Is There to many problems with new vehicles these days??

Submitted: Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:48
ThreadID: 80693 Views:5782 Replies:15 FollowUps:22
Its getting to the stage that no matter what make or model 4wd, there seems to be this never ending aray of faults that pop up in the first few months of operation!, Why?, is it a design error every time a manufacturer trys to improve their product?,Is it just cost cutting overall and the quality of components supplied is becoming a real issue? Quality control overall suffering?,

Or are the problems insignificant to the amount of vehicles on the road?

When looking through all the forums it would be hard to say who has what you used to call a bullet proof vehicle!!.....LOL.

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:53

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 19:53
Axle - Apart from maintenance issues mine has been bullet proof - Now has 85k and going strong.

It does wear out rear brake linings way to quickly if you do a lot of water work and silt gets in the drums. Set of linings on now were new before the Simpson crossing and wore out on the trip. The drums were full of claypan silt though :-)

Still that is a too quick in my books

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 427154

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:06

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:06
G/Day Tony, At least you can sort of see the reason for the premature wear of the linnings, its things like oil iconsumption, vibrations, clutch shudders, and failures, and major mechanical faults that seem to be echoed around the traps.

FollowupID: 697761

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:06

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:06
Buy a Troopy----bulletproof
FollowupID: 697762

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:11

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:11
Yep they sure are!, if you weld inch plate all around them ...lol.

FollowupID: 697764

Follow Up By: Rod W - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:54

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:54
Rambler, no they're not! On Monday of this week I had a car hit my Troopy in the side and rolled it over onto the other side. The whole body now has a lean to one side. The coppers and the tow truck driver reckon it will be classed as a right off. The accident has really opened my eyes as to how tough they are not.
FollowupID: 697776

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:18

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:18
Rambler - Problem is I can buy 2 Rodeos for the same price of a cruiser

Also with my Cruiser (96 model) I had a lot of rear diff problems which I am told can happen to Cruisers.

So like all cars some are good some are not.

Also would not like to own the Cruiser V8 - I would like the 6cyl Turbo Diesel though

Cheers Tony

FollowupID: 697800

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:52

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:52
Hi Tony,
Were you diff problems the LSD, because this I have heard is the Cruiser biggest fault. Mine doesn't work to well, I've been told to put a locker in it instead of repairing/rebuilding the LSD, a bit more coin but worth it.

FollowupID: 697807

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 09:39

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 09:39
Jon - It kept doing the inner bearings and the flange was also coming loose. Had it done 3 times before I sold it and it was on the way out again.

Ist time was under warranty as I purchased it with 75k on the clock (Supposedly).

All the work was done by mechanics but it kept on packing it in, maybe there was a bigger issue that they did not pick up on?

I have heard they did have issues with the back diff.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 697811

Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:10

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:10
We run around 120 vehicles and the incidence of warranty faults is very low especially on Jap cars. Holden Comodores we get a few problems, however anyone using the new SIDI motors beaware they are bad oil burners on the orinigal 5/30 oil. This improves when a heavier oil is used.
I can not recall a single warranty issue on any Toyota.
AnswerID: 427155

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:16

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:16
Pete out of interest?, Why is such a light oil used to start with?,

FollowupID: 697765

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:24

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:24
Giday

Madfisher that is interesting ... real world feedback. How many hundreds of thousands of new cars are sold in Australia each year? And how many are unsatisfied customers? It sometimes only takes one person to come on a forum like this and say brand X has a dodgy engine/clutch/gearbox/brakes or whatever and all of a sudden the particular make and model can be universally condemned.

Rocco

FollowupID: 697767

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:56

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:56
Axle I believe so they can advertise low fuel consumption figures or am I getting cycnical in old age. Interesting my Jackaroo uses less oil when using 10/30 then when I use 15/40. But the 98/99 Jacks had oil drain back holes to small in the rings hence the lower consumption on lighter oil.
FollowupID: 697772

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:03

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:03
But bear in mind if a car had a slight rattle in the dash we ignore it, where as a private owner will want it fixed.
We did have an Isuzu 250 that was burning oil, so much so that I use to check it every time it was in the yard, we where debating wether to get it fixed under warranty and I had started keeping a log, when all of a sudden at 90000ks it stopped(fingers crossed lol)
FollowupID: 697773

Reply By: roberttbruce - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:40

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 20:40
Yes!
AnswerID: 427159

Reply By: Dustin - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:06

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:06
My opinion is that forums exacerbate the situation. My last car was a Pajero, I had it for a year until it was written off due to hail damage.
After I bought it I started reading about that model on forums and a couple of days later I was convinced I'd bought a lemon. Made me feel bloody awful.
1 year later, before the insurance company took it back I had had no issues with it and no sign of any happening either.
Prior to that I have a HZJ105, while it most likely did have a weak front diff and gearbox it never left me down and it has some rough treatment but I was always worried it would.
I now recognise that all vehicles will have faults, its life. If a weakness exists know its limits and then stop reading.
The internet is full of negative opinions and very few positive ones and that is across all topics, its is not balanced, plain and simple, you have to absorb that information and see it for what it is.
My 2c and now I'll run for cover...
AnswerID: 427163

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 22:38

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 22:38
Gidday

written off for hail damage ... I should be so lucky ... I have an 18 month old Ford ranger with hail damage from the March storms in Perth. I ring the insurer every month just for fun...I may get it fixed next year or I may not ...oh. and it had a rattle in the dash too but I learnt tio ignore it.

Rocco
FollowupID: 697781

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:00

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:00
Forums....I drive a Land Rover and a Jeep so this forum says I shouldn't make it out of the driveway in either. Real world I've had both way out in the middle of nowhere, done thousands of kms and not had a problem. But then I've not had many problems with any car I've had, maybe I'm lucky and due for a hit? My experience is that there are a lot of whingers around. Mike
FollowupID: 697795

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:30

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:30
Hmm, interesting question Axle,
I was wonder the other day are owners of late model 4wd's going to get the k's out of them as those of us that have early 90's models, eg, patrols or Cruisers.
Sure enough the 80 had a couple, BEB's being the most well know.
It's not unheard of for an 80 to of done easy 500000k's with only normal maintenance. And some of these vehicles have not been treated kindly either.
Maybe it's just a numbers game, more vehicles, more complaints/break downs/failure of parts.

"what you used to call a bullet proof vehicle!!"
An 80 comes pretty close to this, I maybe a bit bias in this call.

AnswerID: 427165

Reply By: landed eagle - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:31

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:31
The more complex vehicles are becoming, the bigger the potential for problems.The manufacturers don't seem to be simplifying things these days. They also are hell bent on squeezing more and more power/torque from smaller engines.Something's gotta give someday.
AnswerID: 427166

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 10:32

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 10:32
That's my theory too eagle....

More 'tronics - more things can break
smaller engines (read zd30) - parts are going to strain under the increased weight...

also in the older days a lot of camping was done with a swag or tent and less accessories.... nowadays people are loading up to the hilt with ct's, rooftop stuff, gennies, welding gear, portaloos, 3 fridges, 3 spare tyres, winches, 4 camp ovens, etc etc. - a lot of extra gear.

A few years back I got talking to some bloke at a campsite who had the latest of everything, you know the type, money no object. Apart from having every accessory hanging off this vehicle, he had welding gear, tools galore, spare sets of springs etc. Told me it was a good thing that he had all this gear as he was able to repair his shocks and broken mounts on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere.

It was all I could do not to tell him that if he wasn't carrying all this crap, his shockies probably wouldn't have gone in the first place.
FollowupID: 697817

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:42

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:42
good old 75 series tray back, still see them everyware.....
Further out in the bush you go and the more remote it is you will only find cars that last.................
oh yeah of course i have one ..... i had to smile the other day, i saw a LADA NIVA go past, poor dude, i was gunna buy it off him just to save him from misery but he had an apple mac laptop and had gps on it, poor dude, i left him alone....
AnswerID: 427169

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:53

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 21:53
Mmm, from my experience, the quality of new vehicles is excellent compared with say 20 or 30 years ago.

My last two vehicles have been Toyota 4WD. The first, a 2005 Hilux had a couple of issues fixed without drama under warranty. The current vehicle, a 2008 79 Series has done a power of work - big loads - towing a 3,500 KG van and has done a bit over 50,000 KM in two years. Not one warranty issue. It has been to Toyota each 10,000 KM (approx) for a fixed price service - that's it. The only 'problem' is that it burns almost a litre of oil each 10,000 KM.

Before that, my previous three new vehicles were two Holdens (a Commodore and a HSV) and a Falcon. None had significant issues.

Go back to the 1970's and '80s and there was an expectation of quality issues on most new vehicles.

Perhaps I've been lucky. Of course there are some hard luck stories and I don't want to detract from the difficulties some people have. But on average, vehicle quality has improved dramatically in my lifetime of vehicle ownership.

Norm C
AnswerID: 427174

Reply By: Flynnie - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 22:27

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 22:27
One should take on line forum comments on vehicles with a big dose of salt. There is a certain amount of slagging of products for no good reason at all. Sometimes this is done by people who have no direct experience but make out they have. Sometimes it could be worse and be deliberately malicious.

Say a product has some faults early in its production life which are corrected. The internet will endlessly repeat the product has a big issue with those faults when they were corrected long ago and affected a handful when thousands or tens of thousands have been sold since.

Sometimes the posts are maliciously negative. Say I sell white tractors and my rivals sell black ones.Well I buy a black tractor and then post all sorts if horror stories about them so people will shy away and but what I sell. A bit cynical? I have seen what I think are examples of it on American websites more than once.

All in all, I think vehicles are much more reliable now then they have ever been. In my younger days breakdowns were accepted as more or less normal. Cars rusting out in less than five years was normal. Now we expect perfection and are disappointed when perfection is not delivered. Perhaps we are expecting a bit too much these days.

Something I have noticed of late is a trend to use light and mid range 4x4s to do the work that was once done by heavier and more expensive vehicles. It is no fault of the light and mid range 4x4 if it suffers a bit when being overburdened. It is important to pick the right vehicle in the first place.

Re my cruiser the only issue so far has been the electric radio antenna that needed resetting.

Re the work vehicles I look after I can not remember the last warranty issue. The Subarus in particular have been trouble free but in all fairness so have the Toyotas, Fords and Hyundais we have had in recent years. The last lemon was an early BA Falcon. The later ones were really good. Other brands we have not had for along time but I would expect they would be similarly reliable.

Flynnie

AnswerID: 427177

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 22:59

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 22:59
we do have to wake up a little................ we often hear the "my HQ did it" back in the 80's without a problem and so on....
Thruth is get any one of those old cars/4wd's and hook up 2 1/2 tons, fit an a/c and head off at 110klms down any dirt road for 6 hours without no stops, it will not last even the first day, let alone 250,000klms as we EXPECT today, we travel faster, we all have air conds, we have power steering, we carry far more weight at speed than we ever used to and expect 60% better fuel economy than we ever dreamed of and we service it half as much... yeh they cost 10 times more but we earn 15 times more than we ever used to ...
They aint so bad after all are they....
FollowupID: 697784

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 01:31

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 01:31
Get any one of those old cars NOW ... and they might not last the first day .... but back then mine lasted considerably well ......

60mph with an 18x8 square box behind it ... 17mpg out of the ol 202 HQ ....... and it was good for 25mpg without the van.

It had aircon & pwr steer too.

And I enjoyed doing the servicing ... cost me nothing but cheap parts I fitted myself.

I still do my own repairs ... these wonderful new vehicles offer so much more fun and interest with so many more components to go wrong.

And even with all the technology ... they are still just a box on wheels used for transportation that really dont do anything better than what earlier vehicles did.

Personally I think its quite humourous ... all these modern travel tales of daring do ....... Which are mostly just repeats of what someone in a VW Kombi or a 40 series did 30yrs ago ... on roads that were in a lot worse condition than they are now.
FollowupID: 697789

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 13:35

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 13:35
OzTroopy,

Mine's still doing it ....

Last trip:

40 series - hole in header pipe (fixed in Geraldton)
80 series - leaking rear bearings, clutch master cylinder blew, electrical probelms
newish Hilux - both rear bearings gone & replaced in Halls Creek, cooking shocks
100 series - front ac joint dropped out, diff lock shot,
FollowupID: 697921

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 13:53

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 13:53
LOL Scott M ... good onya ... keep the ol girl on the road ... They were never the "best" car in the world ... but pretty good for what they were.

One of the most dissapointing vehicles I ever did a lap in was a VG valiant.

Damn thing cost me a windscreen during the second lap with it in 86 .... Knew I should pulled the mesh protector off the troopy for that run .......

FollowupID: 697922

Reply By: splits - Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 23:11

Friday, Aug 13, 2010 at 23:11
Axle

There are always a few problems with any new car. Back in the days when unleaded petrol was introduced, the Toyota dealer I was working for bought a new engine tuning machine. The instruction book said the results of one particular test could vary a little from car to car. The reason given was "automotive engines are not precise devices". That pretty well sums it up. There is no precision engineering in a car except possibly some parts of a diesel fuel injection system and the rotating parts of a turbo. Most cars are built to a price and when you look at some of the prices you can pay for Bentleys, Mercs etc, our 4bs are down the lower end of the scale yet they are much the same size and have a similar number of parts as those at the top. There has to be a reduction in quality and reliability in there somewhere.

There was a DVD available a few years ago on the history of Holden. Part of it contained an interview with an engineer from the original design team. He said the 48/215 model was designed to go for 35,000 miles. We all know they would last a lot longer than that in the hands of a good driver but anything beyond 35,000 was considered a bonus.

GM was quite capable of building it to last double or triple that mileage but the finer engineering tolerances and material quality needed to achieve that would have taken the price well above the family car segment of the market it was intended for. The more reliability and longevity you want, the more you will have to pay.

For the record, the worst car I have ever worked on in regards to mechanical problems was the EH Holden yet they were extremely popular. They nearly drove us nuts with warranty problems, and major ones at that. The most trouble free would probably have been the 504 Peugeot.

My supposedly bullet proof and unbreakable 03 Hilux needed a new bearing on the front of the cluster gear at only 50,000 ks. It was just under 300 ks from the time I detected it to when I thought I had better replace it or end up in big trouble. Had I been half way down the Canning when I first heard it, I would not have reached the other end.

That is certainly not a common fault at that mileage but typical of what can happen to volume selling low priced cars.

AnswerID: 427185

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 01:36

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 01:36
Made to a price ... So true.

And yet so many buyers think they are buying an individually handcrafted perfect vehicle .... when they choose some high volume production vehicle.

FollowupID: 697790

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 05:44

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 05:44
I think cars are now much more reliable and there are far fewere problems in new cars. Consumer rightsand publicity now mean that stuff that would have just been accepted years ago now gets headlines and makers are forced to issue recalls. Engines etc certainly last for much longer distances.
AnswerID: 427193

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:54

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 08:54
People years ago also didn't travel the distances they do today.

15 to 20 years ago doing a Simpson trip was a one in 5 year trip with months of planing and the CSR was a once in a life time trip with years of planing and a support crew.

These days many people transverse the continent by them selves not once but several time in a year.
FollowupID: 697808

Reply By: Member - Julie & John (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 09:12

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 09:12
Gday...
Not sure I agree with you about 'all' new 4x4s are unreliable. My history in 4x4s has been -
Series III Landy - 2nd hand - not a solitary problem in 2 years
HiLux dual cab - new - not a problem in 3 years
60 series Cruiser - 2nd hand - was jumping out of 4th gear when you back off - previous owner had towed horse trailers constantly - and I was towing a 23ft van. Sold it and got a Falcon - lived in Brissie for 2 years.
60 Series Cruiser - 2nd hand - not a problem in 3 years
(sold that and got a Fairlane - back in those damned cities again)
HiLux Dual Car diesel 2nd hand (first diesel) 4 years with out one single problem
100 Series Cruiser 2nd hand - clutch shudder and some rough engine idlling - Toyota couldn't locate or fix either - after 11 months sold it and bought
2006 Hyundai Terracan CRDi Auto - new - 68,000km and not a solitary problem
Now have a Discovery 3 TDV6 Auto Turbo Diesel 2nd hand - only had it for about 3 months and so far not a problem (but like some say - the internet tells me I should expect 'problems' .... time will tell.

Some people seem to get a "monday" vehicle and the rest get a goodun - that would work out to 10% of the vehicles may have problems praps ?

Julie & John
AnswerID: 427199

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 10:03

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 10:03
The problem is that the vehicle you buy is built to a price and not to the blueprint , if each and every component was made to the blueprint specs and not to the so called acceptable plus - minus range the problems would not be so prevalent ,,take the first 80 series bigend bearing problem , 1 consignment of bearings that were so far out of specification that the 1st 80s were and still are classed as duds , even though there would not be any of the dud fitted bearing vehicles running today. Same for the Ford Explorer , villified as the exploder not for any mechanical problem as such but in reality because of a out of specification group of tires supplied by Firestone.
AnswerID: 427201

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 11:55

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 11:55
I would confidently say new vehicles are built to a hight tolerance and standards then older vehicles, price has alway be a contributing factor in manufacturing and cost saving targets need to be met along with reliability.

20 years ago it was acceptable to have a failure rate of 2 to 3%, these days your talking about an acceptable failure rate of 0.05 to 0.1%

Machines don't make mistakes, humans do.

Replacing a component that cost $3.00 with a part that costs $1.00 doesn't seem much but work it out over 250,000 vehicles...do it for another 10 components and it's a big saving for the manufacture.

To manufacture a product competitively and make money you have to adopt "lean manufacturing" principals, doing more with less.

If you hand built something, that take time, time is a commodity and sold accordingly... the manufacture still make the same profit but the end user pays.

Thats why Rolls Royce's and 3 to 4 times dearer them Mercedes, same quality and technology but one is hand built and the other isn't.
FollowupID: 697826

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 13:23

Saturday, Aug 14, 2010 at 13:23
There is only one thing wrong with modern cars and that is the replacement price of electronics especially for Japanese and German cars. In the past you could fix mainly mechanical issues yourself easy. Today the mechanical issues become less compared to the past (better material, more precision manufacturing with robots) but the problems of electronic development (software in embedded systems) creep into the car industry.

The replacement cycle of my brake pads is 120,000 ks. Oil change is 25,000k, transmission oil 100,000 etc. Very cheap to run this vehicle when you make sure you keep the bushes and joints healthy (many of which are self lubricating).

Manufacturers and especially dealers are overcharging on spare parts especially electronics. So my solution was to buy a car where I can avoid that. I have a spare ECM (Engine control module US$300) spare BCM, TCM, DCM for less than $1000 US. Having a TechII for diagnostics helps to keep everything in check.
The upfront investment of tools and spares will pay off very quickly.

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 427213

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 09:51

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 09:51
An interesting thread. The thing that surprises me is the short time folks keep
their cars. I guess it is nice to change every 2 or 3 years, but hardly a recipe to control the cost per km of motoring. I cant imagine ever allowing the cost of depreciation to exceed the running cost, but most do. I dont know if new cars have more issues than older ones, maybe the sheer amount of electrically
controlled systems is an issue. Current diesels spin like petrol motors & will wear
at a similar rate I imagine. One hears of the faults that arise in new cars but
is it statistically important when so many are sold ?. Manufacturers rush to fit
bigger & bigger wheels & up goes the cost of tyres, but not a dollar is spent on
making decent seats that really fit the human frame. Ever sat in the back of a
Holden Crewman ?. Disgraceful............oldbaz.
AnswerID: 427276

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 11:55

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 11:55
your not wrong there Old Baz!!, Looked at one of those Crewmans with the
S/inlaw, What a joke the seating is!!.

FollowupID: 697911