Old Policeman's Waterhole & The Davenport Ranges N.T.
Submitted: Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 14:59
Members Pa & Ma.
It's freezing here in S.W.Vic. today and the wind would spin your head around.
The flood waters are receeding.
We can't wait to get back to our beloved Desert for our holz and we've been wondering about visiting The Davenport Ranges and the Old Policemans
waterhole.
It is planned to become a national
Park, I'm not sure if it is yet though.?
Can you catch a decent fish in it or any Yabbies. I hate boiling them alive, does anyone know of a better way to kill them first?
We'd also like to hear from anyone of you who have been there recently.
Many thanks.
Take care, safe travels.
Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 15:08
Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 15:08
Still on the proposed list but marked as a NP (only the "proposed" has been removed from most signs etc.), and has been run by NP's for years. Can't help with the fish or yabbies... depends on the season... as it's a wet season river system. Haven't been there for awhile but will try to talk to a couple of people tonight, who were down there a few weeks ago.
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 15:43
Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 15:43
Hi Fred,
Thanks for the reply and for taking the time to catch up with the people tonight for us.
We are'nt normally fisher people but we're taking more time on our trips now as we get older and thought we may stay a couple of days by the
waterhole.
We have a bit of long service leave to add on to the normal holz.
Thanks Heaps.
Bye for now.
Reply By: Bazooka - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 16:32
Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 16:32
Hello Kettles???
Impractical in most cases but one theory on the humane way to kill crays, crabs & yabs is to stick them in a freezer for a short time (min 20 mins or so). Apparently this shuts them down and they basically go to sleep. Or you could invest in a Crustastun:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/food/article-1230020/How-kill-lobster-kindness.html
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:03
Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:03
Hi Bazooka,
Thanks for your reply it's truely appreciated and so is your intuition!
We're actually
Cook but the Ma & Pa bit refers to Ma & Pa Kettle. There's a long story behaind that.
You hit the nail right on the head with that.
Well done.
Speaking of which....We have an Engel which we use as a fridge not a freezer.
Can you hit them on the head and knock them out?
We wouldn't have them often.
Thanks for the link, I'll check it out.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye for now, Ma.
Follow Up By: petengail - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:28
Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 17:28
it dosent have to be a freezer put them in a strong (zip lock type bag) and put them in the fridge for half a day or so.... that will close them down enough.... usually with crabs, you havent got them cold enough if they still throw their claws.... not sure about yabbies though...
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:18
Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 18:18
Hi petengail,
Thanks for that, we don't like eating crabs but it is
well worth a try for yabbies if we need to catch them for a feed.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye for now, Ma.
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:24
Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 22:24
Pa & Ma
If you want to keep the yabbies to eat later say a week or so, instead of chilling them down [slowing their matabilism down] then thawring them back to life, you can keep them in river
water and feed them raw diced carrot. Another thing you can do with them is to stand them on their head with their claws out the front them rub their back for 15/20 seconds. This will also put them to sleep and they will only wake up when you knock them over.
Murray
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 11:12
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 11:12
Hi Murry,
Thanks for your reply, although it sounds a bit weird!?
Does the carrot make them drunk or just keep them alive until you want them? LOL
By the next reply, it sounds as if we won't need to kill yabbies humanely because there isn't any there!
Take care, safe travels.
Bye for now Ma.
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 23:15
Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 23:15
Hi Ma & Pa
We spent two weeks in the Davenport NP (proposed) last year.
Well, the two weeks were spent camped on the road on the way to the Old
Policeman's Waterhole, but we drove down to the
water hole each day. A good place for spotting birds; we counted 26 different species during our stay. The main
camping area spreads along the length of this pool, so there is plenty of room. While we were there, there were between one and six rigs camped each night. There are other small unserviced
camp grounds further along a 4wd track (not suitable for trailers) on further river pools.
It is a very pleasant spot, and i gather a far nicer pool than at Whistleduck
Creek which we didn't visit.
While we were there, no-one caught any fish (winter is not the right time of year for them to bite was the excuse given), and one day a family from
the settlement near Epenarra Station came to catch yabbies but had no luck either. A pleasant place to stay, but the donkeys come around the
camp ground at night just to scare everyone with their braying. NT Parks are negotiating with the local community who do not want these ferals eradicated.
As aforesaid the
park is managed by NT Parks and normal honesty box
camping fees apply.
I don't eat crustaceans, but consider severing the spinal cord at the back of
the neck the quick and humane way to dispatch them before cooking.
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 11:26
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 11:26
Hi Motherhen,
Thanks for that info, as usual you've been a great help. I've had them when I was a kid but Mother through them into boiling
water.
Mother was very strict and you had to eat what you were given, unless the dog was under the table!!!
Neville isn't one for sitting around, I like to have a break from travel now I'm getting older but was looking at a way to keep him busy!
The Donkeys would be coming in for food too I spose.
It sounds as though we might go in for a look but not stay we'll find a better place to
camp. Not long till holz. Thanks heaps.
Take care, & best wishes.
Bye for now, Ma.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 12:19
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 12:19
Hi Ma & Pa
It is still a lovely spot, and even at the
main camp ground plenty of room to get away from others. A walk to the historic
ruins the other side of
the pool, and allow the river bed to the next pools. Also 4wd drive (we didn't take with our F250) which goes to the mining
ruins which are on part of the Binns track.
Mh
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 13:33
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 13:33
Hi again M.H.
Hoping this finds you fit &
well.
Thanks for that, youv'e made it sound better than I thought, as you know, we like our privacy and the silence of the outback.
Take care, with best wishes.
Bye for now Ma (Sally)
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 23:54
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 23:54
Hi Ma and Pa
If there were others at the
waterhole (and even going up the far end seemed to close for you), there is always the alternative spots off the 4wd track. With either a trip up the Binns track, or 200 kms of dirt road from the Stuart Hwy, only determined campers get there, and all good people too (or the ones we met were).
Not silent in the day time with the Corellas as found at any inland
waterhole, flying in synchronised waves, and the occasional visiting donkeys at night, but all the same, a very pleasant
camp spot. We spent the last 15th night there - just because we could. Our 'on the road' home for two weeks was a lovely spot, four kilometres from the
waterhole.
Mh
Reply By: Effie C (NT) - Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 23:37
Friday, Aug 20, 2010 at 23:37
Plenty of
water in the hole at present due to on again off again rain we have been experiencing, I will second that it is a great place and NP have provided Long drops and some fire
places,
camping fees work on the honesty system.
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 11:30
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 11:30
Hi Effie,
Sounds a bit crowded for us. We'll pop in for a look and
camp somewhere else I think. Thanks for your reply.
Take care,safe travels.
Bye, Ma.
Follow Up By: Effie C (NT) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 21:30
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 21:30
P&A
I don't think it would be too crowded as it off the "beaten" track for most and if the main campgrouns is too crowded it is possible to go to the alternative
camping ground which is strictly 4wd access only so rules out most of the black top
camping groups. The
water hole and main
camping "grounds" would be about 1 to 1.5 k long and only 2 long drops set up a good walking distance away up on the
hill.
Reply By: wendys - Sunday, Aug 22, 2010 at 16:24
Sunday, Aug 22, 2010 at 16:24
We had nearly a week there in June 2007, camped by Old Police
Waterhole. We were up near the far end of the
camp area. Never had any other campers near us. One night, we were the only ones there; most nights were only one or two other outfits; one night were four others - but strung out along the really
long waterhole, you really only knew they were there by the campfire light. The Driver didn't catch any fish, but he only dropped a line in when friend and I went walking - a reason not to walk?? Suspect once we were off in the distance, he snoozed. It is certainly a place I'd go back to.
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 11:20
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 11:20
Hi, MH,Effie Wendys,
Sorry I haven't been on the computer for a day or so. Thankyou all for your answers. Youv'e all been very helpful and it's truely appreciated.
There seems to have been more rain accross the centre in the last few days and we've heard that there are road closures again.
It seems as though the weather is going to determine where we end up this holz.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 12:21
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 12:21
Gday Ma & Pa,
Haven't been there for a while but it is a NP.
There are Yabbies there but we didnt get many when we were there. We did get heaps of fish and crabs in the Yabbie nets though.( to small to eat unless you were starving)
I usually do the boiling
water thing but otherwise throw a bag of ice on them for a while.
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:52
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:52
Hi Hairy,
Great to hear from you again. Thanks for your reply.
Are you still in The Alice?
We hear & see that there's still rain around the Alice & more coming.
The weatrher might end up determening where we go for our holz this yr.
Good luck with your moving, it's a rotten job. It's amazing the amount of stuff we've got when it comes to packing.
Take care, safe travels.
With best wishes, Ma.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:04
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:04
Gday Ma,
Yeah still here.....6 Days to go! We head off Sunday.
Packing hasn't been too bad as we've been doing it for the past six months, and todays the last day of it.
Its raining as we speak. Hope they aren't getting too much on the GCR or we might have to go the long way.
Hope your both
well and thanks for the good wishes.
Hairy
Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:28
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:28
Hi Hairy,
We don't want too much rain on the GCR or the SBJ or around Blackstone.
We Know
the desert needs the rain but I reckon it's had enough for a few months now.
I'll r ing Giles from The Alice.
Hope your new home works out
well for you.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye,Ma(Sally)