Existing duel battery setup right for my Kimberly trip

Submitted: Monday, May 17, 2010 at 22:49
ThreadID: 78555 Views:8238 Replies:4 FollowUps:12
This Thread has been Archived
Hi Guys,

I am new to duel battery world and I need some help. I bought a 98 Prado RV6 a few months ago and it came with a dual battery setup. I need some help to make sure it is ok for my trip to the kimberly in July :)

Current Setup:
- Century 68 as the starter battery
- Century N70ZZ as Aux battery
- A Solenoid (no switch) with a sticker saying "841151 - ingram corporation pty ltd"

Below is a rough diagram:
Alternator(+'ve) -> Starter(+'ve) -> Solenoid(+'ve) -> AUX(+'ve)
Starter(-'ve) -> Earth
AUX(-'ve) -> Earth
There is a small wire going from Solenoid to the fuse box (I assume to use ignition power)

- I have just bought a 120 Watt Solar panel (not connected yet)
- The only electrics I want to run off the Aux is my 80L Compressor Fridge/Freezer @ ~3.5 Amps
- I plan to camp for roughly 5-7 days in each spot with no power

Does anyone know anything about how my solenoid works? If I run power from my Aux directly to my Freezer is my starter battery protected automatically?

Are my batteries any good for running the Freezer with a solar recharging everyday?

Any recommendations on what I should change if anything? (I think I need a Deep Cycle battery and a redarc smart start prehaps)

Cheers
Matt
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, May 17, 2010 at 23:50

Monday, May 17, 2010 at 23:50
Matt,
The N70ZZ is a cranking battery and not a Deep Cycle battery, I believe you will find it can be used short term, but for long term power draining a Deep Cycle battery will perform more efficiently running a freezer, an AGM DC battery is even better, as it will charge much faster with solar power.

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 417089

Follow Up By: matt.d - Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 00:10

Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 00:10
Thanks Mainey,