Aldi compressor

Submitted: Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 15:20
ThreadID: 78438 Views:6798 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
Was talking to a friend the other day & he mentioned Aldi had 12v compressors going on sale, I remembered hearing some where that they were the same as another well known brand selling at 3 times the price. I picked 1 up this morning, took it home & connected to battery. Ran for about 1.5 seconds & stopped, checked fuse had blown no problem it included spare fuse and accessory kit. Not my one so I rang the number listed on the warranty card was told they would post me my spare & if it kept blowing fuses use a 50amp fuse, That was what had blown. Now it gets interesting, 2 well known auto part shops and local electrical wholesaler don't sell 50amp blade fuses they checked their suppliers cataloug and they are nat available in the size required. So a trip back to Aldi and now i will wait & get a real one.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 15:38

Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 15:38
It never fails to amuse me why people will look for cheap rubbish for an item that is very important when in locations like the Simpson Desert, when out there you need a compressor that you know will work when needed.

AnswerID: 416533

Follow Up By: howesy - Saturday, May 22, 2010 at 09:45

Saturday, May 22, 2010 at 09:45
I bought a cheap ebay item a few years ago (twin piston 150L/min) and I have used it heaps over those years its done some heavy work and pumps three vehicles in succession back up to pressure without doing the old heat cut out thing.
I reckon its luck of the draw if you 1st look closely at the specs of what your buying
Even the so called good brands let you down look at the bees knees waeco fridges, good brand sure but do a search and see how many people have had them give problems on their trip.
Also got an ebay 12000lb winch thats seen some work too.
I'll stick with the cheaper but not nasty type thanks but my advice to those that chose this is if you do that you should have an aray of recovery gear not putting all your eggs in one basket and its always a good idea to travel with another and/or have sat phone and gps and that goes for brand name stuff as well.
FollowupID: 687715

Reply By: signman - Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 15:50

Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 15:50
We've had our Aldi compressor for near 3 years now. It's been partially covered in sand, left out in the rain, and kinda not really looked after.
It re-inflates the tyres on our vehicle to 65-70psi with no probs.
No blown fuses and no issues at all with it.
Admittedly, it does get a bit warm inflating from 25 to 65, but hasn't let us down. and yes- it has been used frequently !!
Maybe you were just unlucky to get a dud !!

AnswerID: 416535

Follow Up By: signman - Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 15:58

Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 15:58
P.S. It's even been used by other folk who's 'brand name/ expensive' compressors have let them down !!!!

FollowupID: 686662

Follow Up By: Rick and Kerrie - Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 16:00

Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 16:00
thats what I recon but not being able to buy 50amp fuses seemed like to much risk. I had heard good reports about them but maybe the new batch are not as good.

cheers Rick.
FollowupID: 686663

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 16:05

Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 16:05
Rick & Kerry

i bought one from Ebay......is exactly the same as the dearer brand(even has the same numbers on it) and it hasnt let me down yet.

cheap ones or dear ones....chances are they all come from the same factory anyway?
cheers.
FollowupID: 686664

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 22:52

Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 22:52
Recovery vehicle? – around here the girls use them as shopping trolleys :-)
FollowupID: 686735

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, May 14, 2010 at 01:05

Friday, May 14, 2010 at 01:05
maybe two 25 amp fuses in parallel would fix the problem of a 50 amp fuse. if it is blowing fuses then there's a fault and you did the right thing in returning it. i have a super cheap one and it has yet to let me down, it's well looked after.

FollowupID: 686743

Follow Up By: manraysdog - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 20:21

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 20:21
G'day. Jusy picked up one of these compressors from Aldi today. Not a real problem with it other than the pressure relief valve was sticking a little and were over inflating the tyre (test run). Also didn't come with any spare fuses as suggest in the add. I think they could have done a little better with the relief valve. Oddly enough, I did see what appeared to be a 50A fuse which seemed to be an overkill for a DC permanent magnet motor, (just put the metal coupling against it & it sticks). I decided to clamp my ammeter on the line and ended up with the following results:

Start current around 10A to 14Amps.
Run current 0.9A to 1.0A

I just wonder whether the inline fuse is a slow blow 5A fuse and not a 50A one. Having a look @ the fuse, the eutectic point seems a little thin to me for it to be 50A fuse.

Either way the easy solution would be to replace the existing fuse with either:
- A fuse that is readily available (slow blow)(fuse & fuse holder)
- A thermal circuit breaker
- A thermal magnetic circuit breaker, (provides good short cct & overload)
- A solid state circuit breaker (similar to thermal magnetic)

Either way i intend to dispense of the inline fuse and put in its place a thermal magnetic circuit breaker if i can find one; has good short circuit and over-current protection which takes into account ambient temperatures, (dispense of fuses totally). As far as thermal cut out goes i'd most likely fit a N/C thermal switch somewhere on the case or inside the connector box if it doesn't have one. Also probably chop up the air line and put something a little better.

I wouldn't leave it in the rain as someone suggested as it has a breather hole on the top to one side i think for the motor to cool down. Mine was covered with a little bit of plastic that quality control probably missed, (that is if they have QC), someone might want to check theirs just in case.

Overall i don't think it's a bad little compressor for the price, i can't really complain. It has a duty cycle of 50% (30min on/off), haven't pulled it apart yet so cant comment on it's internals or its metallurgy.

I would personally rate this compressor 7/10 at the moment. Mainly because the pressure relief valve was sticking and i think they could have done a little better with the gauge even if they had to charge a little extra for it. Quality control was also another factor but to a lesser extent (i personally wouldn't rate a missing spare fuse and a bit of plastic wrap on the air vent a huge issue), otherwise i would have personally rated it a 7.5/10, for quality and price.

FollowupID: 687543

Reply By: ChipPunk - Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 18:50

Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 18:50
Interesting.
Standard ATS Blade fuses are only available to 40A inclusive; mini-blades to 30A.

Are you sure it isn't a maxi-blade fuse (20A - 100A)?

I always carry spare fuses for whatever I run, and will usually carry circuit breaker equivalents - whether for blade fuses ($7) or min-block weatherproof 50A breakers ($7-$12).
For "critical" or typical fuse blowers - like headlights, fridge supplies, motors - I will usually convert to circuit breakers anyhow. (But I bring substitute fuses for them for high temperatures, else a double sized breaker (assuming 50% derating for our not-uncommon temperatures).

The Aldi stuff tend not to be cheap in quality - merely price.
Maybe I should re-phrase that - it is usually the same quality as items costing 2 to 3 times more.
The wonders of free-trade wholesaling! Even Telstra loves it!
AnswerID: 416564

Reply By: bks - Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 21:32

Thursday, May 13, 2010 at 21:32
I have had one for a couple of years and it is exactly the same as one sold by a well known brand but 1/3 the price.

However I was in ALDI today and I dont think the one they are selling is the same as mine.

AnswerID: 416603

Follow Up By: Rick and Kerrie - Friday, May 14, 2010 at 07:24

Friday, May 14, 2010 at 07:24
Thats what I think, it seems the current one is different from an earlier model they sold.
The fuse is built in in the line from he batterie and is the standard blade size, so not available in 50amp. Having to change something as basic as the fuse system to meet local standards doesn't give me a lot of confidence in the rest of the unit.

Cheers Rick
FollowupID: 686750

Follow Up By: bks - Friday, May 14, 2010 at 09:51

Friday, May 14, 2010 at 09:51
Rick,

I have just pulled my Aldi compressor out and it is a Torque automotive product code 2345.

It has a 30 amp in line blade fuse (normal size not the mini one).

I have been at a 4wheel drive club sand driving weekend and compared mine side by side with several others who had bought an ARB compressor. They were the same in every detail except for the label, same carry case, broucher everything except the logo.

The only problem I found and the ARB compressor was the same, in that the hose was just a bit short making it hard to reach the rear driver side tyre, you have to go through the doors across the car to reach.
FollowupID: 686772

Reply By: BluePrint Industries Pty Ltd - Friday, May 14, 2010 at 01:30

Friday, May 14, 2010 at 01:30
Hi Rick and Kerrie,

Yes you can get the fuses for the compressors that are rated / marked as 50Amp in the small blade format. We do have them.

Unfortunately from the outside of the compressor regardless of brand you can not tell what is inside it. Not knowing the Aldi brand, as we don't have them over here in the west, plus we import and sell our own Airdevil Brand, I can't coment on how good or bad they are.

Most of the compressors come with a pretty standard product lablel which states thermal protection overlaod protection etc, however we have repaired quite a few that although the sticker says it has it when we have opened the unit up we have found that there is no thermal cutout, or relay.

Many things internally can be different such as the number of windings on the armature the cutout temperatute if it really has a thermal cutout installed etc.

Obviously a pump with an 80 degree cutout will cut out a lot sooner than one with a 95 ot 100 deg cut out installed, and one with no cut out will keep on pumping and do your tyres and your 4 mates as well in most cases. No cutout probably means it will get so hot that the reed valve on the head gets brittle and snaps off one day when your using it on some remote beach or 4x4 track when you don't have the spares to repair it. It might be 1 year or 5 years down the track depending on how hard and often it is used.

Other isues like spares also come into play... can you get spares, fuses, heads, gaskets etc.

There are a lot of really good compressors on the market but unfortunately there are also a lot of not so good ones that have been procured based on a price point, and not a performance or reliability point. Even with that in mind you can still spend a lot of money and get a cheap compressor.

Everybody's circumstance and useage requirements will be slightly different, and at the end of the day the consumer will vote with their money and unit "A" from supplier "X" may be the best option for you but not for your best mate due to frequency of use, size of tyres, places you go etc.

If they are a thrid of the price you could always buy 1 plus 1 or 2 extra for spares and still be better off.

AnswerID: 416615