carpet for drawers

Submitted: Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 10:36
ThreadID: 78606 Views:2673 Replies:11 FollowUps:2
hi guys
where do you buy the carpet for drawers went to a motor trimmer and he quoted $69 a metre Can anyone suggest cheaper alternatives.

Reply By: pmk03 - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 10:45

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 10:45
I got mine from Clark Rubber. I can't remember how much it cost but I doubt I would have paid that much for it. Might be worth a look,
PMK
AnswerID: 417354

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 10:50

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 10:50
You are best to use marine carpet. It's super durable, comes in heaps of colours & is easy to work with. Doesn't seem to absorb odours either.
You can get it at a variety of places.
$69/m sounds pretty close to the mark from memory.
If you have a Clark Rubber down there you could try them. Maybe BCF or Whitworths. Even a floor coverings shop.
You can glue it down with liquid nails type adhesives & staples if gluing to wood.
I have used a Sikaflex to glue it to aluminium, but that was a flat surface.
Just put a thin bead all around the edges & a criss cross pattern over the rest. Maybe a bit extra where it might get pulled.
AnswerID: 417355

Reply By: Member - Ditmar S (TAS) - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 10:53

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 10:53
Humff,
If you are in the south of the state try Foamland in Hobart, definetely worth a look
AnswerID: 417356

Follow Up By: Member - Don & Kathie M (TAS) - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 11:27

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 11:27
Yes. They are very helpful.
FollowupID: 687454

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 15:18

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 15:18
Got ours from there.
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 687479

Reply By: chris_s - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 11:13

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 11:13
Bunnings sells marine carpet. You don't get the colour range, but it is much cheaper.
AnswerID: 417360

Reply By: Member - Paul & Bill M (SA) - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 11:31

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 11:31
bunnings
AnswerID: 417366

Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 12:13

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 12:13
Hey Humff,
I got mine carpet from the skip bin at the back of a carpet shop.
May not be the best but it was cheap and I can change colours whenever I feel like it.

AnswerID: 417372

Reply By: jeep cherokee - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 14:07

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 14:07
Bunnings for me too.
AnswerID: 417383

Reply By: Muntoo - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 16:38

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 16:38
Or if the marine carpet is too much, try speaker box carpet. Sometimes called P.A carpet, speaker carpet, subwoofer carpet etc. I get mine from Ebay and pay about $20 for 2 metres or so. Easy to work with but i dont think it would be as durable as marine carpet.
AnswerID: 417394

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 19:37

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 19:37
$30 something a metre at bunnings. Th rolls are 2m wide, so 3 sqm for your money.

AnswerID: 417420

Reply By: Adey - Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 20:35

Thursday, May 20, 2010 at 20:35
Whitworths Marine Suppliers

http://www.whitworths.com.au/
AnswerID: 417438

Reply By: turbopete - Friday, May 21, 2010 at 07:50

Friday, May 21, 2010 at 07:50
Hi..do you think that marine carpet would be a good insulator for the interior roof of a camper van Peter
AnswerID: 417490