Vehicle tips for Canning

Submitted: Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 18:24
ThreadID: 80690 Views:3682 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
Am new to this, but are there any issues on the CSR to look for when taking a HDJ79R , ie; Engine/suspension problem's etc.
We are planning this trip for 2011 and keen to ensure all goes well

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 18:39

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 18:39
Hey Paul,

you'll find plenty of info for your trip preparation here on the site. The Canning corrugations are something to behold and make the trip a test of endurance at times. If it can vibrate and move on your vehicle, then it has a chance of falling off. Make sure that you check every mount, nut and bolt to ensure they are secure.

Good shocks and suspension are essential as are good tyres and a compressor to ensure that you can regulate your tyre pressures as necessary. I've just done 14.5 km in teh new VDJ79R cab chasis with no engine problems what so ever.

You should be able to guage the condition of the canning and its subsequent effect on your vehicle from the videos in these blog links (compiled last year). member Bucky has also posted some Video in his blogs from his Canning trip last year.

Hope it helps.

Canning around Well 50

Canning around Well 38

Canning corrugations up close & personal

AnswerID: 427142

Follow Up By: Member - Paul F (INT) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 18:54

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 18:54
Thanks Mick
Have seen quite a few of your blogs on this and can imagine the impact on vehicles, have already fitted foam cell shocks etc , along with other issues gathered from here.
As we are a group of 4 vehicles the more info we can get the less problems encountered.
Cheers & regards

FollowupID: 697749

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:40

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:40
Mick if you've only done 14.5 km then no wonder you had no problems. LOL

FollowupID: 697753

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:43

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:43
Doh. You know what I meant Dunc. Lets try 14,500 km.

FollowupID: 697755

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:49

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:49
Yer I know but I couldn't resist.

BTW I was down to 3.5km/L on my last trip into the GVD a month ago, which is only marginally better than the 3/L last time.

FollowupID: 697756

Follow Up By: Member - Carl- Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 10:06

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 10:06
Mick,

This relates to the width of the Hummer on the CSR. Most vehicles doing this route would be LC of some sort.

The Hummer tyres are further apart and this might mean your tyres will be contacting the vegtation on either side of th track, more than other vehicles. Did this lead to more tyre punctures.

Ask this as I have F250 and assumed this would be a potential problem?

Carl
FollowupID: 697815

Follow Up By: Mick O - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 10:18

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 10:18
I was a bit at a loss there for a moment Carl but I realised that you were talking about the bit of Video with Ozhumvee. Yes he was a fair bit wider than the average vehicle and it did create a few issues for Pete and his tyres in particular. Not familiar with the 250's wheel base but when things get constricted, it is going to be a worry for any vehicle that is wider than standard. I have the same potential problem with the cab chassis as there is an overall wheel base difference between front and back of 100mm giving the same sort of issue, particularly when travelling off track.

FollowupID: 697816

Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:49

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:49
G`day Paul,
Something not mentioned very often.
Fit New Batteries of the most rugged/strongest brand and type you can get.
On my recent trip the batteries I went with (not new) didn`t stand the constant hammering/vibration from the rough conditions, they both shorted internally, I replaced one at Alice Springs and the other at Birdsville.
The repair people in these places say it`s a common fault with "ordinary batteries", they are just not built for rough conditions of this degree.

Scrubby.

AnswerID: 427152

Follow Up By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:58

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:58
Another suggestion Paul, after you have loaded everything and reckon you are ready to go........ throw at least half of it out, you will save yourself a lot of grief. LOL

Scrubby.
FollowupID: 697759

Follow Up By: becboo68 - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:49

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:49
hahaha 'cause unfortunately we 'think' we need more than we do!!!
FollowupID: 697771

Reply By: Michael A (VIC) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:55

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:55
Took my (back then) new girlfriend on our (her first) first camping trip on the Canning in 2005.

We are still together and my tips are-

- eat as well on the last night as you do on the first
- Enjoy the journey
- plan and prepare
-travel as light as practical

Have fun
AnswerID: 427161

Reply By: Flynnie - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 23:18

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 23:18
Many issues on the CSR. Mostly to do with attitude.

A good attitude is most important followed by vehicle and then camping gear.

On the trip in July I observed a few people thrashing the guts out of their vehicles when they should have been on holiday enjoying themselves. Be prepared to take time and not become preoccupied with getting there or packing quicker each morning or travelling longer each day etc. Plan a rest day or do nothing day every so often. It will allow time to do some repairs and catch up. The do nothing day will likely be a busy day but a relief from endless travel.

The trip is very long. Nursing the vehicles is very important. Even minor things going wrong can be big hassles as there are no service stations to limp into.

The vehicle you have is similar to mine. I have Koni 82 series shocks but otherwise is mechanically stock. I found the corrugations to be a great challenge. There was no speed I could comfortably drive over them so took it slow. High range second and third gear at low revs was the norm. I accepted that I drove slower than most (maybe all) the other vehicles but I was happy enough to do that. It seems the station wagon Cruisers and Patrols can travel a bit faster then the trayback with standard springs over much of the corrugations so don't try and keep up with them. The sand dunes can be a challenge if they are chopped up but are much easier than those typical of the Simpson Desert.

Travelling too fast can blow shocks, and wreck suspensions and crack chassis. Saw all this stuff happen to others.

I got through the Canning with only some paint scratches. Travel mate had one flat, a nail and lost a mudflap. I would recommend a full tyre repair kit including R & R Beadbreaker and spare tubes and know how to use it. One can never know how many flat tyres there will be.

As others have said travel light. This means some comfort items need to be left at home. Fuel can be purchased along the way so there is no need for carrying lots of fuel.

Technically the CSR was not a difficult trip. It does require a fair bit of discipline to deliberately travel slow day after day and to nurse the vehicle.

Morale is improved by a good cook, good food and cold beer. Ice cream is a very sort after item in the middle of the desert, so I found.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 427186

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:38

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:38
G'day Flynnie
You are spot on in all details.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 697804

Follow Up By: Member - Paul F (INT) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 09:09

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 09:09
Thank's all
Flynnie , your reply sounds exactly as I am planning on this trip "slow and easy"
Have spent last 18 years roaming WA as part of my work, and always in a hurry.
So this trip will be no hurry at all that can be almost g'teed.
Once again thank you all for your input rest assured it does soak in even at my age.

FollowupID: 697809

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 12:29

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 12:29
Good call Flynnie

We just ticked along, nice and gentle,the only thing different we did was to take everything except the kitchen sink. We did not travel light, actual weight was 4.7 tonne, but we were spread over 6 wheels.
But considering the CSR was just 2 weeks of a 3 mointh holiday.

We had a Tyre Plyer repair kit, and spare plugs, along with 3 quality tubes, (just in case)...

If I seem a little vague, or should I say more vague than normal, it's because I have not long got up from night shift, and feel like yuk (no swearing allowed)
Hope it all makes sence to you
FollowupID: 697828

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 11:45

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 11:45
The Canning is an endurance event.
So double check all nuts and bolts, hoses, clamps.
Put on new hoses, and fan belts, before you go , and take the old ones as the spares.

The main thing is to not be afraid to drop your tyre pressures right down, and leave them there for the full length, and then some, and slow right down, 50 km/ hr is max speed. there is no minimum.

Our tyre pressures were 12 front, 15 rear, and 12 on the camper

Take your time and enjoy your adventure.

Do not take the long run ups, up the dunes, there is no need to, even if towing.

Hopefully, you will be doing it with some mates, so yak your heads off, on the UHF's. This is what I call the "safety factor", that other people will at least know there are other travellers out there.

Enjoy the experience
Cheers Bucky
AnswerID: 427207

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 11:55

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 11:55
I have dropped some video's on my blog page.
Nothing flash, but you will get our viewpoint

Cheers Again
FollowupID: 697825