Nissan Patrol - how's this for a deal?

Submitted: Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 16:42
ThreadID: 79796 Views:6149 Replies:13 FollowUps:20

Related Pages

We know a bloke who is a trusted car dealer (yes, an oxymoron I know! ha ha) and he has found one of these that hasn't hit the car dealers yet (he's a whole saler)
Does this sound like a good deal? It's a:

Nissan Patrol ST-S, GUIV, 2005, 95,000km, 3.0 litre, white

Many extras, pretty much all ARB gear (and these are the ones that were noted quickly on first inspection, so there might be a few more):

ARB Bullbar, with inbuilt lights, Warn winch (with remote)
Aerials mounted on the bull bar
Dual battery
Scrub bars & side steps
Factory snorkel
Lift kit (beefed up suspension)
ARB Touring canvas awning
Cargo roof racks
Cargo barrier
Towpack
ARB highlift jack
UHF CB radio
Lockers (diff)
Full rubber liners throughout
Slide out storage drawers (custom box rollers)
Rear seats included, but wrapped in plastic never used (the 2 jump seats in the back for the shorties...)
Alloys
New tyres
It's in really good condition, rigged up for a big trip, but trip not done, no indication of rust, heavy use, offroading or anything.

$36,500

I'd love to know what you guys think of this one!

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:32

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:32
It is a nissan grenade - might be worth it if the dealer paid you $36,500 to take it.

Sorry buying a 3.0 l nissan would be just too much worry - always wondering when the engine is going to implode.

Garry
AnswerID: 422793

Follow Up By: jmandea - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:44

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:44
I thought that was a problem with the earlier models, not the post 2002 jobs?
FollowupID: 693198

Follow Up By: Nutta - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:58

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:58
Garrycol is the 4wd drive GURU obviously, they're all Junkers!
Thanks for your wise input garry, it's people like you that cause me to drink.

Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 693201

Follow Up By: jmandea - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:10

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:10
I've been doing some research for a while now and was thinking this model was a safe one, but clearly I need to do some more (and maybe have a drink too! What a good idea!)
Erica
FollowupID: 693203

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:28

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:28
Still a common problem up to and including 2005.Havent heard of any after this but for me, the risk would be to great.
FollowupID: 693206

Follow Up By: Gossy - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:28

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:28
correct. This model is good to go; all problems fixed.
FollowupID: 693207

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 20:19

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 20:19
Run far, run fast.
FollowupID: 693220

Follow Up By: blue one - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 18:07

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 18:07
A bloke at work had his 07 go at 140k. 4th pot BOOM

FollowupID: 693321

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:51

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:51
If you ask on his forum http://www.patrol4x4.com you might get a better idea
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 422796

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:53

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:53
Insert link never seems to work http://www.patrol4x4.com.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 693199

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:51

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 17:51
I'd say the previous owner was getting rid of it at about the right time!

AnswerID: 422797

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:25

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:25
A friend of mine just traded a 2005 with 135,000km, excellent condition with lots of extras. got $23,000 trade value.

Wanted to get rid of it before it want bang.

Bruce
FollowupID: 693204

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:39

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 18:39
Sounds like a lot of money to me for a 3.0 litre despite the extras. IMHO..
AnswerID: 422803

Reply By: Rosco24 - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 20:06

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 20:06
I know a bloke whose mate knows a mechanic whose friend said that they all blow up - that's why you never see any on the road. No other make ever has problems.
Really, paranoia and heresay are powerful persuaders - just watch TDT.
Read the results of the large survey undertaken at patrol4x4.com. Part of the result summary : "But from late 2002-2003 the failures were almost non-existent. Yes there were failures but they did not fit the profile. I am confident that the original problem is gone, yes they still have their problems but no more so than other makes. BUT unfortunately for Nissan mud sticks."
Sounds to me like a great low km vehicle kitted up and ready to go - sight unseen of course.
AnswerID: 422812

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 10:32

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 10:32
"I know a bloke...... whose mate..... knows a mechanic...... whose friend said"............ROTFL....don't you just love it!

FollowupID: 693256

Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 20:11

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 20:11
Ring up a dealer describe the above vehicle and get an estimate of what he would give you for a trade. The 05 where better then the series 11 but some still go bang arround 180000ks. BUT it is preventable eg blocking EGR, catch can etc.All this info will be available on the Patrol forum. If it was a 4.2 it would be a bargain, but a 3lt mmmmm seems a bit dear to me, but you have seen it, not me.
Service history will be more importent then extras.
Good luck , let us know how you get on.
AnswerID: 422813

Reply By: jmandea - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 21:20

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 21:20
Thanks for the advice team; certainly I can see that a decent test drive, scrutiny of the log books and crossed fingers will be necessary!
AnswerID: 422826

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 21:54

Friday, Jul 02, 2010 at 21:54
Without commenting on the pros and cons of the 3lt Nissan I would be cautious about buying a vehicle with that list of extras.

From personal experience nobody puts all that gear on the 4x4 just to pick the kids up from school. It would seem that it is a one owner vehicle and the set up started when it was new, rear seats wrapped in plastic and never used.

My GQ came with a similar list and it was a great car. I bought it with 215k on the clock and it went pretty well. I did a few minor repairs, to things like the compressor, battery isolator and CB but the car itself seemed pretty good, for a while.

But when it strated to brake it was interesting what failed. The two that caused me most concern and lead to its sale were;

1, a front brake calliper fell off. The thread in the axle housing where the calliper mounting bracket bolts on stripped.

2. the drag link, steering linkeage, ball joint stripped and I lost steering.

Speaking with a trusted friend who is a motor mechanic he suggested that the car had worked very hard off road. These are things that almost never fail and two went on the one vehicle. They had obviously been stressed repeatedly as the vehicle was worked hard frequently.

There was very little to indicate that the vehicle had worked hard. No body damage, no rust, the third row seat wrapped in plastic and had not been used. Sound familiar.

So whether or not the 3lt is a risk or not I think any vehicle with that list of extras is of dubious value, no matter what make or model it is.

Well that's my thoughts anyway.

AnswerID: 422830

Follow Up By: jmandea - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 08:19

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 08:19
Thanks Duncs, that is certainly something to consider. Word from our mate who is selling it is that it hasn't done any hard work, but we'll be scrutinising that independantly; have to say that worries me too.

I saw that the Redbook value is lower and I'm trying to ascertain if the value of having all the "toys" (ahem, very important and essential tools...) included makes this a good deal or not.

e
FollowupID: 693245

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 10:36

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 10:36
Ecellent advice....worth listening to.
FollowupID: 693258

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 08:51

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 08:51
A Trusted Car Dealer Its the right day for Funnies anyway
I had a 2003 that was supposed to be OK For other reasons I sold it but after reading all the troubles would have changed it anyway.

Have seen on here and other forums that later models were still detonating.

The Patrol Forum will at least give you indications of preventitive measures to take to hopefully stop it happening

AnswerID: 422856

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 09:17

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 09:17
Just a thought but is it an Auto or a manual.

An auto can only tow 2500kg and with all that gear on it plus the ball weight you will have to drive it by remote control LOL

Also they have decreasing load allowance depending on the ball weight or decreasing ball weights depending on loads.

A Cruiser can tow 3420kg at its full loaded weight (including ball weight of course).

FollowupID: 693253

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 09:25

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 09:25
Another thoughtwell its cold head running slower.

Look underneath it for bashes and scrapes.

A neighbour traded his Kia for a Cruiser and it looked OK

Slid underneath and it was a different story sump dented. Lots of scrapes where it had hit rocks etc Ended up he found out it had rolled and up to now has replaced transfer box, Recon engine, aircon, power window controls, heater,diesel pump.

Was a nice looking car a 98 model that had reputedly not had a hard life according to the nice dealer Only had 185,000 (supposedly)on it and needed all that. He was told it had been in a shed for several years HMMMMM

Buyer Beware.

FollowupID: 693255

Reply By: OREJAP - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 08:58

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 08:58
A mate just traded a 3 ltr Pootrol 2002 ST 5 speed totally immaculate with 137,000km on the clock. Only extras left on it was the snorkel & tow pack. I do not know what he got for a trade in but dealer has $32,990 on it. The Nissan Pootrol owners seem to think if the vehicle has the larger sump fitted (more oil) then basically that is all that was required to fix the self destruct situation. Easy conclusion to arrive at. Look at the price that model is on Red Book add the extras on & there is a reasonable guide for example if the draw/storage system is a well known brand like Black Widow or Outback there's a $1,000. ARB Deluxe bar $2200. Air lockers another $2,000. Winch $2,000 The average motorist travels approx 20,000km per year so the mileage seems about right. If you like it buy it. It's only money & you have a vehicle that will go everywhere. Good Luck
AnswerID: 422857

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 15:55

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 15:55
Just an aside My 2003 was supposed to be the model that had the "shorter dipstick" that upped the oil from 8. something to 10 litres to "fix" the problem.

Interestingly it took less than 9 litres when I did an oil change so Was it "fixed"

I dont think so.

From what has been posted on the Patrol Forum a lot of the problem was dirty MAF sensors overfueling the motor and causing it to overheat and burn pistons

Another theory was lack of oil galleries in certain parts of the motor causing the same.

Im glad I sold mine and have had no trouble, not even a puncture in its successor.

FollowupID: 693304

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 16:59

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 16:59
For the record, your engine would have had the larger capacity from the fatory, as does mine (a 2002). The capacity is 8.2L. The earlier ones only had 5L or so standard.

FWIW I clean my MAF at every oil change, a 5 minute job as the oil drains.

OBT
FollowupID: 693313

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 09:51

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 09:51
Looks llike it is a good vehicle. Extra's are worth a lot of $$ probably around $15K without mentioning the running around. I'd take the red book on a standard vehicle, value the extra's at $7K and you would be around the money I reckon.

Then fit a boost and pyro, Tranny temp gauge too if it's an Auto.

OBT
AnswerID: 422869

Reply By: jmandea - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 14:02

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 14:02
Update: checked it out and drove it today. It has old man Emu shocks, ARB everything, drawers are black widows, it has air brakes, turbo timer, pretty much everything I want except for a satnav system, but I have a mate who can hook me up with one of those. The ex owner, who sold it on to a dealer (trade in) who then shifted it to the wholesaler (who is our mate) gave us a good run down of it's use and the condition of the vehicle certainly gives testimony to his words (not that he would need to make anything up, he'd already sold it and was happy to chat for ages). He used it to tow a trailer and a caravan and it did one WA trip where he did some desert country, but no beach or rocks or anything like that. He had one problem where he blew out something electrical by jump starting it with dodgy leads, but that was all replaced. He said he only traded it in to get a smaller car for wife and the obligatory V8 ute for himself (he's a tradie).
Having had a few Disco's I know the pain of having expensive and cataclysmic breakdowns - 5 times the Disco went home on the back of the tow truck (I love RACV; there's money well spent!) so I very much appreciate the advice and opinions here!
AnswerID: 422885

Follow Up By: jmandea - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 14:19

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 14:19
It's a manual too, I should have mentioned.
FollowupID: 693286

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 17:05

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 17:05
You may hear of 5th gear failures but they do not affect this vintage and were not limited to the 3L. Clutch can be a weak point I'm told but don't know much about that.

OBT
FollowupID: 693315

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 19:17

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 19:17
OBT, correct re 5th gear this one is way too new for this problem (at least the common problem, suppose anything is possible in a cruel world). In reference to the clutch and flywheel, isn't this a dual mass jobbie costing about 3 grand to replace? with 95,000km and towing k's at that, I reckon this would be something serious to consider and investigate before buying.

Cheers and good luck to the punter (my opinion only of course) looking to buy. A vehicle with these mods HAS!!! been used, regardless of who owned it/sold it or is selling it. No one goes to this trouble without "having a go".

Trevor.

FollowupID: 693332

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 21:09

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 21:09
"use" is impossable to hide without covering it up which is easily spotted

mud throughout chasis rails, flogged bump stops, dents and scrapes underneath and on the body, rattles and niggles, vague steering fromm flogged steering joints
FollowupID: 693341