St George QLD Camping/Fishing spots

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 17:08
ThreadID: 80600 Views:12195 Replies:4 FollowUps:13
We are making our way up to St George in next couple of weeks and researching for a few days fishing and camping, then heading across to the coast.
Can anyone recommend any sites, we have a nissan traytop 4WD and an off road camper trailer, we have never been there before, all info is greatly appreciated

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 17:24

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 17:24
If you are there next weekend let me know and I will personally show you some spots to free camp :) As we are going there to visit family ;)

If not I'll do a detailed reply on here for you :)

AnswerID: 426630

Follow Up By: Member - Margaret B (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 18:58

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 18:58
Thanks for the offer Kev, unfortunately we wont be there next weekend, not til possibly the next weekend, would appreciate if you could do the detailed report for me, hopeful to meet you some other time.
Margaret
FollowupID: 697197

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:26

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:26
Free camps can be found reasonably close to St George all the ones I am going to list here are also pretty good fishing spots :)

1. Travel west over the bridge and turn left as soon as you get off the bridge, follow the dirt track down to the south along the river to where it starts the bend. Find a spot to camp around the bend and fish in the deep gutters in the western side of the river. I have heard that some good sized Murray Cod have been taken along there in the past few months. You will get a bit of noise especially at night from vehicle clanging over the steel cover plates on the bridge so it is essential to go around the bend in the river to minimise the noise ;)

2. Again go over the bridge to the west and turn right onto the Golf Course Rd, travel along this (bitumen) till the Golf course main gate, continue along the road (formed Gravel) for about 1-2km (until the first house on the left) turn right at the 1st house down a dirt track to the river. This spot is the pump site for the 1st and 2nd. There is reasonably level ground and is another good fishing spot. Fish near the dead standing timber and beware of SNAGS.
You may get visited by Agnes (she lives in the 1st house), lovely old lady who I went fishing with in the 1990 floods (skipped school for it as well LOL).

3. From spot 2 follow the track upstream (this is a tight track and may result in some pinstripes) and you will find a few more fishing holes. Where the power lines go over the river (about 1-2km upstream from spot 2) it is average fishing and there is lots of underwater snags from the trees being cut down for the powerline in the lte 80's
ThePump site at the end of the powerline is a great camping spot and has some good fishing.

3. From St George head north towards Surat, turn left towards Beardmore Dam. At the 1st Cattle grid turn left and make your way down to the river. Free camping is permitted there and there has been some good fish taken from this area in the last couple of months, the colder water may slow the fish movement down though :(
I think from the other side of the 2nd cattle grid to the dam wall no overnight camping is permitted.

3. A good Park to stay at in St George is the Pelican Back Tourist Park, it may have some highway noise depending on traffic.

4. A good park to stay at and to fish from is Kupunda Fishing Park. It is pretty much at the Carnarvon and Moonie Highway intersection.

On your way up to St George stop in at Nindigully in the flood in March the water was up to the floorboards of the pub :)

Hope this helps you out :)

If you need any further info about what to see in the local St George Area, drop into the Visitor Info Centre on "The Terrace", it is near the footy oval.

FollowupID: 697203

Follow Up By: blue one - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:36

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:36
Well done Kev

Will have to catch up with you one day when we are up there.

FollowupID: 697207

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:47

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:47
There is more but I don't want to overdo the spots especially if only staying for a short period :)

But there is one more spot LOL

If travelling up from Hebel / Dirranbandi and there has been NO RAIN, go via the Whyenbah Road and stop overnight at the Whyenbah Bridge, as a Kid i used to go to the Whyenbah Beach Lifesavers carnivals held there as there was a huge river sand bar along that section of the river LOL

The 1st section of the road from Dirranbandi is on black soil plains and even with a small amount of rain turns it into an instant quagmire. after the bridge the road is a good all weather track (well it was pre flood)

FollowupID: 697211

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:49

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:49
I have also added the 2nd spot into places

"Outlands" Pump site

I'll add the others along this section soon :)

FollowupID: 697212

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 20:02

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 20:02
Track turnoff to an old fishing hole

I have also just added

"Myall Grove" Pump site the system is playing games and won't allow me to copy the link (damn system errors :()

HTH

FollowupID: 697219

Follow Up By: Member - Margaret B (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 20:11

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 20:11
Thank all for the interesting info, we hope to hang about the region for a week whilst waiting for our son to get to Awoonga Dam our destination,hope to catch the big one and will put up a pic.
Thanks again to all, Margaret
FollowupID: 697222

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 18:39

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 18:39
Yep, Get in contact with member Sir Kev, he knows the in's & out's of the St George area, take him up on his offer.

AnswerID: 426645

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:13

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:13
Spot on Jon, & he is easy to bait! So the fishing should be good. LOL
FollowupID: 697200

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:41

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:41
To Right Barry,
As well as the good spots to camp. :)
Must admit, Last years Gathering was Great. Cheers Kev & Sam.
Unfortunately couldn't make it to the West for this years, would of loved to been able to.
Hmmm
FollowupID: 697208

Reply By: rumpig - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:12

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:12
we recently camped on the river down from the weir wall, cross the weir on way out of town then turn left. make sure you go a fair way down stream, the weir wall makes quite a racket when vehicles go over especially trucks in the middle of the night.
one guy was camped up near the wall itself in his caravan, it would have been deafening at night i reckon when the vehicles passed by.

pic from campsite the morning we left

AnswerID: 426650

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:44

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 19:44
Nice!

FollowupID: 697209

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 06:54

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 06:54
Hi Margaret,

We recently stayed a few nights at Kapunda fishing park, a few kms north of the town. Very friendly owners and has powered and unpowered sites, many along the river bank. Campfires allowed in firepaces, also amenities. Drinking water in the tank too.

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 426709

Follow Up By: Member - Margaret B (NSW) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 09:17

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 09:17
Hi Heather, thanks for the info, I had looked up Kapunda Park on the WWW and we definitely put that on the aqgenda, as for the wood, is it easily collected or should we bring our own into the park. Marg
FollowupID: 697298

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 09:29

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 09:29
I think you will find that they may supply it. If not there is plenty of spots around to collect some. Especially near the free camping spots I mentioned above :)

FollowupID: 697300

Follow Up By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 11:42

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 11:42
Hi Marg and Kev,

We drove out along the road to the dam and picked some up. There was plenty about. There didn't seem to be too much at Kapunda although they did allow limited collection of it due to floods leaving some behind earlier this year.

The riverside camping places - I think they were powered - seemed to be in biggest demand, at least while we were there.

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 697316