Where to Go???

Submitted: Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 17:50
ThreadID: 80414 Views:3605 Replies:9 FollowUps:18
I am after ideas for the September School Holidays :))

Was thinking about heading down to Currawinya National Park for a few days in the 1st week of the QLD School Holidays.

Any other ideas close to there if we get rained out ;)

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:04

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:04
NSW Kev, you can't go wrong. Plenty of sunshine, friendly people, great national parks. You name it, we have it. Lokk forward to seeing you.
AnswerID: 425762

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:06

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:06
But don't bring a QLD footy shirt, they are banned.....

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 696286

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:08

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:08
Barry,

I am not that desperate to visit you hahahahaha

GO THE MAROONS ;)

FollowupID: 696287

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 09:52

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 09:52
Barry, I reckon Kev would never ever get lost in NSW....we're all only too happy to tell him where to go LOL LOL
FollowupID: 696330

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 16:56

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 16:56
Fred

hahahahahhahahahaahhahahahahahhahahahahahahhahahhaha
FollowupID: 696366

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:19

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:19
Might as well go camping Kev...there won't be any Qld teams involved in the Footy play-offs LOL LOL.

There is always Camp Coona in the Pilliga, Lot's in the district for all mate. Coonabarabran and District.

Fred.
AnswerID: 425763

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:22

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:22
Fred,

The Pub at Hungerford will be visited to watch the BRONCOS and TITANS win their respective matches to reach the Grand Final hehehehe

FollowupID: 696290

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:32

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:32
Mate, we'll let ya cross the border :-) just as long as you're dressed appropriately.
FollowupID: 696291

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:59

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 18:59
Can I wear MAROON then hahaha

FollowupID: 696293

Reply By: Axle - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:08

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:08
Kev!, Better off going up than down!!,Have a good Holiday......Further North....lol.

AnswerID: 425765

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:11

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:11
The further away from NSW the better hey LOL

FollowupID: 696294

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:12

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:12
Hi Kev
Head down to the Cooper ferry. The wild flowers will be unreal by then. One Station owner that I know south west of there said that he has lots of large clumps of Sturt Desert Pea in flower on his station and it is the first time that he has seen then on his station for nearly 20 years.

AnswerID: 425766

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:15

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:15
That's a long way to go without much site seeing in 9 days LOL especially with 2 kids under 7 :)

That would be great option if we had more time

FollowupID: 696298

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:18

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:18
"Any other ideas close to there if we get rained out ;) "

Pull the other one Kev, You and Rain.

It's not going to happen Mate. LOL

Have Fun. LOL

AnswerID: 425767

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:25

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 19:25
mmmmmmmmmmmmm You have a point there hahaha

FollowupID: 696299

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 20:58

Friday, Jul 30, 2010 at 20:58
Hi Kev, if Currawinya is closed for wet weather then probably the other good option of Welford NP in that region would be off limits too but if not check that out. Bloody nice part of the world too. My family had a good time fossicking for opals at Yowah, the roads here would not be as effected by the weather and the free camp (donation requested but not enforced) is a beauty. Just like a caravan park if you ask me, well worth a decent donation for the hot showers (and power if you are lucky) and good facilities. Otherwise Noccundra and the Wilson rv camp is nice too but that may be a little futher than you like?? and a tad more boring for the kids???

Any of these places sound a whole lot better than my current SA location. It is wet and miserably cold down here. Stop laughing ya mongrel, I'm serious. Homesick and missing the crew back home, my little baby turns 3 in a couple of days and I can't even be there for the celebrations cause these crow eaters can't do nothing for themselves. Takes a bloody Qld'r to sort the show out hehehehe.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 425777

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 07:17

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 07:17
We may even end up tripping around Yowah, Tharga etc if it is too wet :)

Have fun in SA hahahahah

FollowupID: 696320

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 22:12

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 22:12
Hi Kev, when we were out at Yowah the underground mines that you could tour had been flooded and were filled up with mud so if you intended on doing a tour keep that in mind. The Bluff offers good panoramic viewing but also keep in mind you can't buy any beer at Yowah. Apart from that we were considering heading out to Camerons corner just for the heck of it might catch up for a beer this time. Cheers Mick
FollowupID: 696396

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 01, 2010 at 07:43

Sunday, Aug 01, 2010 at 07:43
Mick,

After the kids reaction to being underground in Lightning Ridge I don't think we will be doing that again for awhile. I had to carry Peta up the 83 stairs as she was not keen on going anywhere hehehe
I will make some enquiries though just on the chance they have forgotten what it was like ;)

FollowupID: 696409

Reply By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 11:28

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 11:28
Chinchilla Weir Camping would be good this time of the year. And think about how much fuel you will save! LOL

I could not help myself with this suggestion.

Patrick
AnswerID: 425813

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 11:53

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 11:53
Bit too close to home for me LOL

FollowupID: 696336

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 12:16

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 12:16
Think of it this way, getting the Sunday paper would be a lot easier!

Now where is your adventure Kev!

Patrick
FollowupID: 696339

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 22:14

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 22:14
Not far to tow the toyota.Ha ha
FollowupID: 696398

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 18:20

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 18:20
Are you actually asking for someone to tell you were to go?
I thought you would get enough of that already!!!!
AnswerID: 425846

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 18:30

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 18:30
Need to be told nicely for a change Hairy LOL

FollowupID: 696381

Reply By: Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 20:02

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 20:02
West Kunderang station on the Mcleay river is a great spot Kev.
AnswerID: 425852

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 01, 2010 at 07:44

Sunday, Aug 01, 2010 at 07:44
Pete,

That is still in NSW and too close to the Outlaws ;)

FollowupID: 696410