kangaroo tail soup

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 12:06
ThreadID: 80762 Views:3204 Replies:5 FollowUps:11
hi there does any one know if the tail from an agile wallaby is suitable for cooking, i ask this as unfortunately we have hit a few on our trips lately and it seems a waste of meat just to put it down as road kill. i have been told the rest of the animal has a very strong taste not like kangaroo at all. can this also be confirmed, thanks

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 12:27

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 12:27
Chop one up and try it mate.... everyone's tastes are different.
Last time I did that to a roo it was like eating boot leather........well so everyone at the BBQ who ate it told me!

AnswerID: 427453

Follow Up By: Jezza77 - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 12:31

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 12:31
might have too dogs turned there noses up to the leg on the last one not a good sign
FollowupID: 698124

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 12:40

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 12:40
leave it in the sun for a couple of days or let them bury it.....my dogs don't like fresh roo either.
FollowupID: 698125

Follow Up By: Member - steve. B... (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 13:20

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 13:20
The best results with Wallaby is to strip the meat off the tail and place in a large jar. Soak it in Brandy for a week or two. Then BBQ it on a low heat for about ten minutes. Make sure you drink the Brandy in moderation.

FollowupID: 698134

Follow Up By: nomadoz - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 16:50

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 16:50
Any meat will be tender if u cook it the right way, kanga may not be the best way to cook it on the barby, except maybe the rump, and it should be on a hot grill for a shot time only.

Lean meat, quick cook:

For any tough meat, even old boots, just a quick seal in a hot frying pan, and then wet cook it very very slow for a long time, 5hrs or more

FollowupID: 698163

Follow Up By: nomadoz - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 16:52

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 16:52
Short...not shot

FollowupID: 698164

Follow Up By: Member - Russler - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 18:53

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 18:53
Reminds me of the recipe for Galah stew. Add Galah and one rock to stew. Cook until rock is tender, then throw away the Galah.
FollowupID: 698186

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 13:14

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 13:14
Can't kill ya so just try it.
But don't get caught with evidence as the authorities may not look too kindly upon you harvesting one without a permit - even if you did inadvertently use your fourby as the weapon!
AnswerID: 427463

Follow Up By: petengail - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 17:44

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 17:44
i did read one time that pineapple juice will tenderise anything. i dont like pineapple much but if you can get enough to drown a roo in,,, well give it a go...
FollowupID: 698170

Reply By: D200Dug- Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 17:46

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 17:46
i know it is a waste of good meat but there is a very heavy fine for anyone caught taking meat or skin from a roadkill native animal :-(

A mate hit a roo and chucked the legs in his ute for his dogs almost as soon as he got home wildlife rangers turned up and slugged him $2,000 for taking protected animals.

Sad but better to leave it to rot on the roadside !
AnswerID: 427488

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:35

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:35
Sad isnt it!....Especially when my mate took a photo of a lady walking down Smith st in Alice the other day with a whole roo over her sholders? LOL
FollowupID: 698193

Follow Up By: Honky - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 09:22

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 09:22
Should be the same rules as in england.
The person that hit it with their car cannot claim the road kill but the person behind can.

Honky
FollowupID: 698256

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 10:35

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 10:35
I believe in Canada you can apply for the rights to roadkill animals and police will tell you when and where you can collect them !
FollowupID: 698260

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 11:32

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 11:32
I thinks its called "meals under wheels" ?
FollowupID: 698264

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 20:07

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 20:07
dislike
AnswerID: 427510

Reply By: Jezza77 - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 08:06

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 at 08:06
thanks for the suggestions will give them a go, does not seem right that parks would prefer the animal to go to waste, or feed the wild dogs. will keep an eye out.
AnswerID: 427557