Around Australia in two weeks

Submitted: Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:23
ThreadID: 80560 Views:5993 Replies:28 FollowUps:39
I'm about to set off on a fifteen day drive around Australia. I've been planning it for about four months and will be doing it with two other blokes in a Hilux. I think I've looked at every possible problem and have a contingency plan for them all, but I'd love to hear any last minute suggestions on what to look at. Will be in a Hilux 4x4. Only on sealed roads and we will be camping in caravan sites for eight nights and six at places I have found and picked out of Camps 5. Any thoughts would be much appreciated, regards Adrian.

Reply By: Muntoo - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:26

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:26
Man thats fast. I dont think Hiluxs can go that fast can they?

Good luck is all i say.
AnswerID: 426390

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:30

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:30
They can indeed. Especially this one, it's a company car. Thanks all the same.
FollowupID: 696965

Follow Up By: Member - John - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:39

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:39
I thought it must have been a Hire Car................LOL

FollowupID: 696968

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:34

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:34
Good luck.....enjoy the driver change locations...

Let us all know when you're going so none of mine will be on the road at the same time.

" Any thoughts would be much appreciated, regards Adrian."

One that springs to mind is WHY?????

AnswerID: 426392

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:46

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:46
I don't get to take a holiday very often with my work and I have always wanted to do it so the timing was right. It's a recon mission for further adventures as I see it.
FollowupID: 696971

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:53

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:53
Good Onya mate...what is the planned route you have in mind ???
FollowupID: 696975

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:13

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:13
Clockwise essentially. We leave Sydney next Friday night and plan to be back Saturday week from then for a heros welcome (hopefully). We are sticking to the main (number 1) highway except in NT and QLD. We'll be heading down to the Tree Ways then across to Townsville, then back down the coast. That's the fast bit as it's all down hill from what I can see on the maps.
FollowupID: 696979

Reply By: Notso - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:36

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:36
Just look out for Camels and Cattle on the roads.

Check out the Head of the Bight.

Geike Gorge near Fitzroy Crossing

And I reckon they'll be the only spots you'd get time to see.

Good Luck and be nice to other drivers who may hold you up.
AnswerID: 426393

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:51

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:51
Will do mate and thanks for the tips. Probably won't get to see them on this one but I've made a note of them.
We are all very careful and good drivers so we and everyone else will be fine. Like I said in the original post, I have planned contingencies into the trip, so, the main one is that we don't have to be back at any set time and if we need to stop more, we will.

Cheers, Adrian
FollowupID: 696992

Reply By: D200Dug- Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:36

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:36
WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY ?????

Sorry but it sounds like a really pointless thing to do.
You will not have time to see or do anything, it will just be a waste of fuel.

Why not take 2 weeks and have a good look round one area ?
AnswerID: 426394

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:52

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:52
I may never get the chance to do it and the three of us thought it would be a good chance to have a trip together before families get in the way of the old fashioned boys trip.
Also, people are donating money for a charity if we do it in the designated time.
I understand why you'd ask though. Great question.

Adrian
FollowupID: 696974

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:53

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:53
does make crossing the WA border 7 times look good now :-)
FollowupID: 696976

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:42

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:42
OK the charity and road trip angle I can understand

I have met people on the road doing ridiculous distances on so called "Holidays"

It makes me wonder why they bother :-)
FollowupID: 696988

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:53

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:53
A bit of fun but all in a sensible manner of course.
Hope to catch you aout there one day.
FollowupID: 696993

Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:49

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:49
Best post I've seen here for a long time hahahahaha
AnswerID: 426397

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:57

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:57
Lucky he is in a Hilux hehehehe

FollowupID: 696977

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:56

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 20:56
so there is a bit more behind it then, now i start seeing some sanity in it, what is your itenery/stops ect and what charity....
NOW you are talkin..
AnswerID: 426398

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:31

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:31
What a stupid thing to do.....as of today Friday 06 August 2010, our road toll in WA is 103, we dont need three more people added to it.

Cheers for now...Williamh...Bunbury...WA.
FollowupID: 696984

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:44

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:44
Thanks for your comment. It's great to hear from you.
Unfortunately we won't be heading to Bunbury so I won't be able to catch up with you. We are all experienced drivers and have actually devised a Fatigue Management Plan for this trip and I'm sure we and all road users are safe.
Thanks again for the comment though.
FollowupID: 696989

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:13

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:13
Good on you lot ADoyle and we hope you enjoy your trip/adventure - get into it and keep a good eye on the timetable.

I wasted too many years telling myself that 'one day we will ....' and it took a few close calls health wise to make realise 'this was out opportunity, lets do it now'. When we got started 5 years ago we stopped here and there but were concentrating on the destination too much. Now we like to stop and smell the roses a bit and sometimes we get to have a cuppa, coupla beers or a good feed and bit of a chat with people like you lot and we are having a ball.

This is not a stupid trip and probably hasn't been done by too many apart from those in the Redex Trials, etc. Keep us posted (if you have time) and one day we may meet up around the traps.

Paul & Fiona
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 697000

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:27

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:27
Paul and Fiona
Thanks.
Need I say anything else? I know it's not only possible (it's been done a lot quicker), but I also know that it can be done safely.
We're all about 30 years old so it is a good opportunity to see our country in a short time. I get tired of people my age telling me what the canals of Venice and the bloody Great Wall of China is like when they haven't travelled more than 100 km from their home here in Australia.
We have all travelled quite a bit in the eastern states but this is our chance to (quickly) see what our country has to offer.
I know that one day I will have the opportunity to take my time with whatever travels I plan, but at the moment, this is good fun and I can't wait to leave.
Also, a good cause is going to benefit so that makes me happy.
Thanks again, and I would love to catch up with you äround the traps".
Adrian
FollowupID: 697003

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:40

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:40
I can now see your point well, have done quite a few loooooong trips like it and it sounds like you are well prepaired and well planned, unlike 50% of the tourists i see every day who claim and brag how good they are but are so un prepaired it is a joke .......
In the NT and QLD just be very careful of the animals in the early mornings and late arvos, in the NT you will be able to sit on 130klms so will gain heaps of ground ...................... you should be able to go from QLD border to WA border in 1 day ..... if you dont do Darwin, that adds on a heap...
On our trips we have found that the first stint after a GOOD rest, like a full days, you can clock up some serious klms, we just go as far as possible without stopping .................
And make CERTAIN you have the best lights money can buy, if you do get caught out (flat tyres???) and have to drive some nights you will regret it, poor or even standard lights strain the old brain more than anything else ........
FollowupID: 697005

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:01

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:01
Joe
Sorry I didn't get back to you earlier, but the charity is the Childrens Hospital in Sydney (nothing offiicial, just people pledging money).
Two of us are mechanics (I'm better than Jay) and the other bloke is also extremely handy and smart when it comes to vehicles. We have extra filters. globes, fuses, tools (apart from the other blokes) and tyre repair kits on board.
We're going clockwise and will be hitting Darwin with a day off there but I like the info you gave on timing...very helpful.
Driving lights are not a problem as I have had these ones on for a while and thay're great.
Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 697011

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 00:13

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 00:13
Dont happen to be on FB do you, (Adrian Doyle ??)
You guys will have a ball, if i was 30 still i would meet you at Isa and probally turn it into a pub crawl .........
Good luck and have fun, hope all goes well
FollowupID: 697023

Follow Up By: adoyle - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 14:56

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 14:56
I'm not on FB anymore but I'll be setting up a blog, vids on YouTube or something similar when we return. I'll do a follow up on here and let you all know.
FollowupID: 697170

Reply By: Wilko - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:13

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:13
Hi Adoyle,

It can be done but it will be a lot of driving, but if you reckon your up to it go for it.

I did a trip to Kimberlys from Parkes and back in 16 days (work trip) when I was young and it was a long drive.

My tip is to know your limitations and dont eat baked beans lol.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 426402

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:56

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:56
Thaks Wilko
I used to live in Parkes actually.
We all know our limits and have no reason to get back at any set time but it is better to have a plan and schedule than nothing as I see it.
It'll be a good experience I think, and thanks for your reply.
FollowupID: 696995

Reply By: mikehzz - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:19

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:19
Mate I did similar a few years ago (2006) and its tough. We went Sydney, Broken Hill, Wilpena, Coober Pedy, Uluru, Darwin, Broome via Halls Creek, down the coast to Perth then straight back to Sydney.... all tar, 18 days, 15,000 km very tough but a great experience and better than sitting at home twiddling thumbs. Contrary to popular opinion you get to see a hell of a lot. It sure does wet your appetite for a more relaxed version. We had 2 days at Uluru, Darwin and Perth, Daydream mine tour Broken Hill, Wilpena Pound, camel ride and crocodile show in Broome, dolphins at Monkey Mia, glass bottom boat at Coral Bay plus more. Also ran out of petrol in the middle of the Nullabor looking for flying saucers at 1 am due to a faulty fuel gauge. All good fun. It sounds like you have 3 drivers? I hope so or you will be total dog meat (we had 4 drivers available). Definately not everyone's cup of tea but I still look back on it as an excellent time. So do the others who came with me, we talk about it often.
Don't be stupid though, keep off the road if you get too tired and don't let a driver drive without someone else awake to keep an eye on him especially at night. Stop at every garage out there and get fuel just so you get out of the car, stretch and change drivers. Works out at around 2 hour shifts as its usually about 200kms between garages.
Do not underestimate how dangerous what you are doing can be. It does become an endurance test even if you are used to long distance country driving.
Cheers, Mike
PS anyone doing the maths on our trip, we did Perth to Sydney (about 4000 kms) in 40 hrs straight using all 4 drivers as we had all done that section in daylight before.
AnswerID: 426403

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:06

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:06
Mike, thanks a lot mate, that was great to read.
As mentioned before, I have planned this well I think so we will be fine. Our plan is not to drive during the night where possible, and it works out at 13 541 km point to point so an estimated driving range of 14 000 km should be okay.
Our plan is to do two to three hour stints as you mentioned. However, as my fuel range is 1304km, we will be stopping all of the time anyway as I will be taking photos along the way.
That trip of yours sounds like a good one to put in the memory bank for future. Glad you and your mates are still talking about it.
Thanks again for getting in touch, Adrian.
FollowupID: 696997

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:06

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:06
Go for it. I'm old now but I still run my own business and no one gives me holidays so I have to steal them where I can. Two weekends ago I drove nearly 5000 kms in 5 days (Sydney, Marree, Birdsville, Sydney) so I could see the Cooper Creek ferry, and it was just great.
FollowupID: 697012

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:17

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:17
That's the sort of thing I want to do when I'm old. You sound like someone I'd love to meet on the road.
We'll have a great trip and hope to catch up with you one day mate.
Thanks for you advice, Adrian
FollowupID: 697015

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:41

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 21:41
three (3) guys in a Hilux ?

Think it may be a bit of a pain in the a*** somehow, hope you have good seats cause you will be sitting down almost continiously in the same position.

Better take some good deoderant with you, will be more important than anything else in there :-)

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 426410

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:08

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:08
Either that or I could leave the othe blokes out there when they get too shoddy on the nose...
FollowupID: 696998

Reply By: trilogy - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:26

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:26
Have you calculated the distance we did a basic lap of 24,500kms (took us 6 months)to do this in 15 days would be 1633 kms per day, averaging 90 kph (allowing stops,cities, towns & roadworks) and travelling at 120 the rest of the time, your driving days will be over 18 hours.
Greyhound buses average speed is 56-58 kmh on most of their long distance trips, so averaging 90 is maybe unatainable.
But if is your thing go for it,and I hope I dont see the results her and not in the funeral notices.
AnswerID: 426416

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:41

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:41
Sorry Trilogy, I made a mistake (we're all human).
The total distance we will be making point to point is 13554km. Therfore, at the estimated times that I have gathered throuh speaking to people who have travelled each section of this trip, and at an average speed of 90km/hr, we will be travelling for 10.10407 hrs each day. Attainable? I believe so. Safely? Easily. I'd love to hear your thoughts though. Thanks for the reply, and take it easy. Adrian.
FollowupID: 697006

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:57

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:57
Google shows the route is actually around 12,800 km's, probably closer to 14K with detours so comes in just over 900 per day. In reality that's still a 12 hour day every day for 2 weeks.
Cheers Craig...................
FollowupID: 697010

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:09

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:09
The route we are taking is as mentioned above. I understand that it could be a 12 hour day, however when you only drive one third of that, it's is a bit better don't you think. When split shift driving, and watching out for each other, I think that four hours of driving in a 24 hour period is attainable. People in Sydeny have to do that each day!! On a serious note though, I am aware of the fatigue risks and we are all aware of how important it it to respect that risk. We'll be fine.
Thanks mate, Adrian.
FollowupID: 697013

Follow Up By: trilogy - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:09

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:09
Crikey we must have turned left insted of right.Anyway have a great trip and stay safe.
FollowupID: 697014

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:19

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:19
Thanks Trilogy, I intend of having a great trip.
Adrian
PS Don't turn the map when you read it!! LOL
FollowupID: 697016

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:31

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:31
While you may have planned all your campsites Adrian I'd suggest once on the road to use them as a guide only & play it by ear. There will be delays which will no doubt hold you up in places so no point pushing on past being tired. You'll find roadside stops spread every 50 KM's or less so just roll your swags out when you've had enough. When planning your trip I suggest you reduce the number of KM's you'd cover at night as often the wildlife doesn't allow for top speed. A good set of driving lights will be a necessity.
"...suggestions on what to look at."
With nearly 13,000km's to cover it wont allow much time to see anything that's not on the side of the road. Certainly a great challenge. Drive safe.
Cheers Craig...............
AnswerID: 426418

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:51

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:51
Craig
I have planned our nightly stops within fuel, fatigue and distance criteria. All stops have multiple alternatives in about a 100 - 200 km raduis as well so we should be okay, but I see your point. I'm hoping to not do many k's at night at all. I do have great driving lights fiited all the same.
I know we won't see a lot or get to meet people on the way as much as I'd like but this is just run one of many (a recon mission if you like).
Thanks for your comments make, it helps to hear what experienced trevellers in this great country think.
Adrian
FollowupID: 697009

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:20

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:20
When I said there may be delays I meant waiting for the garage to open to fix your flat tyre or for a replacement windscreen to come in or for the flood waters to receede. You may end up 500km short for the day then need to push into the next night to make up the time. Generally most of my itineraries are gone out the window by day three :-) On our last trip over the Nullabour we hit a sand storm with visability down to just a couple of white lines & head winds of 70+ kph.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 697017

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:25

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:25
Thanks Craig, that is useful info to have.
Cheers, very helpful.
FollowupID: 697019

Reply By: Bazooka - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:47

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 22:47
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 426422

Reply By: howesy - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:05

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:05
WWWOOOWW 15 days I took 9 weeks and I reckon that wasnt long enough so I went twice more and I still reckon theres more to see
AnswerID: 426425

Reply By: PradoMad - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:26

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:26
I fully support your trip.

I did a 3 week trip trough Eastern Europe w/ my brother in January 82 in a $ 500.00 German car (Opel). 10,000km in 3 weeks. That included 2500km trough some of Russians worst roads I have ever seen.

Migrating to Australia from Switzerland I have seen many places of this most beautiful country and did a trip around w/ a Valiant Charger in 83: 23,000km in 4 months ( almost made it into the Palm Valley ).
Could be an opportunity to make a great Video clip..??!!

Enjoy and post some pictures
JS.
AnswerID: 426430

Follow Up By: adoyle - Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:52

Friday, Aug 06, 2010 at 23:52
Thanks a lot mate. I agree with the mandatory part..and the optional. Great.
FollowupID: 697021

Reply By: Off-track - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 00:23

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 00:23
Can be done fairly easily, if you're the right person. I did something similar several years ago when I went from Adelaide to Adelaide via Ayers Rock, Darwin, Wyndham, Derby, Broome, Tom Price, Dampier, Exmouth, Perth, Margaret River, Albany, Esperence, Kalgoolie, Pt Augusta and other minor detours in 2 weeks. All up around 14000km in a Falcon ute.

I was on my own and it is still one of the best trips I have ever done. Saw quite a lot actually and had enough time to see what I wanted so as to plan for a longer trip in the future. At no time did I feel fatigued from driving and it was just a matter of pulling over and jumping into the swag when wanting a kip.

Would do it all again in a heartbeat...if I didnt have wife and kids to tow along!
AnswerID: 426432

Reply By: caseh - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 07:46

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 07:46
Hi Adrian. Sorry I don't have any suggestions. I have done a fair bit of Aussie sealed roads and now we are planning a more leisurely trip buying a 4x4 camper and doing some more out of the way and unsealed roads. I always thought Qantas flew between Sydney, Darwin, Perth, Adelaide and Melbourne(smile)
All I can say enjoy your trip. After all a man's got to do what a man's got to do.
You will hopefully get the chance later on to do it at a more leisurely pace.
Cheers, Case New Zealand
AnswerID: 426446

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 07:50

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 07:50
Adrian, seems to be for a good cause mate. How can we as members donate?

Travel safely and enjoy.

Fred.
AnswerID: 426447

Follow Up By: adoyle - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 14:59

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 14:59
There isn't an official way to donate as we haven't set it up as a charity event or anything like that.
If you wish to donate to the Children's Hospital however, it would be much appreciated.
Thanks for you comments mate.
Adrian
FollowupID: 697171

Reply By: Moto - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 09:00

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 09:00
Adrian

Good luck for your trip. Have you got a SPOT Satellite Messenger devices so that we can keep track of your adventures ? We would be keen to follow your progress. I'm sure family and friends would also be keen to see where you are at all times.
Drive carefully and stay safe.

One life. Live it while you can.

AnswerID: 426454

Follow Up By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 11:07

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 11:07
I was thinking that as well. Would be great to watch with SPOT. Would also be great if you could create a blog so people can follow your adventures and see some pictures.

Just wondering if your 2 other mates names are Jeremy and Richard....:-)....Would make for a great Top Gear adventure.

No doubt it will be a challenge. But that is the whole point. I wish you luck.

At least you will have a story to talk about in 50 years time when you are sitting in the nursing home with those other people who never did anything.

FollowupID: 697046

Reply By: MrsMolly - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 09:09

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 09:09
Crazy but why not. Can't wait to watch the trip on here.
Enjoy every minute !!
AnswerID: 426456

Reply By: carlsp - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 13:07

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 13:07
Hi Adrian,

It can certainly be done. I did it by myself in 1994 in an EF falcon wagon (Company car of course) in 11 days. Perth to Perth on Highway 1. I even made a 3.5 hour VHS video. It was the most boring film I have ever watched, I must say.

The record is held by a Victorian Highway patrol motorcycle cop on a Kawasaki 1300. He did it in, can you beleive it, 7 and a bit days. Melbourne to Melbourne anti clockwise. He did not have a hot meal till he reached Mt Isa. They would let him sleep for a couple of hours, then wake him and tell him he had slept for 8 hours. Off he went again. Think he would have realised, that the sun was not in the right place but what the heck.

I do not think this will ever be beaten, certainly not by me as my current trip around Australia, is into it's third year already and I have at last tally, 4971 kilometers to go.

Good luck and it is something you will look back on in the years to come. People need more adventure in their lives. You have a plan and 3 drivers, what about a Bullbar on that Hilux?

Carl

I cannot remember much
AnswerID: 426489

Reply By: Cruiser .- Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 14:09

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 14:09
adoyle,

I have a mate in the ACT who did a lap anti clockwise in 17 days on a Harley

He just camped out with a bike swag, a very large knife and a pistol. Had no troubles at all.

He grabbed a burger when he got fuel and apart from that and sleep, he really didn't stop much.

In his case it was a head clearing exercise.

Have fun and be safe

Cruiser
AnswerID: 426499

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 17:28

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 17:28
Around the block is approx 25 thousand klms.
Divide that by 15 days and you would have to do 1,666 klms per day.
So what will you see ......Just a white line .......
15 days would be better spent doing just one area of Aus.
Mate you are an accident waiting to happen.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 426511

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 21:02

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 21:02
It's about half that, depending on the route.
FollowupID: 697112

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:19

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:19
Im having real problems posting tonight. Gee I spent ages writing you a note..
Take a video camera. Three young fellas all I can think of is the one liners. Interview each other. I reckon it would be funny. As mentioned above blog your trip. Would love to follow it.
AnswerID: 426537

Reply By: bruce - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:38

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:38
I just hope that you do not kill yourself and any innocent people that just happen to get in your way...complete foolishness......
AnswerID: 426541

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:57

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:57
No, that would be what your reply is.
FollowupID: 697110

Reply By: PradoMad - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 23:06

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 23:06
...whats with all this ...accident to happen?....killing yourself?....killing somebody? There are 3 guys doing what a lot of people would love to do; driving around this great place!!!

Enjoy your trip and ignore those doomsayers!
JS.
AnswerID: 426569

Follow Up By: adoyle - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 15:02

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 15:02
Thanks mate, that saves me saying the same thing. AD
FollowupID: 697172

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 23:48

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 23:48
I have been thinking about a run out to the Birdsville Track ferry.

I have an invitation to an event in Broken Hill on the Friday night. I can leave Sydney on the Tuesday morning and was thinking I could pick up a mate in the Hill have Wednesday, Thursday and Friday to get to get out to the ferry and back to the Hill. I can go to the do on Friday night and home on Saturday in time for work on Sunday.

My Mrs thinks I'm nuts but I will look quite normal when I show her this post.

adoyle,

You seem to have done the maths, I thought it was further than you say but I won't argue especially since Crackles is backing you up. I don't reckon you will see much but you will have a great story to tell. Go for it, keep safe.

AnswerID: 426574

Follow Up By: PradoMad - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 16:50

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 16:50
.....somehow the Mrs in this world don't understand us blokes?! Here we are creating some adventure and excitement for them and they think we are nuts or childish..?? Anyway sometimes I think it is a good thing; otherwise who knows what I would be up too....
JS.
FollowupID: 697181

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 08:48

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 08:48
All you will see is a lot of tar and dead kangaroos!! If thats your thing, go for it!! Michael

AnswerID: 426587

Reply By: adoyle - Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 20:33

Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 20:33
I have now completed this trip, and many thanks to all of you who had positive comments or suggestions from my previous post.
We travelled 13694km over 15 days with one fulll day off in the middle.
Our route, in order of our stops each night are as follows:
Sydney to Adelaide via Melbourne
Ceduna
Fraser Range
Yanchep via Kalgoorlie
Carvarvon
Eighty Mile Beach
Quondong Point 50km north of Broome
Cockburn near Kununurra
Darwin
Attack Creek 50km north of the Three Ways near Tennant Creek
Hughenden
Yeppoon
Ballina then Sydney

It was a brilliant trip and I would do it again in a heart beat. We didn't have any problems, apart from a minor chip in the windscreen. Didn't even use any oil in the trusty Hilux.
For anyone who thinks it can't be done or that it an accident waiting to happen, get out there and have a go. Plan well and enjoy it. What a great country to see by road with some mates.
Cheers, AD.
AnswerID: 428881