would you buy it
Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 22:11
pepper2
have seen a 1998 gxl lancruiser 8 seater 140k 4 speed auto with two gas tanks running under the sides of the vehicle,the dealer wants about $20k,it is immaculate,no extras.
i believe it will do approx 4k/l on gas ,what do you think,is it a fair purchase ?dont know of any particular problems with this model.
Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 22:17
Tuesday, Aug 10, 2010 at 22:17
what do you want to do with it?
Follow Up By: pepper2 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 06:15
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 06:15
general
camping,travel victoria high country,south aust deserts,towing light camper,daily use as transport.in short a comfortable reliable tourer
Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 22:53
Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 22:53
LPG availability in remote locations is going to be your downfall........
Reply By: becboo68 - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 06:46
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 06:46
Yep I would but I reckon that just because it is a Toyota! Besides that is a good model with not many k's on it
Reply By: aka_db - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 06:57
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 06:57
Hi Pepper2,
One thing to consider is range, as you can't get LPG everywhere, is the
tank capacity adequate to get where you want to go. The further away from main roads and major towns, the less likely.
I have a V8 Landy on gas and get about 15-22l/100k depending on terrain and speed / towing etc... With 80l (usable,80% max capacity) on board in a 100l
tank sometimes only get a bit over 400k to a
tank. I have still got 120l ULP
tank, so this compensates. For this to work, it must be set up for dual fuel and be tuned to run
well on both fuels or you need to be able to re-tune on the road (mostly reset timing due to octane difference or run higher octane ULP).
Cheers, db.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 08:00
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 08:00
Tricky , I probably wouldn't but only because of the gas , you would need to be sure its ok , espically the head.
I had one friend who had one , and wasn't happy with multiple gas issues (pre-injection) with mixer etc, went on for over a year unresolved until he finally got feed up and had them put it back to petrol only and he was happy after that.
Another friend got one (96 non-gas) for $14k so its a heavy price , when your talking $20k this puts you into the bottom end of GU 4800's from 2001.
Follow Up By: OREJAP - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 09:59
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 09:59
Gee Robin I thought you were a GAS man through & through especially when you express
views on fuel comparisons Gas V Diesel!!! I am surprised but I did note your reference was to Toyota and nothing untoward about the mighty Nissan LOL!!!
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 11:17
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 11:17
I would love a liquid gas injection system Orejap - but alas , the last time I reviewed this (january) they could not provide a
tank larger than 65 useable liters.
But some engines just do not take to gas to
well.
I think there would be general support for saying that Toyota's and their dealers approach to gas is a lot darker than Nissan who even used to supply it as a dealer option on new cars.
Follow Up By: OREJAP - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 12:25
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 12:25
Hi Robin, Yes you are correct about Toyota & their attitude towards LPG. Years ago when looking around for a vehicle I had numerous ideas about where I wanted to go with a vehicle,towing a van & general cruising. Toyota were dead against a V8 Petrol L/cruiser on gas....I was advised by a service manager...Don't do it!! Then I drove the 4800 Patrol....what a weapon (motor wise) & more power & better to driive than the cruiser IMO. However, when I enquired as to LPG the only help (service manager) I got was "
Well you'd have to run it on gas or tow a petrol pump behind you" Mazda recommended LPG & bought out a designated model.....Mitsubishi.....Not interested in LPG....however there were plenty of vehicles getting around with gas fitted. My original ideas on V8 Cruiser & petrol Patrol was based on the idea I would tow a big van around Australia. I have since given that idea away. I really believe Diesels have progressed so much since I first started looking 20+ years ago. A mate just paid nearly 60 large for a new 3 ltr Patrol ST....not much value in creature comforts & safety features for all that outlay....the specs of the patrol have not changed that much since I had one in 1998!!!
Follow Up By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 20:06
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 20:06
I've had a Patrol and a Pathfinder on gas and didn't have the slightest issue with either after hundreds of thousands of kms. I don't have experience with Toyotas though. Mike
Reply By: OREJAP - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 10:19
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 10:19
G'day Pepper2, I would think that would be the last of the 4.5 ltr motors but I could be wrong. With the low Kilometres on the clock(hence double the price of what it's worth) I suppose it's worth the money. It's only done just over 11,600km a year!!! My BIL has a 96 which has clocked up over 300,000km & whilst he states it's the best car in the world his wife has a different view...she holds & controls the finances!!! When he was in W Aust towing his van he was getting 3 km to the litre with LPG at $1.89 p/l. He switched it over to Petrol & paid $2.15 p/l because he got better economy and better performance. I had a 62 series with one gas
tank running Nth Sth under the vehicle it was a 80 lt
tank from memory and I had a useable amount of about 65 ltrs. My cruiser (3F Motor) was gutless, did the head X2 and caused the radiator to split tanks & forever getting it tuned...I use to get 5 km to the ltr when not towing. what a relief when I traded it. However, that was not a 4.5 motor & I believe that they handle the gas better. My view, gas belongs in BBQ's. There are some vehicles I would consider rather than a cruiser with a bomb underneath it. I do not know what your finanaces are but obviously you have $20,000....I would reconsider if I were you....look at a Turbo diesel Pajero with the 3.2 ltr motor a great reliable vehicle.
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 15:35
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 15:35
Hi it is overpriced for the age being the 1st of the 105 series.
I have had a few 105's:
2000 RV 4.5 manual all the fruit paid $18k 4 yrs ago
1998 GXL 4.5 auto some fruit paid $14k 3 years ago
1998 GXL 4.5 Auto leather woodgrain and 30k of fruit, paid $19k from a dealer 12mths ago
just picked up a 96 80 series with dvd's etc for $7K. These are a better vehicle than the 105's for some reason (I have had 5 80 series).
The twin scuba gas set up is great as the factory petrol tanks are unchanged. This means that if you are worried about getting gas then install a larger petrol sub
tank (giving you around 270lt ULP total + 85lt Gas).
But seriously if you actually plan a trip properly then you will know all of the locations of LPG and I have not ever had a problem in getting gas except at
Lawn Hill but you can get petrol everywhere. Don't be scared off by the diesel fraternity, they stop bragging when they have to do a pump rebuild after getting a load of crappy fuel in the bush (this costs as much as a full engine rebuild on a petrol). The economy isn't great great enough in a diesel to justify the expense IMO and experience.
With the 100/105's be wary of rust in the roof channels and door sills also above the rear door near the hinges.
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 18:35
Wednesday, Aug 11, 2010 at 18:35
for $20000 id would be looking for a 3.2 ltr diesel pajero.
you should be able to pick up an 02-03 with under 200000ks.
i used to dislike the the paj but now ive just bought one i love it.
Reply By: Cruiser 2091 - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 08:21
Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 08:21
Now if it was a late model 80 series running on petrol only with a genuine 140000 ks I would buy it. Oh and one owner with log books.
Reply By: beezmilk - Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 22:11
Thursday, Aug 12, 2010 at 22:11
I own a dual fuel 1997 80 series 240,000klms, converted to gas at 120,000klms, no issues with gas, no rebuilds yet, uses very little oil so very happy, 22l/100klms highway and 28/100klms when towing. a little slow but its pushing a lot weight. Just read a dynotune of a 100series 4.5 they put out 120kw at the flywheel but only 54 kw at the rear wheel. Dont feel so bad about my old 80 series now.