Generators which one

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 20:22
ThreadID: 80605 Views:6452 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
I am about to buy a new portable generator for use in a van. We want to run mainly our air conditioner and our PC. We have been looking at the Honda 2000 which appears to be the most popular unit. I have also been advise that the Hyundai 3000 may be able to do the job equally as well. Appreciate your feed back on both units

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 21:30

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 21:30
We have a solar generator.
No fuel, totally silent, works a treat.........

cheers,
OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 426677

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 22:06

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 22:06
. . but won't run an Air Conditioner, which was a clear requirement.
FollowupID: 697257

Follow Up By: Fatso - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:04

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:04
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 697381

Reply By: Member - Robert E (INT) - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 22:19

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 22:19
I have had a Honda EU 20i generator for 18 months. I purchased it primarily as an auxiliary power supply for blackouts as we live on Mount Tamborine. It has also been used for camping over on Moreton Island. It is a brilliant unit - quiet , reliable easy to start. During blackouts we have had it powering our water pumps and lights and even our home theatre system- without a flicker!. Fuel consumption is good particularly when using the eco-throttle.
I know there are cheaper generators but these ARE the best and for a few hundred on top of an already significant sum , I think it is worth it
AnswerID: 426692

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 22:43

Sunday, Aug 08, 2010 at 22:43
I have had a Honda EU20i for about 7 years now, and it has not for one moment given me any cause for regret :)

Having said that, if I was in the market for a genny tomorrow, I'd be having a very close look at the Yamaha range...

I reckon my choice would be between Honda & Yammy, depending on what "deals" were on offer... (YMMV)

Regards, Ed C

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 426695

Reply By: WATTS2C - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 08:42

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 08:42
Yamaha seem to be the generator of choice at the moment - a little quieter, lighter and more fuel efficient.

MH
AnswerID: 426715

Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 10:02

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 10:02
G'day BHB, I just bought a Honda EU2Oi last week from The Generator Place in Melbourne. Cost $1989 with choice of gifts such as recovery gear,picnic set or tool kit....it also comes with a five year warranty (4 from Honda & 1 year from the seller) they also give you a top of the range cover & free delivery. I decided to collect it because I live close by & I didn't want any of the gifts so I had a $100 taken off the price. Really good service. Showed me all about it & helpful hints. I looked at the Yamaha and apart from a two year warranty they were as good as the Honda IMHO. If you want to know more PM me.
AnswerID: 426720

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 11:32

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 11:32
The Honda 20i is a very good unit but won’t run some caravan airconditioners.
You might be safer going to a bigger unit such as the Yamaha EF2400is
AnswerID: 426736

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 18:30

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 18:30
spot on Dennis,

Only the EF2400 Yamaha will do it. The EF2400 is remarkably different to the EF2000...

I've got 480 watts of panels, three batteries and a EF1000is to run a fridge, pc and little incidentals... i can only dream of aircon
FollowupID: 697378

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:24

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:24
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The For Sale/Wanted to Buy Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 697408

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 22:25

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 22:25
hi OREJAP,

just be carefull you dont sieze the windings or burn the inverter out from running it under too much load, id be running my air on full throttle, you wont here the genny with the air running...
FollowupID: 697416

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 00:10

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 00:10
Hi OREJAP - Of course its heavier – the Yamaha EF 2400 has a 20% larger inverter and a 171cc motor compared to a 100cc motor in the Honda 20i. Did the salesman put his guarantee in writing?
FollowupID: 697421

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 00:26

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 00:26
Correction 25% larger 1.6kva to 2kva (continuous ratings)
FollowupID: 697422

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 11:34

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 11:34
Hi Dennis, I was not "Knocking" the Yamaha product & regardless of why it is bigger or heavier is irrelevant the point of the matter is, it is. My wife can lift & carry the Honda,it stores nicely & suites our purpose. If you own or buy a Yamaha for what suites you then good on you. I have checked with Honda what the unit will & won't do it is in writing. Honda assures me that if I have a question or any doubts as to what the unit can or cannot do or if I have a query I can contact them either on the web site or via the phone. I think sometimes advice given by "others" are the views of that person & maybe not always accurate. Go to the scource & find out.
FollowupID: 697448

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 11:39

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 11:39
it really comes down to what you want to hear and believe...

forum can only say what is in its experience,
you chose to believe the salesman,
don't be so harsh on yourself...
FollowupID: 697449

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 12:16

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 12:16
Hi OREJAP,
Not only did I research the subject - I borrowed a 20i from a mate and while it would start my airconditioner it would not keep it running on a continuous basis in hot weather. The Honda 20i is a well made unit but it is too small for my airconditioner. If you read some of the threads on this site you will see that it will run some airconditioners and not others.
FollowupID: 697450

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 12:29

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 12:29
and that's probably exactly what Honda's out will be...

"ohhh, your Airconditioner is Model XWZ123, that's not the same as most airconditioners! Are you sure you took the airconditioner model and exact series number in when talking about your specific airconditioners specific requirements to the salesperson"...

c'on OJ, admit it..I8)
ya' just seen red and wanted it...lol...
we have all been there....lol..

just run it fast, dont kill it, honda warranty can tell...
FollowupID: 697452

Reply By: Isuzumu - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 12:16

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 12:16
I would not be me if I did not tell you about my $356 Chinese one would I hahaha
Ok its two years old and is a 4 stroke invertor generator and is still going great. A chap came up to in Townsville recently and ask if it was a Yamaha (mines blue) and when said it is a quite as the Honda 20 meters away. there is only one thing bad about it compared to the Honda is it is a bit heavier, but at the priced I paid that is not a real problem. Ask Sir Kev he has heard it running, I am sure he will give you a truthful answer.
AnswerID: 426739

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 18:33

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 18:33
I heard it from 500m away and but that was with a stethoscope it was that quiet hehehehe

Bloody heavy though, lucky Annie lifted it for us hey Bruce ;)

FollowupID: 697380

Reply By: Member - Alan John C (WA) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:31

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:31
I have a the Honda EU2 no worries but before you decide what one you are going to buy try them out as ours runs the aircon on the van but will not run the heating side and I am like you I am looking at anEU3 as this will run the aircon and heater on eco mode where as the EU2 is working its little but off. Honda do a smaller version of the EU3 now only thing it has slightly smaller tank and no electric start which is not a real problem.

AnswerID: 426780

Follow Up By: newbies - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 22:13

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 22:13
Hi all. This is my first foray into the Forum. I am researching portable generators for a nearly 2-year old off road caravan (Free Spirit) I've just purchased from the original owners in Queensland and brought to Perth. It has an AirCommand Ibis roof A/C installed. The van came with a draw bar mounted 1.8kVa Super Cheap genny that is obviously Chinese made - and heavy at 39kg. I have not even tried to run the A/C on this, but it works well on mains power! I've removed the genny from the A-frame, and hope to get a better brand, pure sine wave, reputable inverter genny for "the big lap" next year. AirCommand recommends a 2.8kVa to cater for most Australian summer conditions. I had been focused on either a Honda or Yamaha at 2kVa, but having read some of the comments above, probably should go for more capacity - even at the cost of greater weight and size. It seems the Yamaha 3kVa is more than 50% more expensive than the 2kVa, but a Yamaha 2.8kVa is not much more expensive than the 2kVa, but it looks big and clunky, not all sexy like the smaller units. I'm tending towards the advice of Alan John...seems very sensible. I would be interested in others' experience.
FollowupID: 699052

Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:41

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 19:41
Bill,

You may also consider the Kipor 2000. It will happily run a Heron 2.2 A/C.

Ours is about three years old and works a treat.

AnswerID: 426782

Reply By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:49

Monday, Aug 09, 2010 at 21:49
Just bought a Honda EU20i at the Sydney Caravaning and Camping show for $1799. Good value I reckon.

AnswerID: 426795

Reply By: Box Hill Bill- Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 12:56

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 12:56
one and all. You have given us heaps to think about and to follow up before we take that final step albeit expensive. we will be checking out the air con to ensure enough grunt to run it on hot days and pass the info by someone who knows size we should get

Thanks again
AnswerID: 426826

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 09:37

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 09:37
It would be unwise to buy a genny without checking the Yammy out.Top quality units.
FollowupID: 699091