Submitted: Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 16:01
On the Run
Thurs morning leaving
overnight camp and r/rear on van is flat large nail, no probs 2xspares good condition change tyre and check pressures etc all good off we go.
Get 50kms down the road and r/rear van blows no worrys mustn be my day change to last spare and continue on.
Thursday arvo on arriving at next
camp r/rear van is low has small nail ,change and repair 2x punctures so a least one spare available
Friday 50kms west of
Dalby blew tyre yep r/rear van again change to last good spare and turn back to
Dalby to get 2 new tyres.
When pulled into tyre site r/rear is going down with large nail in the centre of tread.
All bitumen driving all major roads................except for gravel into overnight camps
These are all good tyres about 20000kms good tread Goodyear wranglers Always rotated just wasn't my Goodyear day................
Surely someone has had it worse......
Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:01
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:01
One thing comes to mind...........Murphy. That is just rotten luck, pretty much ridiculous. I hope things improve. Cheers
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:21
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:21
Sounds like just plain old bad luck.
Us on the other hand towing a newly purchased 16ft van from
Alice Springs to our new home in
Norseman,
well we just kept blowing tyres, in that case it was plain old inexperience as we thought lowering the pressure might help (of course it didn't probably made the problem worse). One side kept blowing the last one probably 20km before
Norseman, needless to say we slep on the side of the road overnight to go get a tyre in the moring and eventually made it the whole way!
Nails,
well just plain bad luck, or did you collect some cursed rock that you shouldn't have?
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:22
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 18:22
Could have been worse, just imagine if you had of had your mother in law with you! LOL and hope your luck improves. At least you were
well prepared and capable of doing some repairs for yourself.
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 21:55
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 21:55
Mate leave the battle axe out of this. and leave the monster in law at home.
To moderators, this is said in jest, I have had prob's with mother in law but we have sorted them out and i know there are some wonderful mum in laws out there!!!
no insults inteneded.
Reply By: OREJAP - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 19:04
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 19:04
Goodyear wranglers!!! Not my idea of a good tyre but seriously check the pockets of all those travelling with you....as Duffy Duck once said, "It's sobotagee!!!"
Reply By: Member - mazcan - Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 21:28
Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 at 21:28
hi on the run
are you sure you dont have a container of nails in the back of your ute that has toppled over and they keep on falling out through the tailgate under the van tyres if not you must have killed a chinaman as they use to say
cheers and better luck on next leg
Reply By: Wilko - Sunday, Aug 22, 2010 at 08:08
Sunday, Aug 22, 2010 at 08:08
Hi On the Run,
Thats plain bad luck , I hope youve used it up and have a smoother run from here on.
Cheers Wilko
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Aug 22, 2010 at 08:32
Sunday, Aug 22, 2010 at 08:32
Some sections of h/way still have the centre line 'cats' eyes nailed down instead of glued , Perhaps Murphy decreed that you should be the one to rid the h/way of the outdated 'cats 'eyes, LOL
Reply By: lindsay - Sunday, Aug 22, 2010 at 10:32
Sunday, Aug 22, 2010 at 10:32
We find with trucks with bogie axles that if you run over a nail, the first wheel of the group will hit the nail and stand it up then the rear tyre will hit the nail that will puncture that tyre. Tek screws are the worst.