Great Central Road camp spots

Finally............the house is sold and we're heading west!!!!

We will be heading West across the GCR in two weeks time and estimate to make somewhere about Warburton the first night.
We will be towing a camper trailer and have two large dogs with us who aren't particularly social with other animals, so prefer to camp away from other campers and proper camp grounds.
Does any know of any good secluded spots not too far from the road around that area? GPS co-ords would be great!

Hairy

Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:32

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:32
Hairy there is one just to the west of the Docker River Community (approx 5km from memory) - it was pretty clean but one of the flushing toilets had been vandalised when I was there this time last year. Honour system for payment but it was only about $5 I think. There is also a nice fenced and grassed area behind the Warburton shop...pretty clean, OK camp kitchen. Also has hot showers and a few cabins.
AnswerID: 427307

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:43

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:43
Cheers mate....but really looking for places away from others rather than designated camp grounds.
FollowupID: 697956

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 00:18

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 00:18
was no one else there when i camped there althogh there could be a risk of wandering dogs from the comunity
FollowupID: 698002

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 08:52

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 08:52
Yeah mate....thats my biggest worry.....my dogs will stay put but if any others wander into our camp it might not be pretty.
FollowupID: 698016

Reply By: wizzer73 - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:36

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:36
Hey Hairy

There is a place called yarla kutjarra about 90kms east of warburton. its a rest stop which would be good for an overnighter. have a look at thread 79837 for a picture of it.

wizzer
AnswerID: 427308

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:00

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:00
Cheer Wizzer......looks spot on
FollowupID: 697958

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:33

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:33
Hi Hairy

we will be travelling the GCR 25 to 28/8/10 heading west also hope to
catch up our vehicle is a Nissan patrol silver towing a camper trailer, EO
wheel cover on spare wheel and round sticker on the rear of the camper,
we are travelling with our mates who are in a brown Toyota Landcruiser
towing a camper trailer.

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 427317

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:51

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:51
Will keep an eye out for you.....have a look at my profile and there is a picture of my car.

FollowupID: 697963

Reply By: Axle - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:36

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:36
G/Day, Remember when you talked about selling up, ..lol..Takes a while eh!

Bet your going to miss Alice!....yes..no.?

Good luck for everything in the future.

BTW, Them must be big Dorgs!!....lol.

AnswerID: 427318

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 19:00

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 19:00

Ive spent most of my life in Alice and will certainly miss most of the people and country, but there is a certain type of person I've had an absolute gut full of and wont miss one bit, that's while were leaving..

Time to go fishing...if I can remember how! LOL

Hairy
FollowupID: 697965

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 19:07

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 19:07
I'm Hearing YA!!!.

FollowupID: 697967

Follow Up By: Papaspook - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:26

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:26
Mate, you can pull up pretty much anywhere off the GCR. I have travelled through there extensively last year while employed in the Lands and it was nothing unusual to see a camp lit up and anything up to 300 metres off the road. Just be aware that lights out there MAY attract our indigenous friends who will humbug whatever they can, usually smokes, oil or fuel. Always gave the horn a blast when passing a camp and usually got a wave back. I was frequently in a 4WD during this period. I am now retired and enjoying chilling out.
FollowupID: 698091

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 09:37

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 09:37
Thanks Papaspook,

Thought that might be the case....just like to have a back up plan in case they were a bit stricter in WA on where you camp.
Ive lived in Alice most of my life so Im quite used to the (dare I say it) ....bludgers!

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 698115

Follow Up By: Papaspook - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 18:43

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 18:43
Don't get me wrong, Hairy. I don't think you're SUPPOSED TO camp where-ever but it gets back to the old question. Who's going to stop you? As long as you're not treading on some-one's toes or creating a risk to traffic or sacred sites you should be OK. It's best to stay well away from communities (men's business areas) if you're on the side of the road as the only indigenous traffic usually moving at night are those trying to get to a community or running drugs or booze. Either way they are not inclined to bother you.
The white staff out there in Ngaanyatjarra country couldn't give a stuff (I didn't) as long as you keep to yourselves and don't create problems for management...they all have their own hassles to take care of and no-one out there gets paid enough to create problems for themselves with tourists.......and for your own sake don't be caught even smelling of booze! There are cops at Warakurna (Giles), Blackstone (Papulankutja), Warburton and Laverton. They are all generally pretty good blokes.
Smelling of booze will see your vehicles and/or camps turned over by the dark locals in search of consumables (liquid ones).
They will smash windows and windscreens to get in too. Don't linger at Warburton if you can avoid it, especially overnight. Contractors out there in 2009 while I was there didn't even lock their cabs at Warburton because the locals were smashing glass just to see what was inside, and those blokes are too savvy to carry grog. Have a good trip and as Jerry Reed said to the Bandit, "Be careful, be careful"
You or some others may think I'm the devil's advocate but believe me when you work out there you tend to see the worst of it!
FollowupID: 698185

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:41

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:41
Yeah mate Im hearing you.....spent nights camped under a truck in a Power and Water compound chasing off sniffers. Wouldnt know where to start with stories and things Ive seen on communities LOL.....These days I find it easier to not be seen.

FollowupID: 698194

Reply By: jimbamb - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 22:23

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 22:23
goodday hairy

we came through the central about 3 weeks ago, camped 1st night at docker river great spot but has been vandalised 2nd night was at yarla katjarra as previously mentioned is a good spot to stay with a windy loo and plenty of space,also another place called the pines but getting close to laverton hope you enjoy your fishing regards kay
AnswerID: 427338

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 08:54

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 08:54
Im just about to have a look at the pines...sounds pretty good in the brochure.

FollowupID: 698017

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 03:23

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 03:23
G day Hairy
We camped about 3- 5 km in off the GCR, on right side of road.
Had along the road to the Heather Highway turn off.
An old road gang site probably.

Bloody beautiful

Cheers Bucky
AnswerID: 427340

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 09:06

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 09:06
Gday Bucky,

Was that up the Heather Hwy a bit or opposite?

Hairy
FollowupID: 698018

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 18:49

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 18:49
Hairy
We turned off the Great Central.
Just up towards the Heather a bit.
Not sure if I marked the spot, on the GPS but will have a look later on.
AnswerID: 427391

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 20:42

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 20:42
Hairy
I got them

Hopefully these are correct .... S 26.12.571.......E 126.07.603

As you have my phone no. Can you ring me some time Tuesday Arvo .

FollowupID: 698086

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:42

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:42
Sent you a message on Face book.......Cheers Mate.
FollowupID: 698195

Reply By: Old Dig - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 18:57

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 18:57
You'll love that run through to Laverton Hairy. My wife and I came through last November in a Delica Fitted out as a camper, we camped out the whole time and had no worries finding good secluded places. Good luck.
AnswerID: 427392

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:44

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:44
Cheers Mate...I cant wait!
FollowupID: 698196

Reply By: Member - Ian S (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 00:04

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 00:04
yup 90 east of Warburton, 25 36' 35" S and 127 13' 17" E great spot with firewood
AnswerID: 427787