seat belt

Submitted: Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 19:28
ThreadID: 80743 Views:2454 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Hi,Can anyone help with what I can do to get a seat belt to retract,it retracts if i help it,..I suppose that the spring has lost some of its sprung,or do u think that it is friction along the line somewhere that is causing the problem, Peter

Reply By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 19:43

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 19:43
Hi turbopete, it could also be that there is a biuld up of dust and fluff in the retractor mechanism. I remember a few years ago a mate of mine had a Mitsi L300 van and the seatbelt buckle being filled up with fluff etc and the belt would not lock in without a lot of effort, a good spray of crc and it clicked in easily. My drivers side will not retract fully and have to romove all the trim to get to it. Just got to get around to it
Cheers Rob Mac
AnswerID: 427395

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 20:12

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 20:12
Rob

gday mate....long time no hear.:-)

it might pay him to give down inside the seat belt retractor a good blow out with compressed air b4 he lubes it.
FollowupID: 698085

Reply By: guzzi - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 20:36

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 20:36
Tur bo
due to what it is and what it does it's probably time for a new one.
It might be fluff or dirt but it might be the spring, and it has to work first time why risk it.

Pete
AnswerID: 427398

Follow Up By: turbopete - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:47

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:47
Hi Guzzi. A new belt is $400.00,and this one still works if pulled quickly it works so dont want to spend if I can get the old one to retract,I will take the belt off and blow it out and lube it,need to be careful and not release the spring as they cant be rewound, The thought occured that the belt itself may be the cause of the friction some lanoline on the belt where it is not in contact with the wearer might work,, will let all know the result Peter
FollowupID: 698094

Reply By: Fatso - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:27

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:27
You could have a go at pulling the belt out as far as you can & spraying the whole thing with silicone spray. I've had that work before.
One sure fix is to get a new one.
AnswerID: 427402

Reply By: Mark Howlett - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:51

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:51
On my Triton, there was a build up of grime on the top loop the belt passes over before heading down into the floor. You can't see it unless you lift the belt off it. It looks like the same greyish stuff that would accumulate on the older ball-type computer mouses, making them notchy and jump. When I got the RWC for the ute, the mechanic doing the testing said that build up is a common reason for belts not retracting.

Mark.
AnswerID: 427405

Reply By: skmaint - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:54

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:54
Hi Peter,

Dirt build-up on the first guide at the top, that the belt runs through will also stop it retracting. I have to clean mine with a bit of spray and wipe about every 2 months (being a dirty diesel fitter) and it retracts fine when done, until it starts to build up again.
Worth a try anyhow.....

Simon.
AnswerID: 427406

Reply By: hobo bob - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:21

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:21
Hi I find a good spray of silicone spray on the belt its self makes the world of differance,I seen this done and do it myself by a car detailer
AnswerID: 427426