heavy jerrycans (jerricans)

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 17:12
ThreadID: 79760 Views:3783 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Has anyone seen a solution to the problem a small framed person (or child) has in lifting a full Jerrycan (20kg's) from the ground up and into the Jerrycan holder on their 4WD or Trailer?

Reply By: Member - John G- Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 17:21

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 17:21
G'day

Not trying to be a clever dick, but they can be filled in situ on the vehicle either at a servo for fuel, or with a hose for water, or with a smaller container and funnel. But . . .doesn't solve the problem of lifting them out.

Less attractive idea is to use 10 Litre jerry cans.

AnswerID: 422605

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 17:30

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 17:30
Just be aware that if you take the previous reply & fill up insitu you must be standing on the ground OR have an earth strap from your vehicle to ground. Static electricity!!!
Mike.
AnswerID: 422607

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 19:18

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 19:18
Some servos insist that the container be on the ground when filling.
FollowupID: 692994

Follow Up By: mechpete - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 19:28

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 19:28
A lot of servos will not let you fill them on the roof rack . have been stopped a number of times , you don,t have to get them down of the roof to refuel ,
what I do is use a long jiggler hose and you only have to stand it up . Other wise what you can do is lay them on their back with the cap up an if you put 18lts in them you don,t have to move them at all , been doing that for years
mechpete
FollowupID: 692997

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 19:47

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 19:47
For an earth strap i fill up at petrol stations especially on the back of my ute, i touch the plastic drum with my hand and my i earth container with my body. Or carry a jumper lead close by and attach to ute tray and drop the other end on ground.
FollowupID: 693002

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 17:37

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 17:37
Hi there. I have been forced to 'watch my back' for a while now, and one trick I use constantly is to use the roof rack to assist lifting. Even a roof bar would do just fine. A long length of rope tied to the jerry can, over the roof bar and down again creates a simple 'pulley' allowing the weight to be taken gently. If you are really sore, then a plank can be used as well: the Engel into the back of the 4WD for example. Same trick with the rope, but have the Engel on the bottom of the plank, take up the slack in the rope, work the Engel up the plank unit it reaches the vehicle, taking up the slack in the rope as you go. The result is slow, but you never have to carry the actual weight of the load.
I have used the same principle for the spares, and also have used a rope off the roof rack when refuelling the tank from a jerry can, when I have not wanted to hold 30kg at arms length for ten minutes while I marinate my body with ULP!!!!
Does this make any sense, or are pictures needed??
AnswerID: 422608

Reply By: CUTMorrow - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 18:11

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 18:11
Thanks guys, 1. Fill at the servo is fine, but ten follows the lift down and back up again (still very heavy) and take your point on earthing.
2. Think I like the rope idea! Could use 10 litre containers, but only one fits in the standard jerrican holder. again thanks.
AnswerID: 422612

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 18:11

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 18:11
Fill them in their holders and empty them with a Tanami pump.

AnswerID: 422613

Follow Up By: chris_s - Thursday, Jul 01, 2010 at 07:21

Thursday, Jul 01, 2010 at 07:21
These pumps use your air compressor to empty jerrycans. They are made specifically for a variety of gerrycans (both the plastic and metal ones)
Available from here:
http://www.4x4equip.com.au/showProduct/4x4+Accessories/Fuel+and+Water+Transfer+Pumps/TS-Pilbara+D
FollowupID: 693035

Reply By: Member - Neil G (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 18:59

Wednesday, Jun 30, 2010 at 18:59
One solution you might think about, especially if you plan lots of trips and travelling in the future would be to fit a second fuel tank to you vehicle making it into a long range machine. This would enable you to just use your jerry can holders for water and you could both fill and empty them on the vehicle or trailer.
Worth thinking about as those jerry cans only get heavier as you get older!!
Neil
AnswerID: 422620