Drunk Staff, what do you do?

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 10:21
ThreadID: 80568 Views:5920 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
Hi all, hope you are all having great travels. We didn't! We have just got home from a 4 week holiday, Husband, myself and 2 toddlers. Everything was going great until we got to Longreach and stayed at the Discovery Caravan Park. One of our toddlers was playing under a tree when one of the staff members was riding around on a 4 wheeler motor bike, with a stubbie in his hand, and nearly hit our little girl. They fly around on this bike all day and dont worry about the speed limit. When we approached management about it, after we settled down, they thought it was funny. Their comment was, "Geeze we nearly had a mess to clean up, hey". Needless to say we pulled out straight away. We ended up staying at the Illfracombe Park, and it was so friendly.

People always say the Outback is so friendly, and the rest of our trip was, apart from that one park. It was a real shock, and I can't believe he was riding around with a stubbie in his hand. The park was dirty, as well as the toilet block. But thanks to the owners at Illfracombe Park, who made our stay great.

Travel safe everyone, and have a great time in the outback.
Julie.

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 10:32

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 10:32
Yep, isn't the Ilfracombe park a great spot.

We have stayed there several times now and it is a great spot. The last time, one of the locals had won a meat raffle somewhere and put on a free BBQ for all of the caravanners.

Anyhow I just put stuff like what happened to you in my memory bank and never go back.
AnswerID: 426463

Reply By: Fiona & Paul - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 10:54

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 10:54
Discovery Parks are a large group I believe, did you report this to anyone else other than local management Julie?

I am sure something would be done about that issue if the issue was brought to the attention of senior management. This is information for travellers to be aware of.

Paul H

Paul H
OZ Downunder

AnswerID: 426468

Follow Up By: Me me - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 11:00

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 11:00
Hi Paul, we were going to report it to the local police but were told because it is on private property we cant do anything. If he had of made contact with her, we would have taken it further. There are alot of the Discovery Parks being advertised for sale in the papers, and the Longreach one is one of the parks being advertised. Maybe they aren't going to well at the moment, and thats why they have the I dont Care attitude. The manager at the Longreach park is a real cowboy and has a real attitude problem with everyone.

Our little girl is ok and thats the most important thing, but as you said we have a memory bank, and we will never support Discovery parks again.

Julie
FollowupID: 697044

Follow Up By: Fatso - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:41

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 17:41
I don't think caravan parks are , as we might regard, private property here in Qld.
I think they are termed "private property with public access". Just like shopping centres, where all the road rules apply.
You can be fined for not stopping at a stop sign in a shopping centre in Qld.
You can also be fined for not wearing a seat belt.

You would probably find it is illegal for the rider of a quad in a caravan park to not hold a drivers license or have provisional registration on the quad.
I am pretty sure you can be fined in Qld for drink driving in you own backyard.
FollowupID: 697371

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 11:31

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 11:31
Hi there,

Firstly thank God your little one was unharmed. We also experienced this during our trip round Oz - won't mention the park, however up Nth we stayed at a CP (well known one) and one night there was a LOT of noise, partying, drunk idiot on a quad bike with a couple of half naked female backpackers on the back no helmets ect - on investigating it turned out to be the park manager partying on with all the backpackers!

The thing that really bugged me is being trained in Snr first aid - I would have been the one to pick up the pieces, not to mention the lack of sleep that night.

AnswerID: 426475

Follow Up By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 12:31

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 12:31
Matt aand Caz, I wish you would name the CP you refer to as I also will be travelling north soon and would like to know where to steer clear of.

regards.............jeff
FollowupID: 697051

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 15:43

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 15:43
Yeh I’d wish you would name the park too –“ a couple of half naked female backpackers” – I’d like to see that!
I was recently at a park where an old biddy complained that the young couple next door kept her awake because they were bonking all night.
These filthy disgusting young people should be banned – I just hate it (unless I getting my fair share too!)

Regards Dennis
FollowupID: 697072

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 09:04

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 09:04
LOL Dennis, there are half naked backpackers everywhere!!! up in the tropics!!

Hey Jeff,

I have MM you the park.

Cheers Caz
FollowupID: 697148

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 11:48

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 11:48
Julie,
Just to add to this and hell I like a cool drink.

Any person in charge of a motor vehicle in Queensland, whether it be a public place (which you were in) or private property can be charged with driving under the influence.

That park used to be clean and tidy so something has changed, others have also complained about it and gone to Illfracombe.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 426479

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 12:35

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 12:35
Gday Julie,
I cant see anything wrong with riding around with a stubbie in his hand, and it doesn't mean he's drunk? But speeding around kids is a different story! And the "mess to clean up" comment could have possibly caused another accident.....
You should have stepped out from behind a tree with a big log and accidentally taken him out........ sorry mate.... didn't see you coming.....might have to slow down a bit when you get back from the dentist! LOL

AnswerID: 426483

Follow Up By: Roughasguts - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 16:35

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 16:35
About here I would be thinking about getting smashed on some cheap bottles of Red and throwing up in his Office..... Oooops looks like you might have to clean this up instead!! He he! (after the hitting the kid comment).
Don't get angry get even it's better for your health.
FollowupID: 697077

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 17:26

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 17:26
Hahahahaha......not if it means drinking cheap red till ya spew!!!! LOL
FollowupID: 697082

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 17:36

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 17:36
Hairy, I like your kinda justice mate... :-)))))

Fred.
FollowupID: 697085

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:24

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:24
Hairy,
telling a mate of mine a story about a hells angel in Townsville a couple of weeks ago, he confirmed that a couple of angels were in town as he is a high ranking member of another push bike club.

Happened at a caltex servo where they have an entry only by the operator at night, workmates father outlaw has taxis and is in having a cuppa, servo operator opens the door for someone, he is the angel, one of your locals (if you know what I mean) who is inside does a runner with some booty through the door, well old mate with the tatts coat hangers him as he runs through the door. Only words he said were! nothing is free here mate.

Poetic justice always works.
FollowupID: 697108

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 23:32

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 23:32
Hahahaha.....nice work!
FollowupID: 697132

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 13:19

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 13:19
It would be helpful to may travellers if you were able to put a report into Badgers site.

Badgers link

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 426490

Follow Up By: Me me - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 14:40

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 14:40
Jack, what a great site, Badgers, very helpful for travellers.
thanks
Julie
FollowupID: 697065

Follow Up By: Signman - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 13:46

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 13:46
Yea Jack- thanks for that info.....tops !!

FollowupID: 697165

Follow Up By: Whitewulf - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 08:07

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 08:07
Thanks for the link.
Was just looking to see if ExplorOz had a spot like this.

FollowupID: 697294

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 13:41

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 13:41
We stayed there in mid June, every evening it was packed out, I noticed the staff driving the Quad Bikes, and also noticed that some staff lived in the Quarters provided near the Wool Shed Restaurant at the rear of the complex, I did notice one bloke riding the Quad one afternoon with a Can or a Stubbie, couldn't tell what he was drinking at the time, he was comming from the direction of the Staff Quarters, you mentioned that you spoke to management, are you sure you didn't speak to one of the Front Office Girls at the Check In Desk, apparently they have casual staff there, but the people we dealt with were very professional and pleasant.

AnswerID: 426495

Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 17:58

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 17:58
I am pretty sure it is illegal to operate vehicle any vehicle in a public area while in possession of an open container of alcohol.

I would have been checking with the local police ( it may be worth giving Longreach police a call to ask them and quietly mention it )

They may want to pay the park a quite visit before an accident happens.

I know the old chief of police out there would have gone round and had a quiet word with them :-)
AnswerID: 426514

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:27

Saturday, Aug 07, 2010 at 20:27
Hi Julie

Glad you children are OK after the near miss. The silver lining to that cloud is that you discovered lovely the Ilfracombe CP which is high on my list of best CPs we have stayed at. Many people commute to the attractions at Longreach from Ilfracombe.

AnswerID: 426538

Reply By: garryk - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 13:02

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 13:02
G'day
It sounds as if it has not improved much .
We were there in Winter 2008 and it is the only caravan park we have stayed at that is firmly in our minds as " NEVER EVER stay here again "
We even avoid all Discovery parks if possible now as well.
I cannot find anything good to say about it at all , and to tell all that was bad is more than I feel like typeing.
I talked to other business owners in town and they were also affected because many feel the same way and shorten their stay and do not return because the only other park in Longreach is /or was very small.

Garry
AnswerID: 426609

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 17:11

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 17:11
And if the truth be told you would find that the Quadbike rider was a Tourist employed on a casual basis during the terrorist season , Dont Go Blaming The Locals For The Actions Of The " coud'nt give a stuff tourist employee".
AnswerID: 426627