how do you vote if on holiday when it's voting time??

hi, as we will be away when it's time to vote in August i contacted to electoral office to findout what we are to do, and as we are leaving in 2 weeks we can't do a postal vote or go to an early voting station as 2 weeks is to sorter time and they wont be ready for any voters, and we wont have internet and don't know where we will be on the day. i spent over 1/2 an hour on the phone and the girl really couldn't offer me any help. so the question is for you now, how do people vote, i'm sure we aren't the only ones.
hopefully someone out there can help me with my voting problem where the electoral office can't...
thanks from chris.

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:47

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:47
Mate i haven't voted till i was 30 or 33, if you miss one vote after all that surely they won't mind.
you could vote in absentia, i think it's called!!!!
AnswerID: 424848

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:52

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:52
I cannot understand why you dont vote. No vote equals no voice.

Christopher: Seriously, Why don't you vote?

FollowupID: 695310

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:57

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:57
Didn't bother when i was youger, young and dumb they call it, now i'm older and wiser, so i vote.

Yes i pay taxes.

FollowupID: 695311

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:47

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:47
Piece of cake. On the polling day( 21st August) drop into any polling booth and do an "Absentee Vote". All polling booths have a list of candidates for your "home" booth.

Early postal voting starts on the 7th August.

Beats me why the girl did not tell you this.

AnswerID: 424849

Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:27

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:27
hi, the girl did say we could do an absentee vote at a polling booth, but i am not sure we will be anywhere near one then, and we lookied into the early voting places and that would mean a back track of 100ks from where we will be then.
thanks from chris.
FollowupID: 695312

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:38

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:38
I am off down to the post office now to pick up a couple of postal vote forms. That appears to be our best option and maybe yours. We are off soon on a trip and could be anywhere within the mainland of Australia on the 21st.

FollowupID: 695313

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 19:39

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 19:39
If you are out of your registered state you can only do an absentee vote at an interstate voting centre, you can't vote at just any polling place; it has to be a special interstate voting centre. Nothing on the site to say where they are.

At the last Qld state election when I said I couldn't vote they said OK we will put you on the list. Of course they sent a please explain so I sent a copy of their email and no more heard.
FollowupID: 695371

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:39

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:39
They said this morning that we could do it at any site not just at "an interstate voting centre" as you say.

Confusion reigns supreme.

FollowupID: 695381

Reply By: Nargun51 - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:53

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 08:53
If you are in a largish regional centre on the day, you can do an absentee vote.

If you cannot do this, just wait to get you fine and reply that on voting day you were locqated in Woop Woop and the local polling centre did not have the facilities to lodge an absentee vote. If Woop Woop didnt have absentee facilities they will waive the fine
AnswerID: 424853

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:12

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:12
All the 'not home' voting options have their special regs (detailed on the AEC site) - seems your best option is the 'Early Voting' method - can be done in any AEC office from 2 weeks prior to election day. OTHER places that will also accept early votes are to be 'announced on the AEC site soon" - so I'm told by the AEC. I guess those extras places will be scattered across the nation - one would hope. Postal voting is ok, but like many you may have left home before postal voting forms arrive in the mail (that you could take with you). If it turns out to be totally impractical you can avoid the $20 fine by telling them the story when they hunt you down later :-o)...........
AnswerID: 424857

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:22

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:22
I believe you can also go to the post office now and do a postal vote.

AnswerID: 424860

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:54

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 09:54
No... you can only apply for a postal vote.... they still do not know who all the candidates will be, nor do they have any ballots printed....
so you can apply to have a postal voting ballot sent to you once they are ready.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 695314

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:08

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:08
Oh well. Thanks Fred. I should have known that. It actually makes sense.

We will have to make sure we go to a polling booth and do an absentee vote there.

Whilst we are only two single insignificant votes we do take our responsibility seriously and try to make the most of our vote. But I wonder sometimes if we make a difference.

Still . . . . .

FollowupID: 695315

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:24

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:24
Phil, you can only do an Absent Vote if you are out of your enrolled division but still within your home State or Territory on election day. Otherwise it has to be a Postal Vote.

I agree about taking our responsibility seriously. Collectively we do make a difference.

FollowupID: 695317

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 11:27

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 11:27
Its very easy for us to be out of our state. Its the ACT. We will be somewhere up north. Maybe. Who really knows. We may even have to come home if I am crook. I have a little dangerous blood cancer.

Catchyalatr

FollowupID: 695326

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:57

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 20:57
Allan B,

Not so! If you are out of your State on polling day you can do an Interstate vote, by visiting one of the (yet to be) nominated Interstate Polling stations. We've done it before when we were in Queensland on vacation.

All this info is on the various AEC sites - albeit not easily found!

LES
FollowupID: 695387

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 22:21

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 22:21
Well Les, my info did come from the AEC website. The actual cut & paste is as follows:

"ABSENT VOTE:
An absent vote is a vote cast by an elector out of their home division but still within their home State or Territory on election day."

"INTERSTATE VOTE ON ELECTION DAY:
An interstate vote can be cast on election day at an interstate voting centre by an elector who is not within their home State or Territory. It's important to remember you can't vote at just any polling place; it has to be a special interstate voting centre."

When I said "Otherwise it has to be a Postal Vote" I meant that an Absent Vote or an Interstate Vote would not be an option if you are in a remote area on election day where there is unlikely to be a "special interstate voting centre"

As the original post from Gonebush said "we don't know where we will be on the day." and for my part, I will be at the Amata Community off the Gunbarrel Highway which is most unlikely to have a special interstate voting centre!!

As you have discovered, Queensland of course has lots of special "voting centres" to cater for the myriad of tourists escaping from NSW and the electoral advertising!! Whereas we Banana Benders head West for the deserts. LOL

FollowupID: 695399

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:03

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 10:03
I also will be in a remote interstate location on Polling Day and it is unlikely that Postal Vote papers would arrive at my home address before departure.

My plan is to apply for a Postal Vote but have it sent to me c/- of a Post Office along my itinerary and collect and lodge it prior to Polling Day.

AnswerID: 424861

Reply By: bgreeni - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 11:08

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 11:08
I am leaving next week and will be in the back blocks of Eastern Russia on polling day. Looks like no voting for me this time :( but at least I miss out on all the inane TV adds :)

AnswerID: 424874

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 11:52

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 11:52
It's all clear if you go to aec.gov.au. This link will take you straight to the correct page.

AnswerID: 424879

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 12:00

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 12:00
Hi Chris

Under the circumstances, you should be able to get your name crossed off without getting fined.

If you apply for a postal vote and it doesn't reach you, they will send you a fine (but you can talk your way out of it if you're lucky). This happened to my sister and partner last federal election when they were in Bali with no postal delivery service. They proved they had done their best in applying for a postal vote the night the election was announced, and that they gave their full Bali address and the papers had not reached them (and never did).

For the WA state election 2008 there was a very short lead up time, and we were travelling the NT without radio or television. Talking to a neighbouring camper who was from WA we learnt about it, and he said he'd phoned the #13----- and been crossed of the list. When we got back to Alice Springs, i tried ringing the number but it was not active outside of WA. Election was eight days away. So late on the Friday i emailed the WA Electoral commission explaining that we had just learnt about the election and would be travelling west from Alice Springs and would be out of phone and internet range until we got well into WA which would be after the election. That's alright she replied promptly, you can vote in Darwin - and gave the address! Short of sending her a link to Google maps, i explained that Darwin was a long way away. She then asked for our full names and addresses so she could cross us off. Look at the start of this email. Oh, OK, you're crossed off. It should work similar with a Federal election.

Give it a go, and good luck.

AnswerID: 424880

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 13:44

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 13:44
I have often been interstate when the NSW elections have been conducted. I just wait for the please explain/ pay fine letter. I send back a declaration that I was not within range of a polling booth, stating my exact whereabouts. In each occasion This has been accepted.

I have always been home for federal elections but would expect the same procedure will apply. If you are not within range of an interstate voting centre you can make a declaration stating where you were. You will have your credit card receipts to back up your declaration that you could not attend a voting centre.

FollowupID: 695339

Reply By: Member - Margot M (SA) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 12:22

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 12:22
having worked at elections my advice do a postal vote in your state. save sa whole lot of stuffing arouns
AnswerID: 424883

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 14:24

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 14:24
Gday Gonebush
There was a postal vote form in my letter box today, there might be one in yours in the next couple of days.
Murray

AnswerID: 424889

Reply By: Adey - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 15:23

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 15:23
Apply to the Australian Electoral Commission to do a postal vote.
AnswerID: 424895

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 18:14

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 18:14
Just phone the office re: the Canidate you are going to vote for,they will bend over backwards to help.

PS. If you want to vote for me i'll be heading up the Caravan / CT / Camping / Occasional Beer /Wine drinking Camp Fire Party, just send a carton to me via Exploroz.

AnswerID: 424914

Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 18:58

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 18:58
sounds good, you've got my vote.
chris.
FollowupID: 695369

Reply By: gonebush SA - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 18:56

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 18:56
hi, thanks for all the advice but, i can not do a postal vote because the girl i spoke to said that they haven't even got all the forms back from all the canidates yet so it will be at least 3 weeks before i can get the forms and we leave in 2 weeks. she did say that i could try to vote early at Roxby Downs while we are there but she doesn't even know if they will have their early booth open then, she didn't even mention getting our name crossed off the list, which really wont worry me if it was crossed off, it would save me the bother of choosing the best liar.
chris.
AnswerID: 424923

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 19:31

Thursday, Jul 22, 2010 at 19:31
Chris, see my contribution re Postal Vote above.
If you can predict a Post Office on your route where you could collect mail then apply for a Postal Vote now and nominate the receiving address c/- of that Post office. Collect it just before Polling Day and post it back at that P.O.

In my case I am travelling from Queensland to Warburton in W.A. and I have nominated C/- Oodnadatta P.O. as the address to send the ballot papers to.

With a bit of luck it may even work!

FollowupID: 695370

Follow Up By: gonebush SA - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 06:37

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 06:37
hi, yes that seems the only way i can think of, i have never had my mail sent to a post office while away before, this might sound dumb but, would i need to let the post office know that i am expecting mail or do they just hold all mail for a certain time for cases like this when people are travelling through?
thanks from chris.
FollowupID: 695414

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 09:32

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 09:32
Hi Chris, I haven't had mail sent c/- Post Office before either but my wife travelled extensively in Europe and used this method successfully. No need to advise the P.O. of expected mail, they just hold it for a certain time. These days in Australia you probably need to show identity for collection.

FollowupID: 695432