Lithium Battery Warning

Before I go on, I realise now how dumb this was hence the story to inform others. Thought I was pretty clever recently, figured my Tom Tom was going flat within a few minutes of turning it on. Tom Tom told me to send it away for repairs so turned to youtube, found how to replace the battery and a link to a battery suplier in th US. It arrived within 5 days so I had no problems replacing the flat one with the new. Decided as the old one was flat I could have a look inside to see what makes them work. Cut down the centre casing with scissors and then across the end, next thing there was a PHST, smoke and then bloody FLAMES like an old Penny Bunger that had gone Phizz. I had done this on my Kitchen bench so you can imagine the panic as a flame up to 2 metres long flew across the kitchen. It went for about 45 seconds which was enough to fill the kitchen with smoke and dirty black soot from A to breakfast time. The minister for war mustered enough strength to physically turf me out of the house and then had the hide to make me come back in and clean the mess up. One and a Half hours later (With her help,bless her) The scorch mark on the laminex and the soot had gone but not the acrid smell that lasted for about 12 hours. I guess the moral is, don't play with these things without a fair bit of knowledge. Hope that helps someone. Bob.

Reply By: townsville - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:14

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:14
So what was inside the battery??????..................
AnswerID: 427304

Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:18

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:18
Smoke ................

Everrything works on smoke,

Once the magic smoke escapes, she no good no more........

;-)))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 697952

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:19

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:19
No idea cause I was too busy trying to direct the fire away from the fridge etc and then it burnt up before I could get a look. LOL Bob
FollowupID: 697953

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:24

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:24
"smoke"......

You missed the other vital ingredient that would have been inside there...... "Mirrors".

Everybody knows that it's all "smoke and mirrors".

I wish I had been there though.....it would have been bloody funny to see that flame going across the kitchen (as long as it wasn't MY kitchen.

I think your SWMBO showed great restraint if you are still able to talk with a deep voice.

This is the sort of "trick" that I would have been a candidate to do, but thanks to you I already know what is in there, so I won't bother. One thing though, I NEVER do any of those sorts of "tricks" in the house; that what sheds are for.
FollowupID: 697960

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 19:16

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 19:16
Nah Roach"ee" If I had been in the shed I could have damaged the 4wd, the boat, the ute or any number of precious things,even the mower. Just lucky "she" was on the phone at the time or the local ER might have been real busy. Couldn't believe it didn't burn a hole in the laminex though. "She" put a hot saucepan on it once and it left a scorch mark. Mine hardly left a mark so that saved me. Bob

FollowupID: 697968

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:21

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:21
Bob,

How many times have you been told not to play with scissors?

AnswerID: 427305

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:22

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 17:22
ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 697954

Reply By: john&thejayco - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:48

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 18:48
g'day Toyocrusa,
This one should have been in the Friday funnies, i have had a great laugh after reading the thread and replies.Glad to see you almost found out what makes them batteries work, better luck next time.
I guess that's what they did with all those old fire crackers, when they banned cracker night.
Cheers John.
AnswerID: 427319

Follow Up By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 19:36

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 19:36
funniest home videos
FollowupID: 697969

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:22

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:22
john&thejayco I was just thinking exactly the same, if this wasn't so serious some of the responses are very worthy for Friday Funnies.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 697978

Reply By: Graham & Lynne - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:12

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:12
Does the GPS work now with the new battery

From Graham
AnswerID: 427328

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:19

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:19
Yeh...good question, we're all dying to know...if it FIRED up ok.

FollowupID: 697976

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:19

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:19
Hi Graham. Yep it works a charm now. My map system was 2 years old so I even took up their upgrade offer which gave me the current map system plus 18mths of upgrades for $99. The battery cost Aust $42 posted with a tool kit to instal it. Just followed the youtube video. Regards,Bob.
FollowupID: 697977

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:37

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:37
hi toyocrusa
a true mr fix-it lol

i dont think the youtube video told you to cut the old battery open with a pair of scissors after installing the new one though did it ?????????
FollowupID: 697990

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 06:45

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 06:45
Nah mazcan, It didn't, but then it didn't say NOT to cut it up either. LOL You've made me think now. I might put that up as a reply to the video, anonymously, of course. Bob
FollowupID: 698008

Reply By: trilogy - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:22

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:22
This reminds me of the early 90s the Army introduced a new radio that used lithium batteries,when flat they were suposed to be returned to the supply battalion,of course being infantry we collected these things untill we had a couple of full pallets on the back loading dock. People would sit on them,climb on them and thow them a each other. I rang the supply mob to see what to do with them and they asked if any were leaking (a green slime that dries to a solid) I said about 10% and they said OK.
About 3 minutes later a fire engine arrives under full lights and sirens and out jump the firies all dressed in the full yellow suits and air tanks. The area was cordoned off the batteries were wrapped in plastic they loaded them onto a truck with a forklift and drove the lot away,they had to decontaiminate the area ,truck and forklift and took air samples and swabs before allowing any access to the area.
We understood from this that lithium can be quite dangerous.

Below are some of the problems that may be encountered with lithium batteries,and they classed as dangerous goods for air travel and post.
To dispose of throw them in a fire and run like hell, they go off like a 1 1/4 lb slab of TNT.

Explosion
–Unintentional charging by end item
??Venting, possibly under high pressures
??Release of hazardous materials
–Noxious, toxic or hazardous gases
–Strong acids or bases (liquid or gas)
–Flammable gases and liquids
??Fire

Cell defects or abuse may result in ventings that may be high pressure events producing shrapnel
??Release of internal pressure from a cell by ejecting some or allof its internal components into the environment
–These components may be flammable and may include noxious gasses
•Li/SO2battery releases acutely toxic and flammable gases
•Li/MnO2battery releases flammable gases
–A venting of a lithium ion battery may release
•Flammable organic electrolyte (e.g. PC-EC-DMC)
•LiPF6--this material is reactive with water; forms HF acid
•Carbon either as carbon or water reactive lithiated graphites
•LiNiCoO2or other lithiated oxides and heavy/transition metals
•Metal foils and fragments (copper or aluminum)
•Methane, hydrogen, carbon monoxide (electrolyte decomposition products)
??Ventings may be accompanied by smoke, sparks and or flames
AnswerID: 427329

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:58

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:58
Bloody Hell. This modern technology. Shouldn't be foisted on us old fellas. Bob
FollowupID: 697983

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:25

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:25
"may result in ventings that may be high pressure events producing shrapnel "

Isn't that just an explosion!
FollowupID: 698049

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:26

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 20:26
Righto Bob, you are banished from pulling apart anything without prior posting on forum, you will need to write out a work safety card, and submit it 24 hours prior and with a written request. You are not allowed to use scissors, and please refrain from exprimenting inside the house. If we all "EO" member agree to your exprimenting, then permision will be granted for said expriment in a suitable location, place and with emergency staff and proper PPE.

P.S this was said in jest, don't take to heart.

Litium ion batteries are suseptible to moisture, copious amounts of water.

But funny stuff asisde its great that your still alive, you didn't burn the house down, and all you got apart from 1 1/2 hours of cleaning and a scorch mark, is battered ears from the betroved for doing said deed in the house.

thanks for the tip on not what to do with LIon batteries.

p.s. use a ceramic scapel next time....

AnswerID: 427331

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:00

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:00
Gawd, Might just post in the whole GPS next time. LOL Bob.

FollowupID: 697985

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:08

Sunday, Aug 15, 2010 at 21:08
your a good sport Bob, you have ny vote for president, cheers lol
FollowupID: 697987

Reply By: Honky - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 08:51

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 08:51
Aren't these the batteries that they use in environmental friendly cars?
Better not tell Bob Brown.

Honky
AnswerID: 427348

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 10:44

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 10:44
The main vehicle many associate with being environmentally friendly, the Toyota Prius, uses mainly NiMh batteries.

The other point that should be noted is that not all lithium based batteries are as dangerous as the one mentioned by the OP. Versions such as LiFePO4 are much more stable and with the added features of circuit protection chips in many versions, they would as safe, if not safer, than driving a LPG/Petrol/Diesel etc vehicle IMO.

FollowupID: 698024

Reply By: brushmarx - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 09:56

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 09:56
Is there a simple or safe way these batteries could be used or modified in fishing by being used as "expanding bait", especially in desperate situations, or are the contents too toxic to contemplate?
AnswerID: 427353

Follow Up By: crd patrol - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 16:12

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 16:12
brushmarx,

have you been watching the croc dundee movies again!!!! ;)
FollowupID: 698059