2003 Nissan Patrol Injector Pump

I've just found out that my injector pump has packed it in and when told the likely replacement cost my heart nearly packed it in as well.

My mechanic has given me some approximate costs of around $6500 for a new pump plus fitting or around $5500 for a reconditioned one which includes fitting.

Can someone tell me if these prices are about average or anyone have any suggestions where I might pick one up a bit cheaper?

My fourbee is a 2003 Nissan Patrol GUIII MY2003 ST 3L turbo diesel- 5 speed manual
Looking forward to your responses. In the meantime a couple more scotches are in order

Dax

Reply By: Malleerv - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 18:56

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 18:56
I have never had that exact pump done up but all the pumps from Landcruiser's and Patrols I have had Reconditioned $2500 is the most I have been Charged.

Ring around!
AnswerID: 425998

Follow Up By: Dax29 (Fraser Coast - QLD) - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 20:11

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 20:11
Thanks Malleerv, am in the process of doing just that
FollowupID: 696563

Reply By: Nutta - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:17

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:17
TRy patrol4x4.com
They might help.
AnswerID: 426000

Follow Up By: Dax29 (Fraser Coast - QLD) - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 20:09

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 20:09
Thanks Nutta, forgot I was a member over there, will give it a try
FollowupID: 696562

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:31

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 19:31
i do believe a new one is in the order of 5k for the ZD30s. dunno why they are so expensive but they are. i bought a brand new toyota one for my 100 series and it was $2500 which blew me away,i was expecting about 7k!! considering they wanted $2800 for a reco pump?? go figure......
AnswerID: 426003

Follow Up By: Dax29 (Fraser Coast - QLD) - Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 20:13

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 20:13
Thanks Paul/Mel
Maybe I'll get lucky that way as well
FollowupID: 696565

Follow Up By: Rosss- Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:25

Monday, Aug 02, 2010 at 21:25
Hi Dax,
Had mine done 2 years ago by maryborough Nissan, $5300.00 was the total bill. Claim it on your insurance, tell them you got dirty fuel and it wrecked the pump, only cost me my excess.
cheers Ross
FollowupID: 696574

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 11:15

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 11:15
The pump for a 100 series 4.2 turbo is ............wait for it...........................................$10000 for new and approx half that for a rebuild. Bloody pump alone cost more than a new engine for some cars.
FollowupID: 696623

Follow Up By: Dax29 (Fraser Coast - QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 17:49

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 17:49
Thanks Rosss I didn't think to check with my insurer, which I have now done and awaiting a decision from them. Will let you know how I go

Dax
FollowupID: 696658

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 19:31

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 19:31
4.2 yota pumps for the 100 are about $2500 new not 10k! maybe the 200s pump is 10k but not the 100. i bought a brand new long motor(1HD-FTE) and brand new pump for $9700.
FollowupID: 696675

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 03:45

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 03:45
Dax

Some of the Better advertisers on ebay my be ably to help, or at least give you an idea of the price. Otherwise I strongly suggest that you go to a Diesel Specialist

They will recondition your old one heaps cheaper than replacing with new.

AnswerID: 426039

Follow Up By: Dax29 (Fraser Coast - QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 17:52

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 17:52
Thanks for the advice Bucky, my mechanic is working with a local Diesel mob and reconditioning is an option we are investigating
Dax
FollowupID: 696659

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 03:54

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 03:54
Dax

I just "googled" deisel fuel pumps, and came up with this site.

Click here

Click here too

Interesting isn't it !

AnswerID: 426040

Follow Up By: madcow - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 07:55

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 07:55
Mate good find!!!! Hopefully i wont have to use it :)). I'll be there will be some interest in this site.
FollowupID: 696598

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 09:24

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 09:24
The 4.2 pumps don't fit a 3lt patrol and are less than half the price of a 3lt pump.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 696613

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 08:13

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 08:13
I have been told by the toyota service manager the fuel pump for my new V8 landcruiser ute is around $10,000. Yep - just unbelievable. Heavens knows what the whole motor would cost.

For this reason I take special care of my fuel system and always run 2 stroke oil through my diesel. Since the Australian government changed the sulpur content of diesel to low sulpur diesel this has removed the natural lubricant for your fuel system.

Want to know more. Read the forum articles that have been post on here about two stroke oil in your system or go to this web forum where the content started -

http://www.freel2.com/forum/topic878.html?highlight=oil

AnswerID: 426045

Follow Up By: Paul G K (vic) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 16:07

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 16:07
The injectors and pump on your v8 cruiser are designed to run on the low sulphur diesel.
FollowupID: 696646

Follow Up By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 19:02

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 19:02
Hi Paul

I wish I could believe that.

The model was released in 2007 and Australia started low sulphur diesel in 2009. Even then the model was probably designed in Japan up to 5 years prior to that so no way to tell if it is designed for low sulphur diesel.

I use the 2 stroke just to be sure and not end up with a worn out fuel pump.

FollowupID: 696668

Follow Up By: Member - Hillel K (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 20:36

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 20:36
Hi David-was wondering what two stroke oil you are using and what ratio/mix as I am interested in trying it out.
Hillel
FollowupID: 696683

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 21:06

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 21:06
Hillel the ratio is 200 to 1 and use the marine 2 stroke. It will cause less carbon build up in your motor
Cheers pETE
FollowupID: 696773

Reply By: Joshane - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 15:46

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 15:46
Hi Dax. We have just replaced the injector pump on our 2000 GUII patrol 3L turbo diesel about 5 months ago. We payed just under $4000 for a reconditioned one fully fittted. We had it done at dpis (diesel pump and injector service) at Caboolture. I realise this is probably too far for you, but make sure you shop around. We searched all over the sunshine coast and north brissie and this guy was about the most reasonably priced. Let me know if you want his phone number or email...
AnswerID: 426075

Follow Up By: Dax29 (Fraser Coast - QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 17:56

Tuesday, Aug 03, 2010 at 17:56
Thanks for the info Joshane, Will keep it in mind although as you mentioned would prefer something closer.

So far am happy with my local guy who has always done a great job on all the cars/fourbees I had and my kids.

We are looking at a few options so am waiting on info about them also on whether my insurer will come to the party

Dax
FollowupID: 696660