Anyone heading to South Lake Eyre late June?

Hi everyone,

We'll be heading off to South Lake Eyre from the Central Coast via Broken Hill, Peterborough and Maree around the last week in June - just wondered if anyone else will be travelling this way at that time? It would be interesting to meet up with others along the way. On this short trip to Lake Eyre (10-14 days), Andrew and I will travelling in the 100 series V8 LC, and camping with the Oztent and the dog, our gentle Rhodesian Ridgeback girl. We've checked along the way for dog friendly camping spots and it seems most places are OK about dogs. Any feedback on this (and anything else!) would be appreciated too. :o)

I'm a keen amateur photographer so I can't wait to take 100's of photos along the way and I am aching to get 'out there' in the outback again! This time last year, I was crossing this great country of ours, with my old friend, Annie, in her trusty 80 series LC! We started from Tom Price in the Pilbara, then across the Red Centre to Rockhampton in Queensland! An absolutely fantastic trip and one I hope to repeat with my husband AND spend much longer in some places! It's true what they say, once you've been out there, the red dust gets into your blood! I love it!

Cheers,
Anne-Marie

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:28

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:28
Hi AnneMarie

A mate and I are heading out that way from Brisbane on the 14th June, via Birdsville, bush camping most of the way, mainly just a recon for a bigger trip later in the year.

Have been following the forum re Lake Eyre area, still seems to be a bit wet damp out that way, roads also a mystery.

Say g'day if you see us, we'll be in an old white GQ with a roof top tent.

Cheers

AnswerID: 419074

Follow Up By: AnneMarie - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:40

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:40
Hi Lotzi,