Cast Iron Camp Oven

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 21:46
ThreadID: 79317 Views:9110 Replies:11 FollowUps:3
Hey guys we are trying to stock up on a few things before our trip next year to the simpson.. I am hunting around for a good cheap Cast Iron Camp oven. We have 7 in our faily, so it needs to be one of the bigger ones.. Does any one have any idea on where I can find a good decent one at te "right" price?
Cheers...

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 22:06

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 22:06
Most decent camping stores have them. Interesting thing is that I was in Ranger Camping (WA Store) yesterday and the owner said that camp ovens are starting to become hard to get. He had no idea why. Chinese imports are around the$30-40 mark a Furphy is around the $80+ mark for the same thing and about 2 kg heavier for the same capacity oven.

AnswerID: 420694

Follow Up By: Peter Horne [Krakka] - Saturday, Jul 10, 2010 at 00:23

Saturday, Jul 10, 2010 at 00:23
The Furphy is also a chinese import these days, also for a family of seven you are going to have to spend a few more dollars than that, although 2 X 40 dollar ovens would work for around $80.00
FollowupID: 693990

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 22:08

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 22:08
While cast iron ones have worked well for me in the past I've upgraded to the spun steel Hillbilly campoven. Much lighter, lid can be used as a frypan, dont crack, easier to pack & cook as well as the cast one's.
If your heart is set on cast iron Furhpy's have a complete range but are not cheap. Best prices are normally had at the disposal stores.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 420695

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 12:33

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 12:33
Ditto Crackles. Had many cast iron ones. I eventually got a hillbilly. 2/3 lighter and you can get nice big ones to fit the veggies unlike most cast iron ones, and as you say use it for other things.

You would think they aren't as good as cast iron but they are brilliant.

All their stuff is very well designed and practical. Love their big frypan and fire pole too.
FollowupID: 690941

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 13:20

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 13:20
Yep, times three for the Hillbilly.
They are not brittle like a cast iron oven and much lighter too.

A cheaper option is a Bedourie Camp Oven which is also made of spun steel, but I prefer the versatility of the Hillbilly.

Bill.

FollowupID: 690945

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 22:33

Sunday, Jun 13, 2010 at 22:33
I use a 12" cast Aluminium Camp Oven when weight is a consideration and I have larger Cast Iron ones if cooking for a larger number of people.
The heat is much easier to control in the cast ones.
I don`t know where you can buy the Aluminium one, Freedom Camping did have them years ago but not now I think.

Scrubby.
AnswerID: 420699

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 08:14

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 08:14
Aluminium Camp ovens.
uAluminium camp ovens
Expensive but look good
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 420721

Reply By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 09:00

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 09:00
I bought a 12 quart from a disposals store for about $50 years ago, it has been great. I once cooked a stew for 20 in it, mostly it does a fantastic job of feeding 4-5 a roast piece of meat with veggies. Bags are harder to find for this size of oven.
I have cooked with spun steel ovens but I find the heat harder to manage. People more skilled than me probably have less problem with that, I have found the cast oven pretty easy in that respect.

MadCowz
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 420727

Reply By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 09:26

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 09:26
We like the Bedourie- it's light, works well and you can use the lid as a frying pan. Put a trivet in the bottom if you're cooking roast.

You can buy them from camping shops (I know that Down Under camping stock them) or from the source at http://www.southern-metal-spinners.com.au/ . They make another product that might better suit your needs called the Aussie Camp oven- this comes in up to 15" size (the Bedourie stops at 12").

I'm not sure what the 'right' price is, but can vouch that these are excellent quality and last a very, very long time.
AnswerID: 420731

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 09:42

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 09:42
I agree with crakles, the ones from hill billy are great. We had a heap of cast iron ovens and got rid of them for our trip and used the hill billy oven and fry pans. The other thing I like about the hill billy set it you can cook with a much smaller fire and less coals so if fire wood is hard to find it doesn't use as much. We have cooked a full roast with only a few heat beads on the lid. they are quite large as well. You can also get a gas ring for it as well if fire wood is unavailable. No affiliation just really impressed with the product.

Josh
AnswerID: 420732

Reply By: john&thejayco - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 14:26

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 14:26
G'day,
we use the 10 inch Bedourie camp oven made of spun steel from southern metal spinners, they're lighter than cast and as tough as nails, they make a 12 inch one that would probably hold enough tucker for all the family, as others have mentioned the hillbilly spun steel camp ovens are good value too.With the spun steel ones you save on the extra weight and they are tough .the hillbilly ones also have extras you can add on such as vege rings and trivets for cooking different things.As far as i know some of the "Great Outdoors " stores carry some pretty large camp ovens, Aussie and Chinese made. Hope this helps.
John.
AnswerID: 420761

Reply By: Roughit Instyle - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 14:53

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 14:53
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The For Sale/Wanted to Buy Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 420765

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 19:18

Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 19:18

We got ours in Big W last year.
Good quality and cheaper than some of the other places, BCF etc.

Dennis

AnswerID: 420801

Reply By: becboo68 - Friday, Jul 09, 2010 at 20:58

Friday, Jul 09, 2010 at 20:58
I have a spinifex cast iron camp oven from Anaconda. Fantastic!!! I have always cooked in station camp ovens when i cooked in camps but never owned my own. I think they are the best thing ever. I recently cooked for 6 of us every night using my one and had room to spare. 2 people were big guys who eat heaps! I cooked everything from a stew to a roast with ease. Definitely worth it as there is less washing up as well!
AnswerID: 423512