4 Quad Bikes across Simpson to Birdsville

Submitted: Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 01:17
ThreadID: 80310 Views:7672 Replies:2 FollowUps:12
In Perth last Friday Charles & I met Jim Cairns who together with 3 others will travel from Perth (leaving on the 8th August), cross the Simpson Desert to Birdsville (arrive 25th August) then travel down the Strz Track and onto Adelaide (arriving 31st August). No mean feat but 3 of these men are paraplegics and the 4th, a quadriplegic. They will have several OKAS as support vehicles and a doctor in a Landcruiser. Their web site is www.againstthegrain.org.au.
A Member from www.fourneybeyondroadtrauma.com.au will be travelling with them and doing a documentary.
If you meet them on their travels give a wave or have a chat.
Good luck to these guys!
The outback calls

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 08:09

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 08:09
but are'nt quads not legal on roads or places designated as such ie beaches

I note from the press release that a goal they have is to promote safety....wonder if they have exemptions to have these illegal vehicles on the roads?

but anyway, good luck to them.
AnswerID: 425235

Follow Up By: ob - Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 10:20

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 10:20
These guys have done a lot of work to get their vehicles road licensed to make it all legal.

ob
FollowupID: 695794

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 11:02

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 11:02

My mate has a road licenced 4 wheeler - only addition was some indicators. He's not allowed to ride it just anywhere though - assume you provide details on when and where you need to take it and are restricted to that particular route.

I use to ride Enduros with Jim - good on him.

FollowupID: 695795

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 12:35

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 12:35
I'm not sure about other states however in WA you can get permits as specified in the following legislation especially section 8 subsection 4:

CONTROL OF VEHICLES (OFF-ROAD AREAS) ACT 1978

as long as the vehicle is within the specification of these regulations:

CONTROL OF VEHICLES (OFF-ROAD AREAS) REGULATIONS 1979

FollowupID: 695802

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 12:36

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 12:36
mate of mine (ex manager [Registra] of Registration and Licencing SA) says that these can not be licenced in SA for road use...that includes beach driving.....exemptions given to Primary Production use.

I would like to know how they got exemption as I want one for getting to hard to reach (ruddy long walk) fishing spots
FollowupID: 695803

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 12:42

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 12:42
I am guessing they wouldnt be issued willy nilly - you woudl have to have a good reason. Not sure going fishing would rate.

FollowupID: 695804

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 12:49

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 12:49
They would have to have some sort of exclusion/special permit. Think of some of the weird and wonderful contraptions that get used as tow vehicles in the Christmas pagent, and the clowns on mini-bikes.
FollowupID: 695805

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 13:04

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 13:04
what do you mean fishing wouldnt rate....fish is good for you...fish helps prevent heart disease.....good for keeping old age far%$ like me out of hospital...what better reason would they need
FollowupID: 695807

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 13:21

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 13:21
"what better reason would they need" - yeah get your drift but probably a bit too "self" orientated. Plus thats why they invented boats :)

Read what they are doing it for...

Against the Grain

FollowupID: 695809

Follow Up By: phil300 - Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 14:26

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 14:26
Hi guys,

In Tassie you can get trike's with rego a quad only has 1 more wheel so why can`t you get rego if it compiles lights,indicator's,brake light a set of tyres for road use.

cheers good on them .

FollowupID: 695818

Follow Up By: Ted (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2010 at 12:04

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2010 at 12:04
Hello

I am at a total loss to understand why (apart from bureaucratic BS) it is impossible to get road rego for quads. Consider the following:

- trikes are more unstable - and are deemed roadworthy
- mopeds are slower - and are deemed roadworthy
- motorbikes are less stable - and are deemed roadworthy

In many countries in Europe quads are road legal (with indicators, number plate etc.). I have seen them used as recreational vehicles but also by security firms for patrols in inner city or industrial areas.

Maybe get one of those old three wheeler "quads" (phased out by manufacturers as deemed too unstable) and register that for road use? I would not be surprised if this would be possible/lawful, as illogical as it is...

Ted
FollowupID: 695909

Follow Up By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2010 at 12:32

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2010 at 12:32
As far as I know, in Australia, you cannot get full registration on anything that does not have a compliance plate. I do not know of any quads with compliance plates.
All states are different but in Queensland you can get Conditional registration for just about anything, but there are different rules attached to each conditional registration, depending on what you are applying it too. I used to have conditional rego on my motorcross bike to ride in the forestry, no compliance plate, no headlight or blinkers, only needed a tail light I think it was, but gave you third party insurance which is what it is all about. The forestry now do not allow conditional rego, you must have full registration.

FollowupID: 695915

Follow Up By: Ted (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2010 at 14:08

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2010 at 14:08
Even e.g. in the UK:

(taken from http://www.atvworld.com/)

Stay legal - buy your road legal quad bike from ATV World

A vehicle must comply with the requirements of the road traffic act of 1988 in terms of road tax, insurance and MOT. The rider needs to hold a full car driving licence. To ride a quad bike on the road, the vehicle must have road legal tyres, lights, horn, speedometer, road mirrors amongst other things and registered with the DVLA. Although not a legal requirement at the moment, it is strongly recommended that a helmet is worn.

PLEASE NOTE:

To be legally used on a road, a vehicle:

Must be registered
Must be taxed
Must have an MOT
Must have lights & number plate

For a rider to use a vehicle on the road, they must:

Be aged 17 or over
Wear a suitable crash helmet (not a legal requirement but highly advised!)
Hold a full valid UK driving licence
Hold an appropriate certificate of motor insurance
FollowupID: 695926

Reply By: carlsp - Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 10:05

Monday, Jul 26, 2010 at 10:05
I think with the right support it would be fantastic.

Really great to see people with a disability doing something like this. It will be a huge boost not just to those that do it, but also to other fully fit people to say "If these guys can do this, imagine what you can do".
AnswerID: 425244