Giving Out Personal Info at Check-in

Submitted: Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:15
ThreadID: 78511 Views:6696 Replies:18 FollowUps:28
We pulled into a Brisbane Caravan Park two days ago for three nights and whilst going through the normal book-in was asked for the usual name, address, car rego and then we were asked car make, model, color and then for a drivers licence. Now I probably have been asked for a D/L number before I dont really remember but since I felt at this time that I was being given the third degree I politely asked why a drivers licence number was required. The woman became very defensive and mumbled something about if they had to call the police! I'll add here we are a respectable couple with a near new car and van just like normal caravanners - maybe if we looked like drug taking hippies (no offence to hippies meant) you might expect it but.....

Anyway, she didnt want to explain why even though I made mention of identity theft being a hot topic at the moment.

It was probably her attitude that got me going and I decided to shut up as I know we had the option of just leaving but when its late in the day, with city traffic etc and in a place we dont know it would have been a hassle.

What do you guys think about giving out so much info - its all recorded on their PC's how safe are they?

OK thats enough you get my point - appologies for rambling

Sue
Geraldton WA

Reply By: Member - Kevin B1 (WA) - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:27

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:27
In my opinion I don't see why a Caravan Park needs your MDL number. You have to pay up front so why do they need it. If they have your rego number you are totally traceable by the Police anyway. I have never been asked for my MDL ever when booking in and I would be very reluctant to give it too, I would be interested to know if they can legally ask for it.
AnswerID: 416851

Follow Up By: GQueue - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:38

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:38
Dunno, doubt its really a legal issue - more a 'condition of contract' I guess. You not provide, they can probably turn you away if they wish. They are under no obligation to allow you to stay in their park.
FollowupID: 686949

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:29

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:29
Sue,
I wouldn't tell her, I would just advise her she doesn’t have a valid reason, or the right to know that information, she has your rego number and Police know who you are from that anyway, if she argued I would leave

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 416852

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:31

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:31
Maîneÿ
As stated it was late in the evening in a city remote from home (WA to Brissie is as remote from home as you can get) that was not a viable option being left out "in the cold".

I fully agree that the request was not a reasonable one, as stated rego is proof enough for traceing.

It is an invasion of privacy pure and simple, and as stated an oppotunity for identity theft.

In the morning I would however take it up with the park managment and insist on removal of those details from their files, with a reminder of privacy laws in Australia.

Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 686966

Reply By: GQueue - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:36

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:36
This is something we are always conscious of when travelling. We NEVER give out our home address to anyone, just tell them a fake that doesn't exist. They have our rego and we usually pay by credit card, should the need arise the cops will track us down eventually. In a N/A GQ diesel, we ain't going anywhere fast anyway!

And your point about the storage is very valid, most have no concept of data security, particularly when it isn't even their own.
AnswerID: 416854

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:58

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 08:58
If the circumstances of that park were such that they found a need to obtain the details on a driver's licence I would worry about my "comfort" in the park and seriously consider going elsewhere even if inconvenient.

And yes, I would be concerned about the security of my personal identity.

AnswerID: 416858

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 21:26

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 21:26
Well now that you mention it I will tell you the rest of the story and it sort of made some sense afterwards although I still dont think she it should have happened.

Story

After booking in and setting up I felt like a bike ride to relax so thats what we did. We headed out of the park up a quiet street with a rather steep hill - Ian got ahead of me and stopped at the top to wait. I lovely chap was just putting his bin out and noticed Ian towing our Jack Russell in his bike trolley and commented. Conversation went on and we said we were staying down the road in the caravan park - he then asked "what is it like down there now?" and in the next breathe said "that place has always been known as a haven for all the drop kicks and druggies" (talking about the permanent tennants).

Then everything sort of fell into place with her police reference. AND being a Grumpy Old Woman that I am I felt even more offended LOL......

We are leaving in the morning and not trusting anything we read in caravan mags in future - inspect before paying. Now we are searching for another caravan park that allows our two old dogs between Brisbane and say Hervey Bay.

Sue
FollowupID: 687050

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 09:27

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 09:27
Good post Ian and Sue
Firstly when asked for the drivers licence I state that it is classified information and not for your computer.
Secondly when asked for addresses I will give them false information ie. and state the address of the police station where I live.
If there is going to be a situation where legal intervention / information is required a rego number is all the police will need (a surname would be helpful).
I do not know how secure the caravan park computer is but it surely has all the information about who is at home and who is not.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 416863

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 09:30

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 09:30
Living in a Caravan Park and being part time Caretaker you do get to see and experience many different types of people, The owner bought an Arlec power adaptor, one of those orange ones with 4 outlets on it, we had a lot of vans and campers in so he loaned it to one of the caravanners for their overnight stay , they were part of a 3 caravan group, all nice flashy vans and tow vehicles, next morning they departed with the power adaptor , the owner had only bought it 2 days prior in Darwin for around $130, we had rego numbers but but also should have had Lic numbers too, so it's not always the hippie type that'll nick off with things that don't belong to them, we also lose tap fittings, hoses, etc, I said to the owner the only way is to chain good gear up and padlock it, well he just got another one of those power outlets and said he'll screw it to the wall, I said.....they'll unscrew it,

AnswerID: 416864

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 09:57

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 09:57
I run a business and I have been ripped off by so called respectable looking people, I don't need to take your D/L # but if you want and over the phone credit card order, you will be giving me your CCV # the reason being is, it is for your protection, when I process that card I can find out straight away if it is stolen or not, it will automatically authorize the transaction as well.

When I hire a buggy at the local golf course I fill out a form, yes this includes my D/L #, I have never queried it.
FollowupID: 686958

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:02

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:02
Doug, you had their rego number, you could have reported the theft to the police with the rego number and a description of the vehicle.
A drivers licence would not be necessary.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 686960

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:12

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:12
A rego number is not proof of owership, secondly there were 3 of them in the group, and I know what they would say if confronted, all would strongly deny the fact , carry on like pork chops saying ...."are you acusing me" so what do you do, but in our case even a d/l wouldn't work, not with 3 of them, I know what they'd say, we left it by the building and someone else must have took it,
I hate liars....

FollowupID: 686963

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 11:33

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 11:33
Doug, a cash deposit for anything handed over on loan, is a sure way of getting it returned, especially if the deposit is substantial, and covers the replacement cost of the item.

It's OK to be the nice bloke, but the nice blokes always seem to get bitten.

Start a deposit policy, and then requests for loan items will most likely decline.

Cheers mate....Fred.
FollowupID: 687094

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 11:40

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 11:40
Fred
Yeh I know , I made up 4 extension leads about a foot long last year with 15 amp female one end and 10amp male the other, I told the girl in the office to charge a $10 deposit refundable on return, but they're all gone.

FollowupID: 687095

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 12:35

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 12:35
Doug....she probably sold them :-)))) made a quid, and told everyone she has a good supplier if they need any more LOL LOL.

Cheers mate.

Fred.
FollowupID: 687101

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 18:21

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 18:21
Have to agree with you Doug, the nicest, best dressed and polite people can be the worst to deal with or they think value for money is what can they steal...OPPS...ment "what can they get for free..

If you give the 100 meters and they will take a kilometer.

I have no issues handing over my details if it is a legit place who needs it.

We stayed in Alice Springs a week ago and one of the Hotels wanted a $500.00 deposit up front plus the room fees before we could stay, we kindly denied there kind offer and went elsewhere....obviously they have been stung by tourists before.
FollowupID: 687132

Reply By: ChipPunk - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:02

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:02
Giving your address is risk enough - it wasn't uncommon to "coincidentally" be house robbed whilst away....

Licenses should NOT be required assuming the Law is that the registered owner is responsible for the vehicle (as in Victoria).
Of course, if it has been stolen (but that's dumb isn't it?)
Or if legal proceedings require ID of the driver rather than Reg'd owner (as with camera fines overseas LOL!).

There are "site conditions" that are illegal. Some are like posting "no cash refunds" - illegal!
AnswerID: 416868

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:08

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 10:08
Sue the ONLY person who may ask you for your MDL is a policeman or traffic inspector.
I have been asked by numerous people and refuse bluntly to give it. My name and address yes, my bank account number - no way and the same with my MDL.
By the by, I am a J.P. and sat on the bench for 16 years and I was not able to ask that question even though I could suspend the license.
AnswerID: 416870

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 11:27

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 11:27
Brian, that is true, but only whilst operating a motor vehicle. You must produce it to those persons as a legal requirement under the Motor Traffic Act.

There are occasions where certain businesses will ask for it, but you are not required by law to produce it and let them take details.

Example.........

I just bought a new mobile phone on a plan via a Telstra shop, and they specifically required MDL as proof of ID, even photocopied it. Your MDL is a primary form of ID these days, just like a passport. Cash a cheque at a bank other than your own, and they'll ask for it and record the number.
As for a C/P park asking for it.....NO WAY would I oblige, and I would certainly question their even asking for it.

Fred
FollowupID: 687093

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 11:51

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 11:51
Negative Fred. Telstra tried that on me. I told them that I had an account with them for my home phone and said that was all they needed to know. They were insistant and I told them to stick their mobile phone (I was replacing an existing unit) where the sun don't shine.

I closed both my phones with Telstra and went to Optus. No requirement to see any licences, just my name and address.

Telstra rang me later to get me to change my mind. I was so excited that I stayed with Optus.
FollowupID: 687096

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 12:32

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 12:32
C'mon Brian, fair dinkum LOL if ya can't trust Telstra LOL who can ya trust? :-))

Cheers from Fred
FollowupID: 687100

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 13:01

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 13:01
Fair dinkum Fred, it was only a few short years ago that Telsta had ALL the business.
Their "great perfomances" of latter years has seen the growth of many other providers - and they (Telstra) are still losing customers !
So the answer is that many, many people trust others rather than Telstra.
Does this answer your question?
Kind regards and have a nice day
FollowupID: 687105

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 13:27

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 13:27
Brian, Telstra are simply the best, LOL, they provide the best, fail proof service LOL, theyre'cheap, they never ever make mistakes, just ask them LOL, even they'll tell you that. Geez, how much more honesty do you want

Fred
FollowupID: 687110

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:31

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 21:31
Brian, May I ask what is so special about your bank account number that NO WAY would you give it out?? Do you have a cheque book?? Lots of people do have cheque books. Guess what.....your account number and BSB are on EVERY SINGLE ONE of those little fellas...... hahahaha..... so much for not giving your account number out to anybody.

When I joined the bank I worked for (in 1970) the lack of stamp duty on cheques, limited bank fees etc at the time, meant that quite often people would pass a cheque of $1.50 for a packet of gaspers at the local corner shop.... These days cheques aren't quite as common, but still millions of them change hands every day. Imagine how much potential there is for a crim to do damage IF there was any value in them getting hold of a person's bank account number.

However, IF you meant to say you would not divulge your bank log-in ID and the associated PIN, then maybe you have a point. However, even if I was silly enough to divulge that info to a person of ill-intent, all they would be able to do is see how little money I have in my accounts and (possibly) they could bother to transfer funds back and forth between my own accounts. IF they tried to transfer some of my money to THEIR account at another bank etc, then I would receive a SMS on my mobile phone, providing me with a one-off PIN number for THAT transaction. So, now, they'd need to have my mobile phone as well as all my bank log-in/PIN details in order to do me harm. Not sure about what precaustions other banks have in place.

hahahahahaha..... still chuckling about how people say they won't EVER be giving their bank account details to anybody...... hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 687172

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 02:40

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 02:40
Roachie- just google identity theft and then after you see how little info is required for someone to take out a loan in your name and then see if your still laughing

Bank account details and license details from a CP with no privacy policy is more than enough

do I have a cheque book?
not for 20 years
pohne banking? - nup
credit card- LOL

FollowupID: 687187

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 08:17

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 08:17
Roachie, you will never get a job as a comedian. How high did you get in the bank? Teller?
The subject of the post was should you give details of your MDL to virtually anyone who wants it.
I can add nothing more to"get outmore"
Kind regards but please lay off the sauce bottle.
FollowupID: 687195

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 08:25

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 08:25
Well, what can I say.....??? I worked for NAB for almost 40 years in the branch network. During that time I moved all around NSW, ACT, SA and PNG. In all that time, I only ever had one client who suffered from having his bank account tampered with....and that was about 4 years ago. The client had unwittingly responded to one of those fake emails, perporting to be from NAB and asking him to confirm his log-in ID and PIN by clicking on a link provided.

His (business) account was subsequently "hit" for about $4,500-. Once he queried the transaction and completed a stat-dec to confirm that it was not of his making, the bank refunded the amount to him (less $50- from memory). He was then signed up for the SMS messaging arrangement I mentioned above and never had anymore problems.....although he did get a couple of SMS messages asking him to confirm requested transfers which he hadn't requested. His log-in ID and PIN were subsequently altered and no more issues at all.

I guess one of the benefits of living in a country town is that everybody knows everybody, so I don't think I would have much difficulty convincing anybody that I didn't take out a loan in another city etc..... but I do agree with you that it must be quite an ordeal if someone has stolen your identity and racked up bills in your name, which you then have to try to prove that were not of your making.
FollowupID: 687201

Follow Up By: Brian Purdue - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:08

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:08
Mr. Roach you have just revealed all. 40 years in the bank business and the only fraudulent activity in the last 4 years. Now that is important.
Mr. Roach at about the time you joined the bank you could leave your keys in the car, leave your house open (I went to Singapore on the first ever "Jetabout" tour. I came home and found that I had forgotten to lock the house. Result? Nothing. Just as I left it.
Now? I lock my house when I am working in my backyard.
Times have changed Mr. Roach. That is why I am so cautious and beg others to be the same. Most people can resist anything except temptation. Give them no oportunity.
My bank account is between me and my bank. It has bugger all to do with anyone else. The same applies to my MDL and for that matter everything else.
I pay cash for almost everything. Amazing the discounts you can get for cash.
Thank you for your imput and I guess that it has caused some merriment to some and some deep thought for others.
Have a nice day.
FollowupID: 687211

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 11:52

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 11:52
Crims are lazy, and like all people they want the maximum return for minimum work…whilst a copy of a drivers licence number may allow identity theft, it would take a huge amount of work to build the identity from it and the returns are not guaranteed. I’d want more proof than a ‘ACA Special Investigation’ where they interview one crying person described as a ‘battler’ followed by a talking head looking all grave and serious giving worst case scenarios

Hacking an email account or stealing letters from a letter box would give more useful information than licence details. Pick pocketing a wallet from a hip pocket or stealing it out of an open handbag would give you the best information to conduct identity theft. Probably even has ‘disguised’ PINS in there

About 45 years ago, my mother had her purse stolen and the female crim used her licence to cash a number of cheques from her cheque book across 5 country towns over a couple of weeks. 26 years ago I applied for a loan and the credit check came back that I had applied for and been denied a car loan in another state. Both are examples of identity theft; both took a bit of sorting out.

The world hasn’t changed that much; we are getting more scared.

Take a pragmatic approach, not a paranoid one.

Scared about using a credit card, obtain a Visa/Mastercard debit card and deposit money as and when needed.

Paying cash for everything? You’re walking around with a few hundred dollars in your pocket and you are either going to a bank (with other customers watching how much you stuff in your pocket) or an ATM (where you can get mugged)
FollowupID: 687229

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 12:27

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 12:27
Yes unfortunately there are somne dishonest and deceitful people who specialze in 'ripping off' caravan parks and any business that they think they can make a dollar or two from.
As for providing such personal details as drivers licence etc I would not do so. I would be asking the attendant to provide me with details of how they, as an oranisation, comply with the provisions of the Privacy Act. For example, how do they store the information, who has access to it, how will it be used, how long will it be retained by them, how will the information be disposed of, by whom, what steps do they take to ensure that it is appropiately destroyed, who maintains a register of such activities and management of the information etc, etc.
My biggest concern is the probablity (not fear) that my personal details will be misappropiated. The crime of Identity Theft is something that we must all be on our guard agaist. A simple thing like providing a copy of your D/L to a caravan park or any other business could ultimately mean much expense, inconvenience and embarrassment if it were to be stolen and mis-used.
If the C/P attendant had such concerns as to your character, intentions, honesty etc then they should make that clear to you so that you can turn and walk out.
As for recording info on their PC, absolutely NO guarantee whatsoever that it can be or will be safe.
For anyone still uncertain about privacy and other related information, have a look at the accompanying VIDEO LINK hopefully everyone will be more responsible with their private details in the future.
AnswerID: 416886

Follow Up By: DIO - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 12:29

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 12:29
Forgot to add, the video in question runs after a short 'commercial break'.
FollowupID: 686976

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 13:18

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 13:18
hi dio
very interesting and i find it somewhat amusing to find the very country that is quawking about world security as well as there own on a constant basis

have now shown what a bunch of idiots they are and it's probably no wonder that 911 happened and even pearl harbour
have they learnt anything in all the years gone by ?????????
well it appears not

the mind boggles at the big front they put up and underneath it's only as secure as shade cloth
cheers and thanks for the enlightenment
FollowupID: 686982

Reply By: carlsp - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 13:23

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 13:23
Unfortunately in the post 911 world this will become more common.

" If you cannot stop something just get out of the way"

There are things called MBE's. Mail box etc. A company that provides a PO Box whose address looks like an apartment. They forward mail while you are away and in cases like the caravan park provide an address. Not even the police can get past a MBE. You cannot have your PO Box robbed while you are away. Great peace of mind. In every capital city and major town. In fact they are world wide.
AnswerID: 416891

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 13:54

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 13:54
hi ian & sue
twice in wa at caravan parks at kalgoorlie and augusta in april i have been asked for my mdl and this seems like it has become industry standards having spoken to a few people
when writting a cheque it was always required so maybe now cheques are nearly a thing of the past the caravan industry has seen fit to apply the same to book-in done with a credit card

i was tired and wanted to set up and sleep but did ask why and was told its for security of both office detail and for me
rego numbers dont cover them in all respects
only if the person is honest and actually owns the vehicle
i am a law abiding citizen and have a certified police clearance

while i was at check-in counter at kalg a guy came in and was trying to use a cancelled cred card he was beside me and being served by another staff when challenged and while trying to talk his way around the problem pulled out a large wod of notes and said he'd pay cash while going as red as beetroot

another staff member that had just served me slipped out the rear of office and as i walked out saw him jotting down detail of the vehicle
i left to start setting up and noticed the other bloke go around to do like wise about 30 mts from me not long after a police van came past and went straight to him after a short consultation he was handcuffed and taken away

so it was evident that they have to deal with all sorts of characters honest and shonky and although i dont know whether legally they are permitted to collect our mdl's i also feel as if i'm being tared and feathered with the same brush and think it has been brewing for some time through people giving false names and addresses and/or driving vehicles that they dont own etc
we all have to live with rules that are created for the majority
AnswerID: 416894

Reply By: Mike DiD - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 14:47

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 14:47
When my new Credit Cards arrive I scratch the 3 digit security number off the card. Write them down in a secure location in a disguised form.

Otherwise when I give the card to the waiter to pay the bill, he can record these digits and then use my Credit Card to buy lots of things over the phone or Internet, because he now has the Security digits !!!
AnswerID: 416902

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 14:52

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 14:52
Now that's a good idea Mike. Thanks. I'll do my cards today.

FollowupID: 686993

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 13:02

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 13:02
Ditto Allan B...best tip I've heard for ages. Done here now.

Fred.
FollowupID: 687106

Reply By: Outnabout.. - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 17:09

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 17:09
Maybe I am stupid but I don't have a problem with the licence no. Just got back from Brisbane after buying a car up there. Stop in motels all the way back and never had to pay up front. All wanted photo ID and licence no. which I don't have a problem with. If they had just taken the rego no and I had disapeared into the night the previous owner would have got the visit from the police.
When I gave them the rego no. they didn't go out to check the car. The way I see it the photo ID and licence no. is the only way they know who you nreally are.
If you are worried about what they could do with the no then maybeyou are staying in the wrong places maybe.

If someone wants to steal my identity they are welcome to it as long as they take on all my bills as well.

Think we all need to lighten up and stop being paranoid,that we you may just get to enjoy your holiday.

AnswerID: 416915

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 20:16

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 20:16
I'm with you on this one David..... (especially the bit about them paying my bills for me if they steal my identity....hahaha)..

As a retired Banker, the one that REALLY makes me laugh is when someone says there is NO WAY they would ever give their bank account number to anybody!!!!! hahahahahaha..... DOH!!!! What on earth do they think is on the bottom of EVERY cheque they write out!!!! hahahaha....that one breaks me up every time.....
FollowupID: 687155

Reply By: Fatso - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 19:44

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 19:44
A lot of posts seem to take this subject as a bit of a joke.
Get involved as a victim of identity theft & you won't think it is a joke after that.
I know people who have been victims of identity theft & it is definitely no easy ride.
From something so simple as acquiring your D/L & address a person has enough to ultimately get a D/L, bank accounts & passport in your name. Even sell your house from under you. Remember even title deeds are electronic now.
If you haven't heard this before then you haven't been listening.
AnswerID: 416934

Reply By: Wherehegon - Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 19:47

Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 19:47
I know that Penrith RSL here in NSW ask for your licence, they put it through a scanner and they keep it on file, Im a member now anyway. If I'm ever signing into a club out of my area I never put my street name or number down who knows who is standing behind me thinking " we'll we know him and his wife arnt home lets pay the house a visit ??" I have been asked for my DL at parks before never really thought about where my details could end up, good post, I also love Mikes idea of deleting the 3 digit code on the back of the card, good one Mike. Regards Steve
AnswerID: 416936

Follow Up By: muzzgit - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 01:00

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 01:00
We stay at one particular caravan park 4 or 5 times a year and have been doing so for 5 years.

I've had a few beers with the owners at different times and I'm amazed at the stories they tell of what has been stolen, not just from the on site vans!

Caravans and camper trailers have been nicked, the caravan park lawn mower and even some gear from his shed.

FollowupID: 687067

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 09:18

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 09:18
Found this an interesting post as it prompted me to take a look at what the implications are.

And I post, in part, what I have read. Mind you the dilemma is that late at night, with little alternative accommodation, you are almost beholden to the caravan park in this instance.

In principal, I'd have no problem someone viewing my licence, similar to an airport check-in check. But I would want more information if they intend to collect and store the licence information.

Cheers, The Landy

The following is from Government Privacy Website.

Which businesses are covered by the Privacy Act?

Most private sector organisations are covered by the Privacy Act, unless they are a small business.

Generally, small businesses (businesses with an annual turnover of $3 million or less) are not covered by the Privacy Act, but there are some exceptions to this rule. For example, all health service providers are covered by the Privacy Act, regardless of their annual turnover.

For more information on coverage of, and exemptions to, the Privacy Act, see our Complaints section.

What do businesses that are covered by the Privacy Act have to do?

Businesses covered by the Privacy Act have to comply with the National Privacy Principles in the Privacy Act. Generally, this means they have to make sure you understand:

• the purpose for which they are collecting your personal information
• how they are going to use it
• who they are going to give it to
• how you can access and correct the information they hold about you.

They must also make sure that they collect your personal information in a fair and lawful way, and that the personal information they hold on you is accurate, up-to-date and secure.
AnswerID: 416982

Reply By: Nargun51 - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 13:09

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 13:09
If you don’t want to give your licence details, don’t give it to them!

They are offering a service on the basis of you providing sufficient details for you to be identified.

Just as there is no legal requirement for them to ask for these details, there is no legal obligation for them to accept your booking.

Move on to the next park!

My workplace has my Tax File Number, 3 bank account details, my address, my phone numbers, my licence details, a copy of my birth certificate, my superannuation details and details of my next of kin. The only thing they miss is my mother’s maiden name. The IT system has a record of my passwords over 5 years.

Hacking into workplace records would allow greater success of identity theft than just passing over my licence details.

How many employees here have all their details kept in an unlocked cabinet in the back of the office?

About 20 years ago, my sister was away for 4 weeks. During their trip their house was burgled. The house was emptied (even the washing machine!). To add to the indignity their trailer had been stolen to take the items away.

The police asked them who knew they were away and they started listing: Family, friends, work and people met through work, the kids’ school, school friends and their parents, sporting clubs, the neighbours who were keeping an eye on the house, the local newsagent (and by default the paper boy), the local post office and postie, the travel agent, the airline, the taxi that took them to the airport.

Some years later through a totally unrelated chain of events, I discovered the brother in law of their next door neighbour but one had a significant prison history for property theft. No proof that it was him; I didn’t tell my sister

The chances of a park in another state recording your address and relaying it to criminal associates in your state of origin is less than your neighbour telling a mate that the lucky expletive deleted next door is “on the wallaby” for a few months.
AnswerID: 417001

Reply By: Nigel Migraine - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 20:28

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 20:28
How do you all deal with the driving licence stuff when you
wish to test drive a vehicle you are considering purchasing?
They seem to have a tendency to wish to photocopy it? Do
you all refuse to buy?
AnswerID: 417053

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:14

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:14
Completely different situation which is not being discussed by the OP.

FollowupID: 687215