MENINDEE TO POONCARIE

Submitted: Monday, May 10, 2010 at 08:34
ThreadID: 78351 Views:3419 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Any one travelled on the Menindee to Pooncarie road recently and if so how was the condition of the road?

I will seek local knowledge from Menindee also.

Cozzie

Reply By: mchapo - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 09:54

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 09:54
G'day Cozzie,

I was there two weeks ago the road is a beauty, and the beer at Pooncarie pub was icy.

cheers Chapo
AnswerID: 416085

Follow Up By: Member - Hayjude (NSW) - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 18:38

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 18:38
Beer is always cold there. yum
Alcohol may be man's worst enemy but the bible says love your enemy

FollowupID: 686236

Reply By: fugwurgin - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 12:48

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 12:48
drove it last week, had just been graded. you could skate down it now.
AnswerID: 416110

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 13:07

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 13:07
Thanks for the info I will stick me skates on and head to the Pooncarie pub for a cold one or two tomorrow.

AnswerID: 416113

Reply By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 19:43

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 19:43
I drove it about a week ago.

Agree with the comments above. Road is in good condition. You could drive a camry down it.

AnswerID: 416157

Follow Up By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 19:46

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 19:46
Should have also mentioned to drop in at the cafe in Pooncarie.

Very friendly, great coffee and also they have some hardwood souvenirs which are good value.
FollowupID: 686249

Reply By: ChipPunk - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 19:53

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 19:53
Don't trust them!

The first time I did that stretch they said the first half was bad but the 2nd half was fine.

I started the first half and it was great, so I kept going.
The 2nd half was sand. I was getting bogged going down hill!
But I was on a road bike (a Kwaka Z650). (Viz long ramble about following Darling tracks then cutting cross country VERY FAST to avoid sinking into dry swamps (aeration under thin crust) etc.)

Eons later (a few hours) the Pooncarie Pub was a VERY welcome site - it still cherish the "only spot in the Darling" stubby cubby I bought on that occasion - a true celebration of hardship and survival.

I remember too the road south from there. Normally wary of dirt and bulldust in particular, I'd be cruising at >130kph, double-up or tank-slap hitting the bull dust; panic; slow to a sensible speed and withing seconds get bored and back up to .... a very fast speed. THAT was back in the days of good & safe beer - it removed the fear factor AND made you a better rider. Alas, that was then. These days I enjoy both pursuits, but in isolation.
AnswerID: 416158

Follow Up By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Monday, May 10, 2010 at 21:14

Monday, May 10, 2010 at 21:14
The road soth of Pooncarie has now been tarred and a good portion b/w Pooncarie and Menindee has been tarred. The rest is well graded. Within a few more years it will all be tarred.
FollowupID: 686272

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, May 11, 2010 at 17:41

Tuesday, May 11, 2010 at 17:41
Drove Broken Hill to Mildura via Meninie and Pooncarie last week in my work crummydore ute. It was in excellent condition. Looks like a lot of use were up that way!

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 416297