Canon 550D Camera and Accessories

I have recently invested in a Canon 550D camera body, and have two lenses so far, with a new tripod and another lense coming.

I am sincerely interested in getting into good quality photography, and would really appreciate advice or sites to got to. The Canon site has no downloadable manuals, and I did not get one with the camera, or the lenses.

I am an avid fan of National Geographic magazine, and would one day hope to get the ability to get photo's of the quality they get. I know that is a long way down the track, but this old dog wants to learn new tricks.

Any advice would be sincerely appreciated.

Marc
Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 02:04

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 02:04
Hi Marc,

Found these,

Instructions

Also try this one

Hope they help.

Dennis

AnswerID: 427793

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 02:09

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 02:09
Dennis

Thankyou very much

Marc
Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 698455

Reply By: Roughasguts - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 02:18

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 02:18
Google flickr and have a browse around all the catergories of photoghraphy.
Some good ideas there and some comments on the pictures can be usefull as well.

AnswerID: 427794

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 02:34

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 02:34
Thanks Roughasguts, I will do that.

FollowupID: 698456

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 07:01

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 07:01
Marc,

The best advice that I can give is to get out and take a few photos.

Download them onto a computer to see them full screen and the ones that don't look good, hit them with the delete button. You will soon start to save more than you delete.

This is what I have done and now I am at the stage where I will delete more than I save, my standards have improved with the photos that I want to keep, and not necessarily what other may think.

Photos are of what you see and what pleases you. They are a digital reminder of a place or time in your life and that is all they have to be.

From you previous post you say that you live in the Kimberley, there is plenty of subject matter to click away at.
I was told once to put the camera away between 10am and 2pm so morning and afternoon are the best times and to have the sun on your right shoulder.

Being a member of ExplorOz you have a photo gallery on your home page, download a few there, that way we can see how you see the Kimberley through your eyes.

AnswerID: 427798

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 08:01

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 08:01
I used to do the same - photo looks boring - delete - i now keep everything ( have a few terrabytes of space so no storage issues ) years after i took the photo i would have deleted - i then find it interesting , maybe because something in the photo has changed - a pet is it in that i dont have it any more so forth ..

If you have the space - keep them :) ( with exception to the blury ones )
FollowupID: 698462

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:51

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:51
Hi Wayne and Begaboy

Thanks for the great ideas. I have 2 large hard drives,a nd some external drives as well, so I will be storing and learning.

Very much appreciated

Marc

FollowupID: 698548

Reply By: Wotacroc - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 07:04

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 07:04
Plenty of good advice on photography from this Whirlpool forum site.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum/132

Wotacroc

AnswerID: 427799

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:53

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:53
Thankyou Wotacroc

I will definitely have a look, but not really into getting into other forums owing to some bad experiences in various forums. I will have a look though.

Marc

FollowupID: 698549

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 08:36

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 08:36
Good question Marc, and one close to my own yearnings. It's easy to get lots of comment on gear - what camera, lenses, film.......... all the tools that we use to take a photo, but there's very little attention given to what is a "Good" photo. I understand that National Geographic has a huge culling rate, but what criteria determine which photos are for keeps and which to discard?

Just had a look at the Whirlpool site referred to above - No doubt there are gems there, but well hidden in discussion of the tools themselves rather than what to do with them.

Wayne's suggestion to critically appraise your photos and discard those that aren't "right" is a good one and he's right in saying that your "keep" rate will go up, and fairly fast too. (I enjoyed an evening with Wayne out on the CSR where he showed us some of his "keepers" - good stuff. Laptop under the stars!)

An important part of developing your own sense of good composition and your eye for detail is that you also develop good observation skills. (In WA last year we met various people on the track who assured us there were no wildflowers ahead of us. In fact there were huge displays that they simply hadn't noticed. Once you stop and walk among them and start really looking you find great diversity and see fascinating detail.) Using the camera to expand your observations by using extreme close-up is very rewarding. Adjusting contrast and tonal qualities can improve good images too.

Suggest have a look through the ExploreOz photo comp blogs and critically examine the images - what's good about this one, how does this one fail, could this one have been improved by shooting from below, or the side, or later in the day to get some shadows........ A landscape painter recently told us how she doesn't paint in the middle of the day - the light is too flat.

If you find good info on technique and composition, please publish the links here.

Hope to see some of your photos blogged here too.

AnswerID: 427810

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 13:49

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 13:49
In the good old days of film and unlimited budgets National Geo averaged one printed photo from 50 rolls of film.

I know on the 1988 feature on Australia the centerfold shot of Uluru they shot 250 rolls of film returned to the US were not happy with the results so came back and shot another 200 rolls to finally get one photo.

The advantage of digital is that it does not cost anything to experiment, get out and take photos of anything and everything. Photography should be like driving a car, almost an automatic reaction. Get to know your gear as well as you do your car and be as comfortable taking photos as you are driving and you are half way there :-)

FollowupID: 698489

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:58

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:58
Hi John and Val

Thankyou for the wonderful words of encouragement there. The 550D has that many bells and whistles, I thought I had better go back to uni as a mature age to learn it, but slowly I am getting there.

Close ups are something I have not yet tried, but I am looking forward to doing some soon. I hope to get enough experience so that later when teh wet hits, I can get out and get some beauties, and then learn how to put them on a blog (never done something like that).

Thanks for the great advice.

Marc

FollowupID: 698550

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:00

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:00
Hi D200Dug

Now I am scared. As automatic as driving my car, I am not even conscious of driving, it just happens. The various lensesm tripod and multitude of settings means that I have a long way to go, but I am deteremined to get there.

Thankyou so much for your comments.

Marc

FollowupID: 698551

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:45

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:45
90% of the bells and whistles functions you will never use.

Just remember to use the camera often enough so you are comfortable just picking it up and taking photos.

I have spent the last 38 years working with cameras, using them on a pretty well daily basis so I have an advantage.

One of the things it to get out and commit photography when I was starting I made sure I shot at least one roll of film every week regardless of anything else that was happening. Back then that was a good amount of my income going on film and processing.

Digital is cheaper but make sure you use your camera at least every week. One trick is to put a heap of subjects in a hat and draw one out every week and that becomes your assignment, people, children, old, shiny, flowers, animals, landscape, city, water, trees, red, green, etc, etc.

After each week get a large print made of your best shot and put it on the fridge door. Look at it every day and think "Why is it good, what could I do better, how would I do it next time"

It is a good starter exercise.
FollowupID: 698569

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:48

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:48
Cheers D200Dug

I will definitely follow your advice there, and get out thewre and see what I can snap. It is interesting trying to get photos of the brumbies though, as they bolt when they see a car.

This old dog will learn this new trick.

Marc

FollowupID: 698571

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 21:47

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 21:47
Marc,

when you are taking pictures of the brumbies, or any moving object, select "Sports" mode (the little running figure).

See here:

This will allow the lens to stay in focus on the object no matter where or how it moves.

FollowupID: 698589

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:01

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:01
Cheers Gone Bush

That is something that I will do this weekend, as I am going out near the Lake to get what photo's I can get, for a few hours.

Just did some night shots of a horse that lives in the community, but the horses eyes turned out really wierd and glowing. I'm getting there a step at a time.

Marc

FollowupID: 698592

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 12:51

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 12:51
Im assuming a fair bit of your pics will be outside landscapes in good light

a circular polarising filter is reasnably inexpensive and really helps bring out detail and cut glare - like wearing polarising sunglasses

I bought one recently $50 shop price and am now kicking my self i didnt do it earlier
FollowupID: 699200

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 09:20

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 09:20
G'day Marc, I would recomend a Digital Photography course if available, & you must get a manual for your camera. You need to get the knowledge to operate
your camera in other than "Idiot Mode"...that is ..full automatic. Your camera has the ability to give much improved results if you tell it what type of shot you are trying to take. You do this by getting off the green auto mode & making
adjustments to the White Balance & Exposure compensation etc. That may sound technical but it is not that difficult to do...more difficult to explain. By using
full auto your camera just takes an average of the conditions & thats what you get in the shot. For many that is adequate, but as you wish to go for quality,
you need to go further than that. Just banging away & deleting the duds is not likely to improve your shots, although taking several images of one scene can be
of value. Good luck with it. On the advice of an expert, I no longer delete any
thing other than real stuff ups...that image is the only one of that scene at that time that will ever exist & as such is valuable. Just fill your SD cards & keep
them. This is the best & safest way to store your images. You can delete, alter
play with your images on your computer, as you wish, but still have a complete
record on the SDs....Memory is cheap...:))).....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 427815

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:03

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:03
Hi Oldbaz

Thanks for the comments and advice. I am fully intending of taking a bit here and there and getting inot the photograpghy slowly at first, and hopefully one day look at a photo, the first time, and say "I did it", but that is a way off yet.

Marc

FollowupID: 698552

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:33

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:33
Hi again Oldbaz

Whilst I would love to get involved in a photography course, I ive in Mulan Aboriginal Community, near Lake Gregory in WA. We are extremely isolated, but this is my wifes country, she is a Tribal Walmajarri / Martu woman.

Geographically we are almost half way between ALice Springs and Broome as the crow flies, so a bit out ot the weay for any kind of course, unless anyone knows of one that can be done by correspondence.

Marc

FollowupID: 698560

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 12:26

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 12:26
Gday Marc,
I bought the Mrs a camera from the Camera shop in Alice the other day and it came with a password that allows her to do an online camera course or something?
Ill find out some more about it and let you know.

Hairy
FollowupID: 698809

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:59

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:59
Hi Hairy

That would be mosr sincerely apprecaiated.

Marc

FollowupID: 698859

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:23

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:23
Gday Marc,
Sorry mate....couldnt find out much about it as the Mrs hasnt even logged on to it yet, so dont know how good it is.
It comes free with a new camera, but it sounds like you can buy access to it for about $50.
Here's a link to it incase you want to have a look.Camera House link
FollowupID: 698921

Reply By: whisky_mac - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 09:37

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 09:37
Hi Marc,

You have brought a good camera. Remember that a camera is only a light safe box with a few electronic bits. Buy the best lenses you can afford and they will help you capture your vision of your world. A site that I go to is www.ausphotography.net.au I hope I am not breaking site rules by suggestion a site. I am a member but receive no benefit by recommending it. It has stuff for the new photographer as well as the seasoned one. The other thing I would recommend is to have the camera nearby always. The more you use it the more familiar you become with it until it is just like an old friend.

I look forward to seeing some of your images.

Jim
AnswerID: 427817

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:05

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:05
Hi Wisky-Mac

Just had a look at that site, and I will be definitely be going back there for a snoop around. Undoubtedly I will learn heaps there.

Marc

FollowupID: 698553

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 11:22

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 11:22
Just a minor comment on digital cameras, SLR or point'n'shoot.

I see a few DSLRs, and quite a few P'n'S, cameras are coming out with the option of 16X9 aspect ratio.

I think that's the way to go because you can now load your photos on to a USB stick and plug it into your flat panel tellie and watch a slide show.

With 16X9 that slide show will be full screen.

AnswerID: 427830

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:08

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:08
Hi Gone Bush

I live full time bush, so maybe cross tracks some day..

I like the idea of the slide show, and have a 127 cm plasma, will that still be full screen.

Marc

FollowupID: 698554

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:40

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:40
Marc,

you can see a very comprehensive review of your camera here:

Canon 550 Review

It has a 3:2 aspect ratio so there will be black parts of the screen on the left and right sides of the photo when you put them on to a tellie with a 16:9 aspect ratio.

I have the Canon 500D and am thinking of upgrading, only because of that aspect ratio thing. It's just me though, so don't think your camera has any shortcomings: it's a beauty. Read that review.

FollowupID: 698566

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:45

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:45
HI Gone Bush

Cheers on that review site. I have temporarily added it to My Favourites, as with all other suggested sites, and wilkl gonthrough the site meticulously to seewhat I can learn. Thankyou very much.

Marc

FollowupID: 698568

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:46

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:46
Here's another link to your manual:

Canon 550D Manual in pdf format

FollowupID: 698570

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:50

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:50
H Gone Bush

Cheers mate for that

Marc

FollowupID: 698572

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 12:10

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 12:10
Where did you buy the camera as most sold in Aussie in shops have an English User manual provided.

Ebay ones can come with a Chinglish or none.

Guarantees are the same

Unless specified differently cameras are warrantied ONLY in the country of purchase.

Lenses are usually warrantied worldwide.

Personally I dislike multi lens usage as in lots of situations its dusty or windy or both.

I invested in a Tamron 18-270 lens which covers 35mm equiv of 28-400mm.

Does all I want for outdoor photography and never have to change lens.
It is a VR one as well.

Cost $1000 approx.

Use on a Nikon D 200 but Canon vers available.

Only thing it doesnt do is macro.

AnswerID: 427834

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:18

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:18
Hi Graham H

I bought the camera at a shop in Kununurra, and have acquired a couple of lenses through a bloke I met, he has his own digital business on line, so I will not advertsie for him.

As with everything, I guess it is what the person prefers. Where I live you cannot get near the subject sometimes, so I have opted for some good lenses as well. I have spent no more thanm about 10K all up so far, and I am serious about getting into photography, so I consider it a good investment in personal satisfaction.

Thanks for the comments

Marc

FollowupID: 698556

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:36

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:36
After having cameras for about 35 years I would take small steps at a time.

Spending $10k on something that you may not end up pursuing is a lot of money.

I respect you want to get into it seriously but I have found over time my interest has waned.

Have also found that despite taking about 3,000 pics on our trip hardly anyone is much interested in looking at them.

FollowupID: 698563

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:40

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:40
I Graham H

The difference here is that it is something that I have wanted to do for more than twenty years, but have been too busy working in my trade to get a chance. I have long service coming soon, and will be using that to get into it more. I am not concerned if other people want to see the photo's, as it is for my pleasure.

Marc

FollowupID: 698567

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 21:54

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 21:54
http://www.alamy.com/search-results.asp?&xstx=0&userid=%7B4FCBAC78-0B0B-454F-9F5F-D00F1FBDB4FF%7D&name=Doug+Steley&st=12

This is what I do with my images now :-)

it is fun and gives me an income and some great tax benefits
FollowupID: 698590

Reply By: Plugga- Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 12:31

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 12:31
Hi Marc
This place sends out weekly photo tips and has a forum.
Digital Photography School
Rob
AnswerID: 427839

Follow Up By: Plugga- Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 12:34

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 12:34
Something went wrong there,just google it

FollowupID: 698481

Follow Up By: Chris & Sue (Briz Vegas) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 14:20

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 14:20
Marc,

I agree with Plugga.

Try this link: Digital Photography School

They have a good newsletter and forum.

FollowupID: 698495

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:37

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:37
HI Plugga, Chris and Sue

Thanks for recommending that site. I have had a brief look and I think it will be worth the occasional drop in to see what I can learn.

Marc

FollowupID: 698565

Reply By: D200Dug- Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 13:44

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 13:44
http://www.digitalslr.com.au/forum/index.php

A good reasonably* friendly forum forum for DSLR users good information and advice questions answered and a chance to post your photos and get feedback.

(It is slow at the moment due to outside reasons but it will pick up again I am sure)

* most people are very friendly I am the resident NIKON bigot so I will have to be rude to you over your choice of a canon camera. :-)

cheers doug
AnswerID: 427844

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:21

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:21
Hi again D200Dug

As is commonly said, different strokes for different folks.

I am happy with my camera, and will be happier once I get out and play with it more.

Tell you what, I will buy a Nikon bag and then you don't have to be rude.

Marc

FollowupID: 698557

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:35

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:35
Sorry but my mother always told me to do whatever I was best at

And being rude and nasty to Canon uses is about my only real skill :-)

Cheers and hope to be rude to you on the forum soon.

I do have a long tradition of canon hating to uphold and people would worry if I was nice.
FollowupID: 698562

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:54

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:54
D200Dug

I lo forward o it

Marc

FollowupID: 698573

Reply By: Peter W - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 14:10

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 14:10
Hi Marc,

Some years back I was introduced to the following site/club

http://canondslrphotographyclub.yuku.com/directory

The resident guru there pulls no punches but is very supportive to those learning the game. He has a wealth of knowledge particularly about Canon cameras and lenses and instructs you well. Whilst it is open to all cameras the main support is for Canon and the information I have found and instruction given has been nothing less than fantastic.
It has certainly helped my development.

http://peterwpa1.zenfolio.com/

A friendly Group with varied experience including newbies.
Nothing to join and although it is USA based there are a few Aussies who are members.
Give it a try.
I know they are looking for new people to help.

AnswerID: 427847

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:24

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:24
Hi Peter W

I will be definitely getting into the mind of that guru anmd learning what I can, may as well uise the knowledge that is around.

I have gleaned the other site, and have decided that I will join there and find out what I can as well.

Marc

FollowupID: 698558

Reply By: Member - Jeffrey B (NSW) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:34

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:34
Hi Marc,

The Canon Australia website does indeed have the downloadable version (PDF) of the 550D manual, and also a link to download the latest firmware for your camera if you're not already running it (1.0.8).

Canon Australia Driver Downloads

www.canon.com.au & look under 'support & services', 'driver downloads', and search for your model of camera or select from the drop downs....you'll then get a link to download the latest drivers & software & another link to the latest firmware.

Jeff

PS. If you intend to get serious about photography, then you might look at getting the Canon 'L' series lenses instead of their 'consumer' range lenses, more expensive but they are superior lenses.

another good website dedicated to photography is Luminous Landscape

AnswerID: 427868

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:27

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 19:27
Hi Jeffrey

Have been to the site and downloaded the PDF files, now I have to print them out, laminate them and file them (lever arch) so that I can carry it with me. Thankyou ever so much for the great site for what I need.

One question however, what is "firmware", how do I utilise it and if necessary download it. I did say I am beginning.

Marc

FollowupID: 698559

Follow Up By: Chris & Sue (Briz Vegas) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:27

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:27
Hi again Marc,

Firmware is the software inside your camera. You utilise it every time you turn on the camera as that's what runs the whole shebang.

While my menu setup is probably different to your (I have a 450D), you should find the firmware version on one of your camera's menus.Mine is on the Custom Menu.

Canon releases firmware updates from time to time, but I suspect that there's no need to immediately race out and try to download/install anything until you really know there's a problem. According to Canon's website here, the latest 550D firmware is version 1.0.8 released in early July.

Feel free to PM me if you've any questions. I've been using Canon gear since my Dad bought a very early 35mm rangefinder one in about 1954. :-)

FollowupID: 698595

Follow Up By: Member - Jeffrey B (NSW) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 23:15

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 23:15
Hi Marc,

The firmware is the operating system of your camera, a bit like XP, Vista or Windows 7 is on your PC, or if you have a MAC, MAX OS.

Canon from time to time releases updates to the firmware to fix software bugs, improve performance or provide enhanced features.

There is a link off the Canon website to the site to download the latest firmware, or you can follow this link Canon Firmware Website and select your camera from the list.

The instructions for updating the firmware will be shown when you follow the link, basically you format an SD Card in your camera (you should always format your cards 'in camera', Microsoft & Apple do not 'format' the way Canon does), then download the firmware file from Canon, expand it on your PC (run it & it self expands), & then you copy the file to the SD card, put the SD card in your camera, turn on the camera, go to the 'Menu' & 'Setup-up 3' and follow the prompts.

Vers. 1.0.8 appears to fix a bug with the movies function, whilst this might not be a particular problem you'll encounter, it is good practise to be running the latest firmware.

The Canon software is not very user friendly or workflow efficient, so you might like to look at using 3rd party software for editing / manipulating / cataloging your photos such as Adobe Lightroom V3 or Apple Aperture, especially if you take your photos in RAW & edit them. (if you intend to edit or print photos in large format then using the highest resolution your camera has, and preferably in RAW, will give you better results - the manual should explain this).

Don't forget to regularly backup your photos onto other media & store them offsite, PC hard disks do fail & PCs also get stolen, so a backup stored separately is desirable if the photos are important to you.

Jeff

FollowupID: 698599

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:09

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:09

Thankyou so much to everyone who has responded. I now have heaps of sites to visit, plenty of camera guides to look at and ample advice, for which I am extremely appreciative.

This old dog will learn the new tricks, and hopefully one day I will be able to impress other EO members with some decent photography. When I do eventually post, I would always welcome constructive criticism and comments, as I can only learn from that.

To Ric, whom I have bought s couple of items from (you know who you are), I reckon a man would go no further than you for great quality gear, and I will keep getting my equipment from you. Great tripod by the way.

Marc

AnswerID: 427892

Reply By: Brett H - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:57

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:57
Check out the following site.

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/

I use it all the time for different things.
AnswerID: 427893

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:32

Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:32
Hi Brett

Have just had a brief glimpse at that site, and I will be going back there for a more extensive look around. Thankyou.

Marc

FollowupID: 698645

Reply By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 17:47

Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 17:47
Hi Marc

Good on you for jumping in boots and all, and committing to your interest. I bought a Canon 300D new in 2004 (about 2k back then) and it is still going strong. The key to good photos is perseverance, experimentation and good quality lenses.

Canons are definitely the way to go and Nikon's are only for people who can't afford a Canon - LOL (Most cameras these days are very good)

If you just get a handle on the effect that shutter speed, Aperture setting, and ISO have on your photos you will be half way there. Read as much as you can, but also experiment with the AV (aperture) and TV (shutter) settings by taking the same photo a number of times with different setting you will see how the field of view, focus etc...... are changed.

Essentially don't take it too seriously and have fun with it, also get yourself a good quality tripod for low light shots.

I am just upgrading my gear and have managed to get my self a Canon EOS 5d for $650 (my old man is a professional photographer and has just upgraded) I will also be upgrading my lenses starting with a 24 -105 IS USM 4L and then I will get some thing with more zoom a 70 - 200 perhaps.

I am looking forward to renewing my interest in photography as a result of the new toy as my interest of late has wained.

I wish you all the best with it and I am sure you will be taking awesome photos in no time.

AnswerID: 427941

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:30

Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:30
Hi Jason

Ihave already been doing whast you have suggested. I have purchased a good Italian Tripod, and it brings the camera to my height, as unfortunately I am not short. Did some night photos last night actually.

I already have two lenses ands have just ordered a macro lense for close photos, as I love the effect that different shades of light have on different flowers and the like.

Actually photography has been niggling at me for nearly twenty years, so I though the tax refund this year, as well as other savings, may as wqell scratch that itch. The learning and advice form people such as yourself havemade it all that much better.

Marc

FollowupID: 698644

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:43

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:43
Quote [Canons are definitely the way to go and Nikon's are only for people who can't afford a Canon - LOL (Most cameras these days are very good)] Unquote

Well what a a rather uninformed comment. Nikons, the good ones are generally dearer and in some ways better than Canons. Even in the DPreview it says.

"The new camera also inherits the EOS 7D's sophisticated metering system (which brings it a lot closer to similarly positioned Nikon SLRs)".

There are several reasons for not buying one or the other and in my case because i have rather long fingers found the Canon was too small and uncomfortable to use.
The Canon was cheaper but the Nikon was much more comfortable to use so I bought it.

I have always aspired to own a Nikon for over 40 years, from away back when as a teenager I got my first Pentax.
We had, between 4 of us, every lens from 28-400mm and had lots of fun hanging off mountains trying to change endlessly threaded lens on an S1a or an SV. LOL
I now prefer not to have multi lens and have a 18-270 Tamron which covers everything I need without exposing the innards of the camera to unwanted dust.

FollowupID: 698924

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 17:29

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 17:29
Lighten up sunshine!!!

I was having a friendly dig at a previous post by a self confessed "Resident Nikon Bigot" Horses for corses, I couln't really care what camera people use as long as they have fun with it. Me personally have a canon at the moment (EOS 5D full sized sensor, 24-105 F4L IS USM, and a 70 - 200 2.8L usm) each to their own.

FollowupID: 699126

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 18:27

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 18:27
Alright but had you posted it as a follow up to the supposed "Nikon bigots" post it would have been taken as such.

Posted as a reply to the original OP left it open to being misconstrued.

I dont care either but its easy to take the "perhaps" wrong meaning.

I'll be labelled with Doug I dont mind.

Nikon D200 with Tamron 18-270 VR lens and Red Hen systems GPS receiver and Globalsat BT 338 GPS

FollowupID: 699140

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:35

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:35
Fair enough.
FollowupID: 699156