HEMA V VMS navigation systems

This question must have been asked many a time however I am new to exploroz and would like to get some views on the better of the 2 systems. when in the Desert last I found my Garmin Nuvi with TOPO maps was almost useless so I am looking to update so any advice or views would be a help.

Thanks Vern
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 15:59

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 15:59
Hi Vern

What were the inadequacies of the Garmin maps? We have tried neither Garmin nor Hema or VMS as we have an older Magellan, but i follow with interest as dome day i will upgrade. Garmin has a lot of supporters, including some of our off the beaten track travellers.

Motherhen

Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 425834

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 16:00

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 16:00
Oops typo - SOME day i will upgrade
Motherhen

Red desert dreaming

Lifetime Member

FollowupID: 696360

Follow Up By: Vernp - Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 16:13

Saturday, Jul 31, 2010 at 16:13
Don't get me wrong the Garmin is good and for most its great however when we where travelling to and from the Desert and in the desert the TOPO maps for Garmin left wanting. Some one had a HEMA and this seamed to have all the tracks and info. When I visited Opposite Lock today they recommended VMS not the HEMA although they sell both. So I walked out a little bit more confused. Hence the question HEMA v VMS
FollowupID: 696362

Follow Up By: Gossy - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 16:20

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 16:20
same from Electric Bug in Adelaide. The VMS is much better around town also.

Ironically (so I was told), VMS make the Hema (same internals) but they give themselves the competitive edge by making theirs a bit better.

i bought the VMS yesterday from the caravan and camping show really cheap :)
FollowupID: 696547