on the road weights being checked ?????

Submitted: Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 16:14
ThreadID: 78169 Views:5189 Replies:16 FollowUps:22
This Thread has been Archived
How often are caravans stopped or waved into weighing stations to have their towing weights checked
warren aka aussichef
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 16:23

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 16:23
Warren

as a heavy vehicle driver i have never seen (others may have) any c'vans wheeled in for a weight check.they seem to over look these as more revenue is raised the more tyres you have.ie trucks.

be interesting to hear of any one who has,cheers.

AnswerID: 415113

Follow Up By: Rockape - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 17:17

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 17:17
Warre,

as a very X heavy vehicle driver, as Mark said, the only time I have seen them pulled up is for licence or breath tests.

Have heard whispers that van checks were going to be carried out, although that was about a year ago. Maybe they are getting plenty of tax dollars elsewhere.

If they do crack down, they are going to make some big bucks.

Have a good one
FollowupID: 685295

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 23:22

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 23:22
Warren,
I have seen them pulled in at Murray Bridge SA, But it was about 6years ago when I did Syd/Adel run and only at holiday time.
GU RULES!!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

FollowupID: 685339

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 16:32

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 16:32
Warren,
Have had caravans since 1971, done many k's throught most of Aus never stopped or looked like getting stopped.
Had boats since before that checked 5 times 1x Evans Heads 1x Hervey Bay 3 x Manly all at boat ramps.
Mike.
AnswerID: 415114

Reply By: Fab72 - Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 16:46

Sunday, May 02, 2010 at 16:46