coleman hot water

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 09:26
ThreadID: 78957 Views:5052 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
hi all
just noticed on my coleman hot water on demand device that even though the rechargable on board battery is 6 volt the 240v and the car charger are 12v

"Please explain"

Reply By: Goldfind (Dunsborough) - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 09:45

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 09:45
Humff,
I just returned from a trip and my Coleman would not work, so perhaps there is something in your query re 6 volt and 12 volt. I had mine on charge for a few days prior to leaving. I finished up going into town and bought a $30.00 kit that has a pump and shower rose and works equally as well as the coleman ever did. I have sent the coleman to the corner of the shed and it can stay there, hope you have more luck than I did
AnswerID: 419066

Follow Up By: oz doc - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 09:49

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 09:49
Hi Goldfind, what was the brand of the pump you just bought and where did you get it from? How bulky is it? ta. doc.
FollowupID: 689211

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:25

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:25
go to local battery world and get a replacement battery. they are like $30 approx, dick smith have them as well, but don't know how long they sit on the self for.

FollowupID: 689217

Reply By: Goldfind (Dunsborough) - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:05

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:05
OzDoc,

The brand is Primus Camp Shower $29.95 at any main stream camping store. We bought ours at a large camp shop behind Woolies in Kalgoorlie (Hay st I believe). We have a shower rose adjustable stand to take the rose and you just heat a bucket of water up and connect to a 12 volt battery. There is an adjustment on the shower rose to adjust water flow and a rubber coated on off switch that hangs near the shower rose.
very simple and works a treat
AnswerID: 419069

Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:07

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 10:07
The nominal voltage of your 6V battery will be nearly 7V when fully charged, so in order to achieve this they use 12V input. Not the best, but its cheap and seems to work.
AnswerID: 419070

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 12:02

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 12:02
Have a look at the 240v charger that came with the Coleman , you'l see that it is actually a stepdown transformer much the same as your moblle phone charger , Same deal with the 12v car adaptor ,,, the battery is a 6v AGM .
AnswerID: 419086

Reply By: Rangiephil - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 13:10

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 13:10
I finished up going into town and bought a $30.00 kit that has a pump and shower rose and works equally as well as the coleman ever did.

I bought a cheap 12v shower similar to the Primus, and after the first use the motor seized . I found the motor full of water as the seal had failed. Emptied it out and wd40d it, but never the same. So recently I bought a "Whale" submersible pump from caravan warehouse for $49 . I am now pretty confident that the Whale will be well sealed . It fits all the other bits of the shower perfectly and I have connected the wiring to the foot switch.
I suggest you unscrew the top seal of the Primus pump after use , and tip it to ascertain if there is any water in it and leave it open.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 419098

Reply By: Member - Bill K (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 15:15

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 15:15
We had the same problem. Found that the large control knob was being depressed during transit inside the coleman transport bag.
Removed the lid of a spray can lid (WD40) I think and placrd over the knob so it could not be depressed in transit and have not had a problem since (18 Mths)
AnswerID: 419118

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 15:28

Tuesday, Jun 01, 2010 at 15:28
To answer the OP, check out this recent thread: Coleman HWOD charging voltage

The internals of the HWOD must have a bridge rectifier or similiar setup as the 240V adapter outputs 12VAC. Someone may have taken one apart and may have more knowledge. In any case it just seems to work adequately with my battery more than 5 years old and still going strong even with heaps of neglect (charging/maintenance etc)

Hope that helps.

AnswerID: 419120

Reply By: Mattykarle - Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 07:49

Thursday, Jun 03, 2010 at 07:49
We've just purchased a Coleman HWOD - have used it around the yard but 1st camping trip is in a couple of weeks time. Got it on BCF special for $299 (club member price).
After some reading on the net I went down to the local 'Positive Batteries' shop on the weekend and enquiried about batteries for these units. They had a heap of em. The one I got was a Ritar, which is rated to 5amp/hr (the coleman is 4.5hr) and the cost was $19.50. I also picked up a Powertech 240 volt charger for the battery. We now have 2 x fully charged batteries for trips away, and we also have the ability to charge off 240 volt both batteries at the same time (rather than having to do one after the other) by using the charger in the HWOD and using the new charger for the 2nd battery.
I've also noticed, that the compartment where the 12 volt chord is stored on the HWOD is the same size as the compartment on the other side where the battery is housed. I reckon you could connect the 2nd battery in this compartment and give you twice as long run time. Then you could just plug in the HWOD when you get home and both batteries would charge at once (all beit a bit slower) and I wouldn't need the 2nd charger.
Given its brand new (like 2 weeks old) i'll leave that kind of tinkering for another day.
ciao for now.
AnswerID: 419342