Nissan Navara vs Toyta Hilux

Submitted: Sunday, May 09, 2010 at 22:36
ThreadID: 78345 Views:7389 Replies:8 FollowUps:9

Related Pages

Hey guys,
Im a young bloke saving up for a good ride, been lurking around the forums for a while looking for some real answers without all the badge bashing. Ofcourse, this ute is going to last me about 20 years, well id want it to for the price. Im more importantly looking at the STX and SR5 4WD Dualcab Diesel models, so im already feeling the wallet burn before all the mods. Im alot more partial to the looks of the Navara, but for 4wd and general performance ill snap up the Hilux...

Cheers for the help guys,
Nick.

Reply By: fisho64 - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 01:41

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 01:41
either one will do exactly what you need.
One will cost you more and have better resale also.
You'll only get info from people parochial to one or the other here, but neither has a bad reputation.
AnswerID: 416059

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 06:44

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 06:44
Hi Nick. My brother had the last model Navara for 3 years up until a month ago. He ordered a new one about 3 mths ago and Nissan told him around 9 week wait. After a few weeks of toing and froing they told him a new model was coming, price was going up and wait a bit longer. He decided to look at the Hi Lux and found they were $800 (SR5) cheaper than equivelent new model Navara, had 3ltrs against Navara's 2.5ltrs and only 2 week wait. He has had the Hi Lux for 2 weeks now and found it compares favorably with the Navara. Rides a bit better and seating much more comfortable. Navara's smaller engine did have a bit more torque and go from take off, Navara also had auto up and down for drivers window (Hi Lux down only) Other wise he is very happy to have changed brands. Regards,Bob.
AnswerID: 416067

Reply By: Member - baffle (QLD) - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 07:12

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 07:12
Hi Nick. I have the 2008 Navara STX auto with a canopy and am happy with it. For any real off-road driving you would need to upgrade the suspension on most models! I find the Navara very comfortable with plenty of room for my 6'4" frame. Enjoy whatever you choose. See you on the road sometime.
AnswerID: 416068

Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 09:46

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 09:46
Hey Baffle, wondering what canopy you got. I want one with strong enough top to stand on, for average guy, to take elevated photos. When we get another caravan a bit later this year, want to stash some stuff in pick up bed. So far have only towed our well setup Aussie Swag offroader camper and the rig does'nt even know it's there. Magic with the six gears.
FollowupID: 686159

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 09:39

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 09:39
If you are towing, my understanding is the Lux can't tow three ton legal but the Navara, Triton and a couple of others can. We have the Navara pick up with the soft cover. It holds whacks of stuff including big Eskyes etc. Forget the lift up hard tops if you want to carry anything. You will have lots of fun when you get your rig. BOL. http://public.fotki.com/RockyOne/
AnswerID: 416081

Reply By: Mr. Melanoma - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 13:43

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 13:43
Thanks for all your replies guys, im starting to lean towards the Lux, but ill go down to the local showroom later to get a feel for it. I wouldnt be towing that much, probably just a small trailer for trips to the tip. The 1t payload for the lux also helps, as you never know what your gunna have to carry. My biggest concern is space as im 6'2". I found the navara quite roomy and very comfy to sit in, even in the back seat with the seats all the way back. But anyway ill head down to toyota soon to have a look. If only the Lux looked a bit more aggressive...
AnswerID: 416119

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 15:59

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 15:59
If you want the LOOKS and a tuff truck you had better go down to Isuzu hahahaha
FollowupID: 686201

Follow Up By: Mr. Melanoma - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 18:51

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 18:51
Nah, rodeo's arent my style ;)
FollowupID: 686239

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 20:22

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 20:22
Fare enough, two things to look out for on the Navara, the drain on the transfer case is very vulnerable and the clutch is very touchy.
FollowupID: 686265

Follow Up By: Mr. Melanoma - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 22:07

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 22:07
Its going to be an auto so the clutch really isnt a problem, and thanks mate its something ill have to look out for
FollowupID: 686285

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 16:35

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 16:35
Admit it Your going to get a Lux no matter what anyone says.
You only asked to get some people to endorse your choice.
4x4 Monthly reckon the Navara is the ducks guts.

Me I'd go the TRITON if I were buying a dual cab....

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 416129

Follow Up By: escapesilv - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 17:24

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 17:24
Second that one!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 686222

Follow Up By: Mr. Melanoma - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 18:49

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 18:49
Better to look before jumping mate. I dont like the new triton, looks way to european for me.
FollowupID: 686237

Reply By: Horsin' Around - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 19:08

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 19:08
I have driven a new Trident, new Hilux and recently bought a 07 Navara.

The trident was good in the city traffic, but light in the rear end on the open road unless there was weight to hold it down. It was fabulous to tow with. It was also small in the ute section.

The Hilux was good on the open road, more sluggish in city traffic but good to tow with, but not as good as the Trident. Bigger in the ute section than the trident.

I could afford an 07 Navara. It is also light in the rear end when empty, tows well and is perky in city traffic. I also replaced the suspension to lift it, and it did need that, but the new Navara's are looking higher through the suspension (unless all I have seen are lifted). It also has the largest passenger section and ute area.

I was able to get one with a canopy, towbar etc with lower mileage than the hilux for the same price. The appointment for the SX is also better than the other two.

Horse

AnswerID: 416146

Follow Up By: Mr. Melanoma - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 22:09

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 22:09
Thanks mate, ive been looking at suspension upgrades for the utes and cant work out how they do it with a Leaf and Spring combo?
FollowupID: 686286

Follow Up By: Horsin' Around - Tuesday, May 11, 2010 at 16:32

Tuesday, May 11, 2010 at 16:32
New springs, new struts, new shockers, bushes, greasable shackles and U bolts.

Went ARB for the work with Australian made Old Man Emu shockers.

Prices ranged from 2000-3000.

There are apparently legal limits which you can lift your car, and if it is too high, the vehichle becomes unroadworthy and it may affect resale or trade in.

A legal lift for me has bought me into respectable 4WD height (currently a whisker taller than a mates 8 yr old patrol.)

Also, be aware that some insurance companies will not insure if you have modified just about anything.

You can also raise the height with new wheels and tires, but the above comments apply re insurance and roadworthiness.

If you buy second hand rather than new, look to one sill in the original manufacturers warranty. You then have (with Nissan at least) the ability to purchase a further 3 year manufacturers warranty. Three years or 150000km, which ever comes first. Do not purchase the dealer's 3 year warranty (even the premium) (the dealer was insisting you have it serviced with them...) as it is quite limited and is virtually the same price as the Nissan Manufacturers warranty.

Enjoy which ever you go for, all are good cars, as I said I went Nissan because it was an easy $10,000 cheaper and does it all for me.

Horse

FollowupID: 686406

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, May 11, 2010 at 13:18

Tuesday, May 11, 2010 at 13:18
I'd prefer everyone bought Navara's and Tritons please, there are far too many Hilux's on the road, heck they are about to outsell the commodore for the first time..! So please buy the Navara or the Triton , I'm running out of ideas to make my Hilux look different to the rest..!

Oh What a Feeling..!
AnswerID: 416260