Cub Regal Off Road Annex Pole Container

Submitted: Monday, May 17, 2010 at 04:24
ThreadID: 78528 Views:4723 Replies:3 FollowUps:10
Team,
I would like to add a container on top to house the cub annex poles when in transit. I have seen various configurations using PVC pipe but didn't see how they were mounted.
As always, any advice is appreciated.

Hoges

Reply By: mylestom - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 08:43

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 08:43
Hoges,

Mine is the Cub Escape with the transcontinental pack, various places including the front drawbar, rear underneath and the also the rear of the rack.

Can't attach the photo, only a visitor to the site, however mine are fitted the rear underneath behind springs,also across the front drawbar, my toolbox and gas bottle were placed forward to allow for this, also had one on top but a problem when loading boat or canoe with my setup. Attached with a strip of Alumimun over both ends, Allow for the screw opening to be external to the camper for clearance for undoing.

Trev
AnswerID: 416977

Follow Up By: Hoges (SA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:20

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:20
Thanks trev
FollowupID: 687217

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, May 21, 2010 at 10:26

Friday, May 21, 2010 at 10:26
Hoges,

Ours is the 150mm pole carrier (option from CUB) attached to the back of the rack via two metal straps bolted to the c/t.

[img]
[/img]

Trev,

As a visitor you can post pics as long as you host them somewhere on the Internet e.g. photobucket.com and then use the "Insert Image" option on your post/reply.

FollowupID: 687613

Follow Up By: Hoges (SA) - Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 15:21

Sunday, May 23, 2010 at 15:21
Gramps,
Does that bracket go around the pipe and under the the bottom of the rack frame? We also have a triangle at each corner, does yours?

Hoges
FollowupID: 687886

Follow Up By: Gramps - Saturday, May 29, 2010 at 15:54

Saturday, May 29, 2010 at 15:54
Hoges,

The bracket/strap goes around the pipe and is bolted (tek screwed) onto the triangle at each corner. I'm thinking of adding some extra "attachment" hardware as I've heard of the existing arrangement attempting to part company with the c/t.

FollowupID: 688783

Follow Up By: Hoges (SA) - Saturday, May 29, 2010 at 18:48

Saturday, May 29, 2010 at 18:48
Thanks Gramps,
I was heading down the line of riverts?

FollowupID: 688807

Reply By: Wilko - Monday, May 17, 2010 at 19:50

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 19:50
Hi Hoges,

Ive got a Cub spacematic and Ive got a PVC tube on my frame.

One tip is to mount it towards the back of the camper so when you are setting up/packingup, you arent supporting the extra weight ( I moved mine).

Cheers Wilko

AnswerID: 417044

Follow Up By: Hoges (SA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:24

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:24
G'day Wilko,
Thanks, What diameter pipe was best suited to hold all the poles? Have you had any problems with the club. We are going to do a quick warm up trip then up the center for 5 weeks.
Hoges
FollowupID: 687218

Follow Up By: Wilko - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:32

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 10:32
Hi Hoges,

Mine is 90mm pipe. I have fibreglass poles in it as well. I use the fibreglass poles (hammered in on an angle) to keep the windows out acting like an awning.

No Major dramas with mine except the struts lost pressure but they were 10 years old

Cheers Wilko

FollowupID: 687219

Follow Up By: Hoges (SA) - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 11:10

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 11:10
Thanks again, and off to Bunnings I go
FollowupID: 687224

Reply By: Outbackogre - Friday, May 21, 2010 at 09:45

Friday, May 21, 2010 at 09:45
Hi Hoges, you might have your heart set on the PVC pipe, but I've tried to pack as much gear inside my 2009 Cub Supamatic as possible. I discovered that I could create an east-west channel just in behind the pantry using timber panels. This does several things: 1. provides a full width storage area for the poles that can be accessed from the kitchen hatch. 2. provides a full width storage area for fishing rods (above the poles in a separate compartment) also accessible from the kitchen hatch. 3. partitions the underbed area so gear doesn't move forward against the pantry. 4. provides additional support for the bed (one of the timber partitions supports the bed base). I could email you photos. Cheers.
AnswerID: 417516

Follow Up By: Hoges (SA) - Friday, May 21, 2010 at 15:45

Friday, May 21, 2010 at 15:45
Hi mate,
A look at the photos would be great. I think that the underbed design may have changed in the 2010 version as ours already has a separator between the pantry and storage area. The gap between the separator and pantry is only approx 50mm so not much of an area to add another piece of ply.
Hoges
FollowupID: 687632

Follow Up By: Outbackogre - Friday, May 21, 2010 at 16:25

Friday, May 21, 2010 at 16:25
Hoges, it sounds like they've left you with insufficient space to achieve what I've done (unless you modify it). I can email photos if you send you address. Cheers.
FollowupID: 687638