Pajero Second Spare
Submitted: Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 17:51
Julian M (SA)
I wonder if anyone with Mitsu Pajero has tried hanging their second spare off the current spare with some sort of add-on rack. I currently carry it on the roof rack, however it is one heavy beastie. Funny it's no lighter when it's flat either. Any thoughts?
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 17:57
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 17:57
I wouldn't as the leverage would be too great for the door i would imagine.
Why not just carry the tyre, less rim? ;)
Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 18:50
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 18:50
That is a much better and lighter idea. I have been doing it for a long time.
If you have good tyres and treat them to the correct pressure and speed for the conditions you are in, you most likely will not even use the fitted spare.
There are those who must travel at high speed because they think it is correct, are those most likely to be changing tyres on the road.
DW
Follow Up By: miandering fiander - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 19:15
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 19:15
I carry the second spare as a skin only on the roof rack and depending on where you are going get it fitted properly .
Saves heaps of $ on a bad 2nd hand one.
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 18:32
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 18:32
Sounds like you need a custom built twin wheel carrier for the back of the Pajero.... unless Kaymar already make one???
Follow Up By: Julian M (SA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 20:25
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 20:25
That's what I was thinking, however rather then re-invent the wheel (as it were), I thought I see if someone out there had already done it.
Kaymar don't seem to, RATS!
Reply By: WillyWish - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 20:36
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 20:36
Outback Accessories do a twin wheel carrier for the Paj.
Follow Up By: Julian M (SA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 21:44
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 21:44
Couldn't find it on their website.
They didn't seem to have anything along those lines at all.
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 21:57
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 21:57
You will need the aussie website Julian ;)
http://www.outbackaccessories.com.au/
I would be interested in seeing the price of these units.
Follow Up By: Julian M (SA) - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 22:08
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 22:08
Yes, that certainly helped. I will let you know what comes of my enquiry.
Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 22:28
Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 at 22:28
G'day mate i have a 91 NH and i just put my other spear up on the roof rack with the sons help of cause and keep my tyres in good condition,if im plaining a big trip up north i'll try and get new tyers on before i leave.cheers GREENDOG