Fuel economy

Submitted: Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 10:49
ThreadID: 78163 Views:3511 Replies:5 FollowUps:5

Related Pages

I am wanting get into the caravan scene, and am interested to see if anyone out there has been using a 4L V6 Hilux or Prado, to toe a duel axel van. Aprox 2tonne. I love my twin cab, and have no other reason to sell it, but I am a little worried about its fuel economy whilst towing , compared to a diesel. Can anyone share there expreience on this topic ???

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 11:23

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 11:23
H'mm I wonder if you also worry about the price of grog, cigarettes, pokies, lotteries, horse racing etc. If you are towing 2 ton (as you state) then no matter what you use as a tow vehicle, there will always be an increase in fuel consumption. If someone tells you that they are using 20 litres per hundred kilometres or so, does that mean that you wouldn't tow a van. Suggest that you buy a diesel (ideally turbo charged) hook the van on and just go. Life is too short to spend much of it worrying about the cost and usage of fuel. If that's not satisfactory for you I suggest that you don't buy a van or 4 wheel drive but a small economical sedan and use that to travel in and stay at hotels, motels, caravan parks. It will definetly work out cheaper in the long run. Good luck.
AnswerID: 415088

Follow Up By: Paul Moran - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 11:37

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 11:37
And don't ask any more civil questions!!!! Give the guy a break.
FollowupID: 685264

Follow Up By: Trev Terka - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 11:58

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 11:58
Thanks for your sugestions, but i was hopeing for an answer closer to my question. Anyone else ?
FollowupID: 685266

Follow Up By: Alpal1 - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 12:43

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 12:43
I agree Paul, give the guy a break.
I read a lot on this forum, but usually don't comment on much. But every now & then something come along that really p...es me off.
Trev is asking a straight forward relevant question, which deserves a straight forward relevant answer.
So Dio , if you can't offer that. Don't offer anything at all.
FollowupID: 685273

Follow Up By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 20:43

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 20:43
tosser
FollowupID: 685325

Reply By: pop2jocem - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 14:23

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 14:23
Hi Trev
A friend of our tows a single axle van about 16' long normal height not pop up and he reckons if he sits at around 80 to 85 klms/hr the fuel economy gets about 20% worse with his V6 petrol Rodeo. If he has to push into a strong headwind or tries sitting on 100 kl/hr he uses about 50 to 60% more fuel above not towing anything. Not quite your vehicle or van size but may help a bit.

Oh by the way don't get put off this site by Mr Dio and his ascerbic
AnswerID: 415102

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 16:01

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 16:01
G/Day Trev

Just go ahead and do it, if you find that your existing vehicle is dear on fuel, weigh up the pros and cons of changing over to a diesel vehicle, then work out how much it will cost re: the change over price ect, diesels require more servicing, and repairs cost more than petrol vehicles, you will find that you will be ahead if you stay with your current vehicle.

PS, Just ignore DIO, his comments always seem to get up peoples noses,

AnswerID: 415111

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 17:08

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 17:08
Trev
Daza has hit the nail fair on the head and is correct in every aspect.

If your current vehicle is in good nick and you are more than happy with it then.
The loot you lose when trading in your current vehicle would be x dollars and then spending this on the difference in fuel consumption would give you CONSIDERABLE more kilometers on your known vehicle which you are happy with.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 685293

Reply By: Member - Tom W (WA) - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 18:51

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 18:51
Gday trev as others have said keep the twin cab get the van drive to suit the conditions and you will never look back its a great lifestyle
and theres no such thing as a silly question mate chhers
AnswerID: 415133

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 19:20

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 19:20
Single biggest factor factor with fuel economy with towing a caravan apart from weight is speedIf you wanna do 100-110ks with van, yeah sure, you will get there sooner, but , alot like life, play now pay later.
keep around 80 and it may not use MUCH more feul, a lot less hassle than trading too!!
Shane
AnswerID: 415137