speedo out with new rims tyres ???

ive purchased some new sunnys rims @ 15x7 and new rubber @ 31x10.5 to put on my 97 lux 4x4 2.8ltr diesel i have a few questions

1.) is it going to put speedo out ?

2.) hinder/worsen steering, braking, reduce speed, drivability at all ?

3.) do i have to do anything to suspension etc ? it already has 4leafs in front and 8-9 in rear and heavy duty shocks ?

appreciate your time

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:17

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:17
1 Yes.
2 Yes.
3 Unlikely.
and in case you don't know
4.) Is it legal? Most probably not depending where you are.
AnswerID: 426163

Follow Up By: luxyboy - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:41

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:41
how do i rectify speedo prob ?

in question 2 is that a yes to all of them ?

good no susp then

re legality, whats illegal ?
FollowupID: 696736

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:45

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:45
Firstly

What state are you in??
and
What is the legal tyre sizes as per the tyre placard for that vehicle??

FollowupID: 696738

Follow Up By: luxyboy - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:54

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:54
im in nsw as per tyre placard will have to check you see these everywhere though surely people just aent cruising around illegally ?? you d hope not
FollowupID: 696739

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 15:05

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 15:05
"surely people just aren't cruising around illegally ?? "

If you put them on without an engineering certificate you will be.

Check out the bottom of page 2 of this document.
http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/registration/downloads/vsi/vsi09_rev4.pdf

FollowupID: 696742

Reply By: roberttbruce - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:53

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 14:53
it would be prudent to get the whl/tyres engineered/certified... if you have an accident your insurance company can just walk away from you...
AnswerID: 426167

Reply By: howesy - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 17:00

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 17:00
from memory my lux was pretty close with 31x10.5's on it.
Just grab a gps and check it i think youll find its no further out than half the cars from the factory.
AnswerID: 426180

Reply By: Member - Scooby (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 18:28

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 18:28
Hi Luxyboy,
The speedo on my 99 lux is spot on with 31x 10.5's.
Scooby
AnswerID: 426187

Follow Up By: luxyboy - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 20:17

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 20:17
cheers mate few have said this now too ill test just in case though .... geez i tell ya what this 4wd is addictive wheels tyres goin on on mon tues , snorkel next was gonna go unifilter but there 150 may as well pay extra 200 and get snorkel .... subscription to 4wd action.. car came with approx 3 inch lift kit .... tray on camper soon or trailer camper (found marios was pretty cheap and looks the goods ) where to next is the big question !!!!!
FollowupID: 696769

Reply By: luxyboy - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 19:58

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 19:58
wouldnt read about it !!!!!!!! the rims i had sent up had the offst set the wrong way so today as i was getting some rubber 4 them they wouldnt bloody fit on !!!!!!!!! aarrrggghhh !!! hitting the back of brake caliber and sway bar knuckle , so spoke to supplier (from melb. im in syd.) an lucky he was nice otherwise i was gonna let him have it ,but hes rectifying problem and getting offset right so i can finally get em on , i was spewing this arvo .......

then to add salt into the wound last set of lights b4 my house ,the exact same car i have pulled up next to me with the same rims and rubber double aarrrggghhhh !!!!!!!!,
AnswerID: 426198

Reply By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 20:48

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 20:48
Most Hilux speedo are fast by at least 6 %, should be spot on with 31s, BUT you will lose power, even our old 3lt v6 paj suffered in this area.
AnswerID: 426206

Follow Up By: luxyboy - Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 22:25

Wednesday, Aug 04, 2010 at 22:25
pete mate bloke at tyre shop said my ute has been lifted how the hell do i tell if it has wouldnt know where to start looking he reckons at least 3" is there different types of lift ??
FollowupID: 696779

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Aug 05, 2010 at 12:14

Thursday, Aug 05, 2010 at 12:14
Luxy the standard way to measure height is to measure from the bottom of the rim the guard. Problem is I do not know the stadard height, but someone on the lcool forum would.
FollowupID: 696812

Follow Up By: luxyboy - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 10:12

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 10:12
cheers mate shes had a 2 inch lift ;) got rims replaced and im now rolling on 31x10.5 tyres and 15x7 sunnies

cb radio , snorkel, stereo/speakers, diff breathers all to follow !!!!

appreciate the help champ
FollowupID: 696910

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 10:48

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 10:48
Legally engineered I hope.

Wouldn't want to see you cruising 'round illegally.
FollowupID: 696914

Follow Up By: luxyboy - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 11:54

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 11:54
not engineered fully insured though and they said its within legality issues for sizes 4 NSW !!!!!! hank you for your comments
FollowupID: 696918

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 14:13

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 14:13
Good to hear.
This section of that document above must be out of date.

"The outside diameter of the wheel and tyre combination must be no more than 15mm over the largest diameter
wheel and tyre combination specified for the vehicle and not more than 15mm below the smallest diameter wheel
and tyre combination specified for the vehicle."
FollowupID: 696928