Toyota Workmate Wagon

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 13:40
ThreadID: 80210 Views:3836 Replies:4 FollowUps:11
Just joined this very impressive website and was hoping for some help.

I've decided on the Toyota Landcruiser Workmate Wagon for my next 20 year keeper.

I'm in Perth and was hoping that anyone who has the above vehicle (or GXL) might be kind enough to give me 30 minutes of their time to show me over their vehicle??

I've only seen them in the flesh but was hoping for a bit more before I pull the trigger on the vehicle.

It will be leased through work but at the end I do plan to purchase the vehicle as the residual is so small.

For those that have the Workmate, does $63500 with AC sound reaonable as a drive away price? Please excuse me in advance if I keep dealership details confidential as I don't want to put that on a public forum.

Thanks for any help,
Safe motoring....
Tony

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 14:56

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 14:56
Hi Tony and welcome,
Shop around interstate and get the price sent on paper, then you can haggle better locally. If the local boys won't do better buy it elsewhere and run it in on the way home (good excuse for a holiday)

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 424751

Follow Up By: Tony_ - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 15:53

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 15:53
Thanks Dave for the reply.....I did think about getting some quotes interstate.

I think Tasmania has the least amount of $$ on top of retail prices.
From memory, about $1600 less on this vehicle

I wonder if there are any fees when brought back to WA?

Obviously I will need to get WA plates.

Thanks for the heads up....

Tony.
FollowupID: 695214

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 16:17

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 16:17
I have registered vehicles interstate. For a new vehicle it will be easy just take the paperwork to your local transport place and pay for the rego, they should give you the plates. Go to Tassie or where ever and take the plates with you, put them on and drive home. A new vehicle that has never been registered should not have to be inspected by the transport authority before rego is issued (otherwise how do dealers have plates for weekends etc).

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 695218

Follow Up By: Tony_ - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 18:11

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 18:11
Dave.....thanks for the advice. Learning plenty here !

Tony.
FollowupID: 695228

Reply By: HK - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 17:12

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 17:12
Hi there seems a bit high as paid close to that for the GXL in Feb there was a small increase in prices this year
AnswerID: 424762

Follow Up By: Tony_ - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 18:10

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 18:10
Feel free to PM if you wish to share details.......hint, hint.
Useful information, thanks heaps.

Tony.
FollowupID: 695227

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 19:40

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2010 at 19:40
Sorry Tony but only members can exchange pms.
Welcome to the site.
FollowupID: 695248

Reply By: Ino - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:44

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:44
If they won't budge on the price much - spec it up to the hilt.

Get a bullbar in that price, and ask them to give your original bullbar back, in mint condition.
Get a towbar (specify you want the 3.5t one - to be sure)
Get the diesel tanks filled to the brim. Bonus if you can get another 180l out of them.
Get them to throw in the workshop manual (it's a CD worth ~$170)

Ino

PS: I know it's a wagon - and it only has one tank - but my dealer said "oh, and we're going to fill your tanks too" and I said "so that's 180l of diesel" and he said yes. And I said - "ok - can you write that down as 180l, thanks". He did, and then I said - "you are aware that the wagon only has 1 90l tank, aren't you?". He was going to modify that down to 90, but I said "I'll have 2 fills, thanks!" :)
AnswerID: 424872

Follow Up By: Ino - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:47

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:47
I meant - give your original bumper bar back.

The point to that being that whilst it will take a little bit of space, sell the bastard over eBay - and make a quid or two.

Free money. :)

Ino
FollowupID: 695318

Follow Up By: Tony_ - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 13:18

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 13:18
Ino,

Thanks for the information.

I'll have to do some arm twisting for sure.

So many of these model of vehicles are going to the mines here in WA, only to be written off most likely within 12 months.

It will be a lucky one that gets me.

The CD is a good idea,

Tony_
FollowupID: 695336

Follow Up By: Ino - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:52

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:52
oh - and one more thing - if nothing else - get them to chuck in a tire pressure monitoring system as well. What the heck - might back down on that if they don't want it - but it's something you can discard from your negotiations, if you really don't need it.

Ino

PS: I should've thought at it when I ran mine. Came to me a week later *after* we set the config of the car and thought: "Damn! should've done that, I reckon I could've gotten it."
FollowupID: 695456

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 07:47

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 07:47
Tony,
Try these people, one of the guys from work bought a 200 series through them and got a very good price.

Link to private fleet
AnswerID: 425052

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 07:49

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 07:49
Well that didn't work for some reason.

Here is the address. www.privatefleet.com.au
FollowupID: 695538

Follow Up By: Ino - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:51

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:51
Privatefleet - yeah - they're good in some regards, but not that flash in others.

Depending on the car - they may be able to get you a better price. I tried them with my 76 series and they consistently came dearer than the dealers.... and completely unwilling to discuss/negotiate. Very much "this is the price and you will like it"

Your mileage may vary, though.

Ino
FollowupID: 695545

Follow Up By: Tony_ - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 12:13

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 12:13
Thanks for the replies.

I'll see what my employers lease company comes up with.

I'm trying to keep the capital cost as tight as possible. I'm okay with paying the 11% (FBT) as I do about 27000km's a year.

I really like the heavy depreciation at lease end as I plan to buy out the car and hopefully keep it for 20 years. I have been advised by my leasing company (on paper) that I have the legal right to purchase the vehicle at the end of the lease.

IMHO the vehicle is 15% overpriced but for a long term vehicle then I can justify the extra expense.

Tony_
FollowupID: 695579