduced or removed, but I remember the big one was they would remove the fuel excise. And then reneged. Again.
And this will be the same - they will remove and / or reduce some minor taxes and then renege on the major taxes. Again.
It is a tax grab plain and simple, and if any of us believe we will be better off then we are being naive.
Liberal, Labour or any other party you would care to mention will try to sell you manure and tell you it is roses.
AnswerID: 414869

Follow Up By: Member - Ups and Downs - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:32

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:32
....."there will be NO GST under this government", then proceeded to introduce it.

Not quite, Howard did say "No GST", but didn't bring it in until AFTER the election where he campaigned telling us he would bring it in.

Still stinks that the State governments didn't carry out their part of the deal.

FollowupID: 685096

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 00:44

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 00:44
Ditto, was going to say the same thing.
Don't know why people KEEP on spouting that Howard lied about "no GST".
He went to an election saying he would introduce one if elected.
He was and he did.

Personally I dont ever recall that fuel excise was going to be removed-people kept saying it should be but I may be wrong???

Stamp Duty was the one that was supposed to go...
FollowupID: 685122

Follow Up By: stumbly1 - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 04:48

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 04:48
I was just trying to point out that we have been through a similar situation before and got screwed. Maybe the details aren't EXACT but...you get the point.
Some on here may believe that the gumbiment might remove the fuel tax.
I for one don't believe it - there will be an excuse and it won't happen.
I was simply showing an instance where it had happened before - not Howard bashing. I actually thought he did a pretty good job. Mostly.
And yes, it took 2 elections to do it, but his original statement was "there will be no GST under a liberal government"
Then we had "these other taxes will be removed when we introduce GST"
And so the state govt. then had their turn at knifeing us.
So, we can all stop being a little pedantic now....just trying to get a point across about the subject at hand - they say they will remove one tax for another and you end up left with both.
FollowupID: 685125

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 13:26

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 13:26
No your right, they definitely werent "exact"
"where it happened before"-but it didnt.
Hardly pedantic.

Got to say that any politician who goes thru his entire career unable to reassess a given situation and adjust to new circumstances-is an idiot. Not to be confused with lying to get elected of course.

Everyone is carrying on about the Henry Tax Review-but it hasnt been released yet.
Titbits are leaked and drip fed to lessen the impact and so that when it does come out it doesn't look as bad.

Fuel excise is actually a pretty damn good deal as Howard stopped indexation of the excise and it would be virtual suicide for a government to raise it in the current climate. Hence it is 38.123 cents per litre til someone has the balls to reinstate it.

Lets just see what comes out of the Review before getting too excited!
FollowupID: 685150

Follow Up By: stumbly1 - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 15:36

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 15:36
go you.
I'm impressed, as I bet you are.

"where it happened before"-but it didnt.

O.K , so I typed fuel excise instead of stamp duty in my frenzy of paranoid government bashing.
The point is - IT DID HAPPEN BEFORE.
we were told one tax would replace the other, and we copped both.
excise, duty, all another name for a TAX.
Perhaps I can't put it as eloquently as your good self or have time to chase down the EXACT details, but the gist of what i'm trying to get across is the same.
This post was started about one cost being replaced by another.
We have had that situation before and were left with both costs.
And I believe we will see that situation here. In my opinion.

There, nice and simple - and didn't use the word tax,excise or duty.

dead set, every time. there has to be one.

FollowupID: 685166

Reply By: Nargun51 - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 17:23

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 17:23
Since the Report won’t be released until Sunday, the whole thing at this stage is conjecture; analysts and commentators earning their wages by putting forward their opinion (probably informed but possibly not) determined by their own political bias, that of their editors/owners or the political/social demographic of their readership.

The fact that the report has been written doesn’t mean it will be implemented…it is a discussion paper which will be discussed in democratically elected arenas (the House of Representatives and the Senate).

The last time I looked at the Constitution I didn’t see journalists, talk back commentators or opinion writers have any place in this process (after all none of which are democratically elected). The Fourth Estate has an important place in a democracy, but it is not the basis of a democracy (no matter what they say)

I find it amazing that so many people on this topic and others on this forum seem to believe the “Government” is an entity which they are impotent to challenge. Every 3 years we have the ability to bring our parliamentarians to heel. The Government we have is directly attributed to our involvement in the democratic process; if there is corrupt, callous, uncaring powermongers ruling this country it is because we allow it.

It is not as if we have secret policemen lurking in every street corner intimidating or killing those who step out of line (the situation in so many countries)

An Uncle of mine used an expression regularly; he described people as ‘hearts’…they were the people that started each sentence with “’ey oughta (aorta)do something about…” whilst never doing something themselves.

If we consider ourselves to be inhabitants of the best country in the world (which I do), we have a responsibility to look at the paper in the light what is best for Australia, not what is best for our hip pocket.

I want a fair and equitable country for my children and grandchildren to grow up in; not a selfish, me, me, me country where everything is devalued to the lowest common denominator of “what is in it for me”

The process is starting on Sunday for all of us to get involved in a process that may govern Australia’s direction for the next 20 years

Rant mode off
AnswerID: 414876

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:10

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:10
And all fair points.....

But I did have a bit of a chuckle when I read your comment “The last time I looked at the Constitution I didn’t see journalists, talk back commentators or opinion writers have any place in this process (after all none of which are democratically elected). The Fourth Estate has an important place in a democracy, but it is not the basis of a democracy (no matter what they say)”.

The labor party is full of people running the country who were never democratically elected! As for journalists’, well they have an uncanny ability to be right on the mark, after all isn’t that how it works these days. Leak the story to the press, let them float it to the public and test the reaction......

And whilst perhaps we should all consider Australia’s interest ahead of our own hip pockets, especially in this discussion, it is clear the government doesn’t believe that is the way people respond. They would never have sent out millions of dollars in the form of $900 cheques if that was the case.........

Cheers...The Landy
FollowupID: 685062

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:42

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:42
"An Uncle of mine used an expression regularly; he described people as ‘hearts’…they were the people that started each sentence with “’ey oughta (aorta)do something about…” whilst never doing something themselves"

And the 'Gunna's" they never do as they say.
'I'm Gunna do that'.
FollowupID: 685071

Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 23:05

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 23:05
And thats the trouble when you let thieves steal as much as they can in 3 yrs, leaving nothing for the "goodies".

Look at NSW Labor, they have sold off ALL profit making ventures and kept debt-ridden dreggs.

NSW lotteries brought in $36 million every year, year in an year out, 3,5,10 yrs time, every year,$36 million now nothing, because the stupid ba****ds can't see past their dollar eyes and after $5 billion is spent,what will they sell next?

When Liberals get in, there will be nothing left to sell, so, guess what, up goes the taxes to pay for our stupid democratic laws that allow thieves to plunder the treasure chest for 3 yrs and it is our fault for letting them do it, how is that our fault, I have never voted for crooks in my life, and thats what they are

CROOKS
FollowupID: 685118

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:20

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:20
Sate Govt's scrap registrations, licences, permits etc. NEVER. Won't happen. Just look at the recent arguements between the States and Federal Govt. over proposed changes to health funding and that (health reforms) were apparently in the best interests of the community.
AnswerID: 414882

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:37

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:37
Dio,
remember that two states "were NOT going to give up their % of GST"
Well they rolled over. WA was the only one to hold their ground.`
Anything is possible.
FollowupID: 685069

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:46

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 18:46
Jon, Until a few years ago i was travelling from Moss Vale to Bankstown 6 days a week. 200ks a day and about 70,000 ks a year... There must be a dollar or two for the Government with the 8 cents per kilometer ;) Michael
AnswerID: 414885

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:07

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:07
Hi Michael,
Doing 70000 k's per year, the government got about $2800 in tax, at current rates of excise tax, These are just rough figures just for arguments sake ;) & @ 8 cents for 70000 it's over $5000.
Now if I've balls it up, I'll blame QLD Jo's home brew

FollowupID: 685075

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:32

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 19:32
Just as an after thought,
Would this include Trailers, Caravan/Campers, Horse floats or any thing that needs rego to be on the road net work?
Hmmm

AnswerID: 414891

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:39

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 20:39
Today's Australian Financial Review reports that this scheme could make an extra $4 billion dollars available annually for supposed investment in transport infrastructure.

I would somehow doubt that the extra revenue would ever end up spent on transport infrastructure.

AnswerID: 414903

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 21:19

Friday, Apr 30, 2010 at 21:19
I would somehow doubt that the extra revenue would ever end up spent on transport infrastructure

doubt?? it never would............................ever!
FollowupID: 685099

Reply By: ChipPunk - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 07:42

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 07:42
So they are following the lead of Insurers (lower rates for lower km's driven - despite that group having the highers accident rate....per km a least) and some overseas countries.

It's a far cry from a certain Victorian party that many years ago "promised" a mere ~$10 per extra vehicle registered to a name. Instead of 3 regos it would be 1 plus 2x$10 etc.

But the logic is the same - tax what you drive, not the vehicles you can drive.

Is this an anti-fuel incentive? Or to bring us in line with European prices (a change from recent alignments to the USA)? Or a revenue raiser?

Maybe to compensate they could half CTP through proper driver education?
AnswerID: 414935

Reply By: Indigo Jones (QLD) - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 09:33

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 09:33
This is a rort pure and simple .... anyone who lives in a regional area will get stung by this. There not a snowflakes chance in hell that any Govt. will reduce fuel excise as they get too much money from it.

What works for Europe works for Europe but will it work here ? NO it won't How many Europeans have to drive 100 km to town or 50 km each day to work because there is no viable public transport system, not many i'd say. This is a wolf in sheeps clothing coming back to bite all of us in the end.
AnswerID: 414945

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 15:33

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 15:33
agree that it sounds a bit too close to a rort but Europeans actually drive more annual klms, on average, than we do.
FollowupID: 685165

Reply By: slammin - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 16:00

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 16:00
It sounds ok'ish to me but I don't think it will happen. I want a system where I am rego'ed for the vehicle I am driving not the number of vehicles I have. Each vehicle would have to be safety inspected but only one on the road at any time. It would be great but again too open to fraud etc.

At the moment i would like to have a low cost low emission scooter but the additional rego etc is prohibitive so I am left driving a much higher emmision vehicle.
AnswerID: 414984

Reply By: Member - Neil G (VIC) - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 18:51

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 18:51
Hi Everyone,
I was wondering about this too when I heard it on the radio.
I checked my reg papers and for my 1985 Landcruiser I pay $303 TAC and $91.70 for the Reg With another $30.30 in Stamp Duty. I reckon the TAC charges would stay so I'm wondering if we would be any better off.
Neil
AnswerID: 415012

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:14

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 19:14
Hi Neil,
I was wondering that too.
because in NSW, The Registration Fee is $55.00
Where as the Motor Vehicle Tax is $351.00.
Are they dropping both or just the Rego fee?
Stamp duty in NSW is paid on the first time you register the vehicle in 'Your Name'.
I'm sure that they will still want their cut of that.
A couple of years ago, I was out of pocket some 1500 odd bucks just because I had brought an out of state camper and renewed my license in the same week.
And the buggers had the hide to charge me $39.00 for a number plate.

FollowupID: 685194

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 23:53

Saturday, May 01, 2010 at 23:53
What's the go with my lawnmower and chainsaw?
If I don't have to pay fuel excise on the fuel for them, do I have to fit an odometer to both of them?
And my generator too, what about that?

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 415060

Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 00:25

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 00:25
How can registration be scrapped? There would ALWAYS have to be some form of it along with a "fee".

Otherwise numberplates would handed out willynilly, there would be no record of who a vehicle belongs to, and hence culpability.

heck-this is sounding better and better all the time...
AnswerID: 415063