Updating the Hilux

I'm thinking that it's time to update my '93 Hilux, given that it has over 500,000kms on the clock now. My current thinking is that the 3lt turbo diesel is my best option, but I'd like to hear any feedback on their performance and, especially, their reliability. One specific thing I did wonder about was their use of 15 inch rims, and whether these can be increased to 16 or 17 inch with aftermarket rims.

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 16:23

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 16:23
I have an 05 D4D Turbo Diesel Dual cab with 17" rims. The trick is to try and maintain the rolling diameter to within tolerance of the rolling diameter of the original 15" design. The speedo can be easily calibrated to suit. The 3.0 Litre D4D is a fantastic engine, it has received rave reviews from everyone.

Unfortunately I had to replace some injectors as common rail injectors are not serviceable and this was an expensive exercise. Apart from this the vehicle is a great rig to drive with strong pulling power across the board. I have installed a Steinbauer Power Chip and this has improved the vehicle further again, we all know Toyota are conservative with their tuning and so doing this is worth it IMO if you want to get the engine pushing out around 143KW and 400NM of torque down low in the RPM range.
AnswerID: 425980

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 17:32

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 17:32
I am approaching 3 years and 100k on mine and no problems, have done a number of trips including Cape York and the Simpson desert. You can upsize your rims no problem, the SR actually has 16 inch steel rims with the SR5 having 15inch alloy.
I have fitted 16 inch rims with 265 x 75 x 16 tyres which is a fairly common upgrade with these, whilst others have fited 17inch as well
Pop over to http://www.newhilux.net/ there is heaps of information on them.
AnswerID: 425989

Reply By: john&thejayco - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:18

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:18
g'day Hilux fan,
depending on what you use your hilux for, if it's for off road use i would look at something different.For work we have had an '99,'05, and '09 models in the last 6 years, and as far as driving around the hills and paddocks,they are getting to be more of a town car.we now have to straddle a lot of the old tracks as the newer model will drag it's guts on the ground that the older '99 cleared easily.the newer models are geared higher, so we have to use low range a lot more often than before. A mate not long ago bought a new one for his property and went and upgraded the suspension pretty quickly when he realised how much lower it was compared to his old hilux. Don't get me wrong, for a zip a long out on the open road, they get along well and with better seating would be good for longer trips out on the road, but for the off road i think Toyota has forgot what the Hilux was made for.I spoke to a Toyota dealer and even he was at a loss as to what was happening to the Hilux. These models would probably still be quite capable with upgrades to suspension and good off road tyres, but for the price ,you don't really want to throw money at a new vehicle straight away. Hope this helps.Cheers
AnswerID: 426001

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 09:13

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 09:13
I have 2 main uses for the Hilux. First, I have a 300 acre farm with very steep (and rocky) slopes. I'm thinking that it would be best to hang on to the old Hilux for a farm ute, as it seems to have much better clearance than any of the new models.
Second, we like to go away in the bush on our annual holidays and spend a lot of time in the Victorian mallee country. We tow a camper trailer on these trips and the old Hilux is really starting to struggle with this.
I expect to have to put some money into modifying the vehicle, as they never come with everything I want.
FollowupID: 696611

Reply By: ctaplin - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:15

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:15
In my opinion, straight out of the showroom, they are virtually a softroader but with a few mods, they can still be made into a capable 4x4 touring vehicle.

I bought a new Hilux SR in November '09 but had to spend nearly $20k on it before it left the showroom to get it up to an acceptable off road standard for what I intended to use it for. This included fitting 265/75x16 LT tyres on 16x7 steel rims, 2" suspension lift to improve travel along with ramp over, approach & departure angles, a long range tank as the standard tank is a joke for extended outback travel then other things like ARB bar, side rails & steps, snorkel, rear air locker because the standard LSD is useless and effectively no better than an open diff.

I would say that your '93 model would be a lot more solid in construction as these latest ones seem very flimsly with thin panels etc and are made in Thailand like virtually all the other similar brands are nowadays...

AnswerID: 426015

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 22:14

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 22:14
Hi ctaplin, ""they are virtually a softroader but with a few mods"" except the ground clearance issue which I aggree with, all the other things you have added is some thing you chose you needed which you would have obviously added to any vehicle, long range tank, old hilux had a small tank as well, rear diff, yes most toyo lsd diffs are crap, etc, What I mean is if you had chosen a nissan, mitsi, you obviously wanted all the extras added for your use which is fine but most utes are the same except mitsi which gives you the option of diff lock and Nissan as we know have great LSD anyway. Maybe not as strong as the old girls but still a great vehicle.........
FollowupID: 696582

Reply By: Madfisher - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:18

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:18
Mate what 3lt are you looking at the 1kz td or the d4d common rail. The 1kz motor was used in the last of the old shape. As others have said they have better ground clearance and gearing and are also not ulgy like the newer ones.
AnswerID: 426016

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 09:07

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 09:07
Madfisher, I haven't looked at that. I thought the current 3L turbo hadn't changed that much since it was introduced. Anywhere I can get a history of motors in the Hilux?
I'll do some more digging anyway, thanks for that.
FollowupID: 696609

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 13:09

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 13:09
D4d came out in 05, previous motor was the 1kz 3lt td. Bear in mind the cost of injectors and pump for a d4d is $10000, and all it takes to wreck them are dirtry fuel or water. On the 1kz it would be $3000 MAX. We have a work d4d that got a gutfull of water thats how I know.
FollowupID: 696634

Follow Up By: Hilux fan - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 16:13

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 16:13
Water in any diesel engine is going to be expenive (and a long walk out)!
I know the D4D has a power chip; does the 1KZ? If so, are there aftermarket alternatives?
FollowupID: 696647

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 19:13

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 19:13
I phrased that wrong, the water was in the fuel which was brought from a servo.
Chips are available for both motors. Wherehegone on this site is the expert on chips and the 1kz motor which he has in his prado.
FollowupID: 696670

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 19:15

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 19:15
The best way to gain height is to stick with the 15 and put 31s on it.
FollowupID: 696672

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:30

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:30
The new models of most brands not just Toyota seem to be aimed more at improving their on road manners and comfort at the expense of off road ability and pure "ruggedness"

Unfortunately what can you do other than try and source a new Mahindra or something similar which seem to be built no different than they were 30 years ago

Cheers Pop
AnswerID: 426018

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 00:07

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 00:07
I'd be sure to test drive some of the Hiluxes rivals as well, like Mitsubishi Triton (seems to be heaps on the roads these days) and Mazda BT 50 and others along those lines.
Like others have said so many cars these days are similar.

Yes we're currently in the market and all I can say is that a test drive can change what you thought of a car simply by looking at all the numbers on paper and the cosmetic appeal.
AnswerID: 426036

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 13:44

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 13:44
There maybe a few Tritons on the road nowadays but they are way smaller than the Hilux interior and ute space. The Triton would be too cramped for my liking. On the soft roader aspect yes true but you can always buy an SR and do the suspension etc and you'll have yourself a better vehicle than the older model by a MILE IMO.
FollowupID: 696635

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 20:51

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 20:51
I agree, the Triton has the looks and specs but we test drove one (the pre 2010 version) and weren't as impressed with the inside as the outside (lack of visibility over the bonnet and out the back window etc). I guess it was a bit too "modern" shape wise for our liking. Also as you pointed out the back isn't all that large which for our purposes (camping etc) kind of defeats the point of a dual cab ute, may as well drive something else if we have to tow a trailer anyway.
The BT 50 was more impressive in all the above regards though and felt nicer on the road probably because of the firmer suspension, there was much more space in the back (especially with a canopy) and it was more "old style" I suppose. But I have a sneaking suspicion that they might change the styling sooner or later to be in line with most modern cars anyway.

I guess my main point was not to rule the other brands out, I personally might have ruled out the BT 50 without even considering it, but after test driving the two it would have been the main contender. As hard as it is, sometimes it's worthwhile to try and put any brand bias aside, if not only to say that you did consider and try some of the others even if you still go for the Lux in the end.
FollowupID: 696685