Removal of Front Wheel bearings - GU Patrol

Submitted: Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 16:12
ThreadID: 8057 Views:19778 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Just a quick question which I hope someone can help me out with.......

Would anyone know what the tool is called (if there is one) to remove the lock nut off the outer wheel bearing?? The lock nut has two holes either side of the axle which are used to tighten / loosen then a number of smaller holes used fto align the retaining screws.

Until now I have been using a couple of same size punches in the holes with a handle between to tighten but am thinking there has got to be a better way

I thought it was a C spanner but Repco and Auto One say they cant help.

Reply By: John from River City 4WD Club Inc. - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 16:32

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 16:32
Sorry can't help but know what you're talking about. I call mine a screwdriver and hammer (with a light touch). One would hope the tool you refer to has the ability to fit a torque wrench to. I'll be watching for the responses. My 1996 GQ has the same setup. Found out after buying a $50 hub nut socket.
AnswerID: 34994

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:11

Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:11
John,

The correct tool does have the ability to fit a torque wrench to it.
Doing it the way you do, you will get a nasty surprise one day when the bearing race has span over the stub axle damaging it.
FollowupID: 25470

Reply By: GOB member vic - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 16:45

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 16:45
goodday chris
dont know the name of the tool but if you have a workshop manual it usually lists the tools needed to do different jobs
steveimagine a 03 gu 4.2tdin the picture
as i am having trouble sizing the picture
AnswerID: 34997

Reply By: Mickl - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 18:17

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 18:17
Sounds like the same set up as my Mazda Bravo. I replaced mine about a month ago and used a drift to tap the nut around, this played on my mind over the following few days so I knocked up a tool to suit at work( so I could use a torque wrench on the nut) in the end I was pretty close with just using the drift and needn't have bothered with the torque wrench.( I work in mechanical engineering so have had years of practice :) )

I my case I have never seen a tool that could be used (maybe a "C" spanner if you bent the handle, but still no torque setting). Cars use a lot of "odd" tools and these are available through the dealer so try them.
AnswerID: 35005

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 19:41

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 19:41
gday chris.
the nissan part your looking for is kv40105400.
looks like a steering wheel remover wouldnt be to hard to make one from a steering wheel puller.
acording to the manual you set the nuts to 167-196 nm.
sspin wheel afew times.
loosen of to zero nm.
then tighten to 3-5 nm.
back by popular demand
:-)
AnswerID: 35013

Follow Up By: Member - Chris (Wollongong) - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 20:38

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 20:38
Thanks Diamond...

Dont suppose you know the approx price do you???

But going off Trucksters reply below maybe I dont want to know!!!

If they are a ridiculos price I will end up making something me thinks.
FollowupID: 25312

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 21:31

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 21:31
Chris,
Genuine tools, cost heaps for ANYTHING.. Bikes, cars etc... Specially when they are something 'specialized', or one offs..
FollowupID: 25317

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 20:11

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 20:11
You will soil yourself asking Nissan how much, for example Genuine Nissan socket for the odd sized, something like 53.4mm nut for wheel bearing was $90...

mate made one for nothing.
AnswerID: 35018

Follow Up By: diamond(bendigo) - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 20:59

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 20:59
tubes worth a fortune about $20each i nearly fell over.back by popular demand
:-)
FollowupID: 25314

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 22:13

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 22:13
For Simex Tubes? thats cheap as bleep !
FollowupID: 25322

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 23:02

Friday, Oct 24, 2003 at 23:02
Hi Chris,

Don't buy the tool from Nissan. You can make it yourself (or with a help of a mate with a welder). Gregory's Manual #519 for the GU Patrol (page 193) gives a diagram. Essentially just a piece of flat steel plate with three holes, into which are fitted three bolts (suggest use 1/4" plate). One in the middle is short and welded to the bar (what your socket drives). This bolt can be held by a nut but given the torque being applied welding is recommended. The outer two bolts are longer and screw into lock nut, holes in plate matched to PCD of lock nut. These outer bolts have a nut on backside of plate to tighten up once screwed into lock nut to keep assembly rigid.

Re-tightening torques and method per advise from Diamond.

If you don't have access to the manual, send me a fax# and I'll send you relevant pages.

Hugh

AnswerID: 35041

Follow Up By: joc45 - Saturday, Oct 25, 2003 at 18:09

Saturday, Oct 25, 2003 at 18:09
I take it this GU hub is quite different to the manual hubs of the old GQ (I made a 52mm socket with some flat iron, 50mm pipe and a welder for that beast).
I haven't taken the GU auto hubs apart yet, and don't have a manual (read - don't have the $800). If you could scan the pages and email them, I'd also appreciate it.
gerron@bigpond.net.au
Can set up fax by prior arrangement on the PC, but prefer email.
ta in advance, Gerry
FollowupID: 25359

Follow Up By: Tony - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 10:52

Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 10:52
I'll be in that Hugh.

02 62057242

Att: Tony.
FollowupID: 25456

Follow Up By: Member - Chris (Wollongong) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 16:32

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 16:32
Hugh,

Sounds like the go.....if you could fax me those pages it would be much appreciated.

Fax number is (02) 4283 1227.

Many thanks.
FollowupID: 25714

Reply By: GUPatrol - Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:08

Monday, Oct 27, 2003 at 14:08
You can no longer get the tool from Nissan, Nissan supplies to the dealership once only, the tool manufacturer though is in Melbourne and the price for the proper tool is $100.
You need to use the tool (or a fabricated one) because if you don't give it the correct torque, the bearing race spins on the hub and damages the stub axle.

Will
AnswerID: 35247