Cost of aluminium checkerplate toolbox

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 16:31
ThreadID: 79114 Views:4076 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
Hi everyone

On the side of our Trak Shak at the moment we have an aluminium checkerplate toolbox that is the size of three 20L jerry cans and sits where the jerry cans usually are.

This leaves room for 6 more jerry cans (water and/or fuel), which is more than enough for us on most of our trips, but on the longer, remoter trips it would be nice to have the option to carry another jerry can or two.

So I got thinking and thought one option (apart from not using the toolbox) would be to have another toolbox made up (I haven't seen any off the shelf unfortunately) that is the size of two jerry cans (or perhaps even one jerry can), and then it will fit beside the jerry can/s on the trailer.

Would anyone have a (very rough) estimate of what I might be looking at to have something like this made up?

I'm guessing it would most likely be a bit pricey (particularly when you see the cost of off the shelf toolboxes) and therefore probably not feasible. But with 7 of us in the Trak Shak, every little bit of space we can get for storage is worth considering.

Reply By: skylion - Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 16:41

Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 16:41
G'day Ian, If you are anywhere near Brisbane check out the Tong Box. Made by Tong in Brisbane to order and have specific sizes available at a decent price. Bought a few for the work utes recently.
J
AnswerID: 419792

Reply By: gbc - Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 17:37

Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 17:37
We've modified ours a bit.

Perhaps add a water tank and pressure pump to the underside of the trailer thus negating three jerry cans of water?

The front RHS corner of ours has been turned into a full time locker, carrying the battery, brake controller and pressure pump, and has heaps of room for more stuff. A door was welded to the trailer and seals on a rubber strip.
AnswerID: 419805

Reply By: Rangiephil - Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 17:50

Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 17:50
I had a toolbox made for my Campomatic to replace 1x gas cylinder.
It was about the size you said but has a taper on the front to match the stone guard.
It is a thing of beauty with a raised lid so that it is almost completely rain proof.
It cost about $500, so unless you cannot in any way use a standard I would avoid custom builds.
Regard sPhilip A
AnswerID: 419808

Reply By: portlester - Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 21:33

Sunday, Jun 06, 2010 at 21:33
Thanks guys for your info.

I thought my idea woul be a bit pricey and may outweigh any advantages, so could be worth thinking of some other options.

AnswerID: 419849