4 wd'ers - why do they do some things???

Submitted: Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 16:43
ThreadID: 80894 Views:5641 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
We saw thisImage Could Not Be Foundat the Ivanhoe Crossing, Kununurra, a couple of months ago. That's a teenage boy sitting on the bonnet videoing the crossing. The water was flowing quite quickly and the guy in the Cruiser wasn't crawling either. Sometimes I think we should issue licences for people to have children!!!

teege

Reply By: Dr Hook - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 16:50

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 16:50
Member form Teege:

Don't worry, no need for alicensae because its a self-correcting flaw: once they've killed that child, they can see if they can do better on the next one!
AnswerID: 428147

Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:23

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:23
saw similar in the Simpson Desert a month back, some guy with his young kids on the roofrack and another half hanging out the window as they negotiated the sand dunes. after the vehicle rolls will be to late to realise for them unfortunately.
AnswerID: 428151

Reply By: ob - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:38

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:38
Maybe another candidate for the Darwin Award

It also clearly demonstrates that an IQ greater than your hat size is not required to breed........even single cell organisms can perform that function.

AnswerID: 428155

Reply By: Nutta - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:12

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:12
So what, the kid is sitting behind the bulbar with his legs hanging over the front, the water looks below the sills, can't people have a little fun anymore?

AnswerID: 428165

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:22

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:22
agree ....... if care is taken it is just as safe as, no actually safer, than walking down a Melbourne street these days, that is unless crocs buy guns ....
I see every day 4wds drive past at stupid speeds, with kids in em, yeh seat belts ect but no excuse to drive fast ........ it is just the hidden danger, you can see this young man that is all ...... we do use masking tape on the kids when on the bonnet, lot safer, when on the roof we supa glue them, works a treat
FollowupID: 698849

Follow Up By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:24

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:24
Is it Legal Nutta? Would it be fun if he fell off and a Croc bit him or he drowned? What if he slipped over the front and Dad drove over him? That would be heaps of fun too. It would also be heaps of fun for all present to witness such a fun event as it would be so much fun for the emergency services who would have to attend, bag him him up and ship him to the morgue. What a hoot!!!
FollowupID: 698851

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:03

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:03
I was often on the bonnet or roof when I was a kid.
Dad used to tow me up the beach on old car bonnets or Perspex windscreens, I had a ball!
Sometimes you've got to have some fun growing up.

I'm more at risk now riding road and dirt bikes these days, I went over the handle bars on my pushy 8 weeks ago and punctured a lung.

You can't wrap yourself in cotton wool!
FollowupID: 698877

Follow Up By: crd patrol - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:09

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:09
Nutta,

Mate I see your point...but tell that to an old friend of ours that had to bury their young daughter because she fell off the back of a 4 wheeler and under the small trailer it was towing, and crushed her. Her father was the driver of the 4 wheeler and was not doing anything stupid for her to have fallen off. She just slipped off the back. But it was "fun" for her to be on there!

FollowupID: 698888

Follow Up By: ross - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:12

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:12
I would rather be on the front than inside in a situation like that.
If the vehcile went over the edge you got a better chance.

If the vehicle did go over I cant see how either would be safe from crocs
FollowupID: 698920

Follow Up By: Nutta - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:06

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 11:06
I couldn't think of anything worse than having to bury one of your kids and even worse if you were responsible, you would certainly never forgive yourself.

For the girl to be on the back of the truck and fallen under the trailer is especially dangerous because she couldn't be kept an eye on.

At least the boy is on the front and IF he did fall I'm sure the 4wd could stop in time, anyway.

Cheers Wayne
FollowupID: 698942

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:20

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:20
One of the problems with natural selection, is that it sometimes seems to work so slowly! Last time we were there, there were a couple of fishermen near those crossing markers.......... and also this.... not far from them.

AnswerID: 428167

Follow Up By: ian - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:43

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:43
Hi John and Val,
I've often heard that there are no salties above the crossing. What model of croc was that one?
FollowupID: 698854

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:46

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:46
He's only a friendly freshie, always sits out there on that rock.
And you aughto see the crossing as the wet season approaches, you have trouble driving across it, as there are that many people there swimming and cooling off in the water.I could not believe it when I first saw it.
FollowupID: 698855

Reply By: OzTroopy - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:37

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:37
Low & slow water ... look at the vehicle wake

steady speed with no jolting ....

Big Deal.

Kid probably has motorbikes or horses he has wilder rides on .....

And as for running over him as mentioned above ..... Oh yeah ... my first reaction would be to hit the accelerator ..... if I saw my kid slip off the front ..... pffftttttt

e-bay would be a better spot for bulk cotton wool purchases than EO - I WOULD have thought ....
AnswerID: 428173

Follow Up By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:52

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:52
But what if you didn't see him slip off? When I was much younger a guy from my home town got killed by riding on the bonnet of a car. It was not fun then and 30 years later is still not fun for those that were involved. Life is way too precious to take silly risks even if it appears to be fun. These things always make the most tragic accidents. I would never let my own Son do that as I value his life too much.
FollowupID: 698856

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:12

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:12
Member - TJ (VIC) posted: But what if you didn't see him slip off?

well lets see .......

Decision made ...

yes you can ride up front ...

select low range

enter the water

maintain a steady speed

keep an eye on the causeway ...

oops I cant see all the causeway ... theres a kid in the way ....

hey passenger can you see the causeway edge ... oh OK ... you keep watching little johnny then ....

IF .... a tiny little word causing a no end of huge problems in the world.

Lobbyists and legilslators have a bigger chance of bleeding to death from a papercut than that kid having an incident in a controlled circumstance such as that photo depicts.
FollowupID: 698864

Follow Up By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:03

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:03
Aha, now I get i. It is now ok for your kid to ride on the bonnet of your vehicle on a public road because it's ok as you are being careful. OK.
FollowupID: 698876

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 05:55

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 05:55
Glad you've finally twigged the difference between being a mug lair ... and doing something carefully ....

and if it was my kid .... he wouldnt have been on the bonnet .....

He would have been up on the rack ... or crowsnest, as he called it, filming away with the super 8 ....
FollowupID: 698899

Reply By: Pebble - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:54

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:54
There much worse parents in this world than that.
I think that kid is lucky to have a family who go on trips like that and actually allow the kids a bit of freedom to do the stuff that kids would have done in days gone by without second though.
Yes something bad could happen but you know the parent is the one who would have to live with that for the rest of their lives. I'm sure we've all done things that we thought were a good idea at the time and maybe not so good in hind sight?

I'm not that old (30) but I remember on a weekend type trip, small group of us going out bush just on a camping trip, the camp was run by a high school teacher and I'd say probably in his own time. I remember some of us were riding on the roofrack of the troopie for fun, dodging any low branches. On another trip (canyoning) must have taken a lot longer than planned because we didn't get home until like midnight.

And you know what those are probably some of my most memorable times growing up.

I've experienced the other side of life too, frequently being in the car where the driver would have been over the limit (alcoholic) and once he was so drunk that it was safer for his teenage unlicensed son to drive. Try a life where your parent's friends or acquaintances are alcoholics and gamblers, that's certainly not much fun, I think I'd much rather sit on the bonnet of a sober and responsible adults car!

You know one could be politically correct and wrapped up in cotton wool all their life and still suffer a great tradgedy (weather it's their own life or a loved one) and on the other hand idiots can get away with murder!

Yes people do some stupid things I agree, but sometimes you have to remember that there are much worse things that could be done. I mean just look at the schools in Qld banning kids doing hand stands and cartwheels or whatever, sometimes being politically correct just goes too far. But in the end you're entitled to your opinion and so am I. You say what they're doing is stupid, I say it's risky but it's at their own risk, maybe it's a risk I'd take maybe not, you can't always know that unless you are in the same circumstances.
AnswerID: 428184

Reply By: Muntoo - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:57

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:57
We used to ride on the bonnet all the time as kids. Going slow of course.

Also used to live on the back of the ute too, never rode inside if you went anywhere in a ute. Does make me shiver nowadays though thinking about it all.

But i also used to thrash motorbikes and cars around too, at a very young age. My first traffic offence was when i was 14, taken home by the cops for a number of offences. None were anything serious, just a cop with a serious chip on his shoulder. Parents didnt care, and let me go straight back. The other cop was embarrassed to be with him.

These days kids do need to be shown the real world instead of growing up inside playing computer games.

AnswerID: 428186

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:34

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:34
Hi Teege

What you have pointed out is quite common at Ivanhoe Crossiing, and yes, I get quite concerned when I see it. There has been comment that there are no salties around that area, Johnsons are Freshies with the longer snout, and I have seen at least three larger crocs with a rounded snout, they are salties.

Where the heck did this myth come from that freshies won't attack. If a female is guarding her nest, she will attack without provocation, if you are in the area. They may not do a lot of damage, but tell that to a small child who could be seriously injured. Crocs are at the top of their food chain, they are successful hunters, that is why they are some of the only surviving dinosaurs.

The youngster on the bonnet is obviously a teenager, and by the way they are sitting, I would say the legs are wrapped into the bull bar. That may not justify what is happening, but the driver in that instance is in control. The wqave in front of the vehicle is very small, telling me that the speed is not an issue.

Incidnetally, a croc sunning itself on a rock is not in the mood for hunting. It would quickly get away if disturbed. The local Aboriginal people, some of whom I know quite well, eat croc meat. I find it too oily, but still a decent feed when the gut is rumbling.

I guess a case like the opne photographed is up to the individual.

Marc
Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 428191

Reply By: Off-track - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:02

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:02
What if...what if...what if.

Go and get a life people! No, hang on, lets wrap those kids in the proverbial cottonwool so they can never experience some of the (mis)adventure we had as a kid. Let's stamp on the derring-do and pull back on that caution that's in the wind. Let's give our kids such a boring existence that the only adrenaline they will ever get is from an 'ultra realistic'computer game.

Then, and only then, will they be armed with all the life skills to guide them through their life as they obviously will be broadly experienced.

So now I might settle in and spend the rest of the night trolling through pics on the internet to place on this forum so we can judge and berate the actions of others from our armchairs on high.

There are much much much more dangerous things that we expose our kids to every day but are utterly ignorant of it.

Jeeez.
AnswerID: 428207

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:37

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 22:37
Growing up as kids we used to ride around the paddock on boards tied to the trailer while dad fed hay. Slide down the hill on bits of whatever we could find. As we got older the games got more serious. We used to freeze large tubs of ice and slide down the hill on them until that got boring so then we towed them around the footy oval at 60 km/h. I remember coming off and loosing half the skin off my front. We used to roll a hessian bag up in chiken wire, soak it in desiel then light it and play soccer with it at night. So I don't think I have a right to judge the people in the photo.
There are a lot of what ifs in people arguments. What if I have a car crash tomorrow, what if I get mugged, what if I die tonight when I go to slept.
I have spent a large part of my life working with "at risk youth" and troubled young people. Most of these kids get into trouble cause they are bored. Why are they bored?? Cause they can't do the things we did growing up because "what if". When we are sitting around the camp fire telling these kids the things we used to do as kids they are dumb founded.
We never needed drugs or alcohol to have a high. Our high was fun. Did we ever get hurt, oh yeah big time but it taught us resiluance, and taught us to take educacated risks. It taught us to value life. Accidents happen, and I'm not saying to be stupid, but we need to be able to enjoy life and yes we will get hurt at times.
AnswerID: 428210

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:27

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:27
i just checked ..... there has been more people shot on the streets of Melbourne in the last five years than killed falling off bonnets.............
I think it about time we banned walking on the streets, may i say they ride on car bonnets, it is safer ......
FollowupID: 698890

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 01:45

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 01:45
Some great common sense there Josh. Its the "cotton wool" brigade that I am more concerned about. Life itself is a risk, its up to the individual to decide what is an acceptable and unacceptable risk - provided they are not adding risk to others who have no input into it.

My kids have been driving my 4WD since they were around 5. Is it legal, probably not - but they are now reasonably competent drivers who at a pinch could drive my vehicle if I had an incident and was unable to drive. As we often go bush by ourselves, is this a wise precaution or an irresponsible parent?

FollowupID: 698897

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 03:39

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 03:39
I'm sure glad my parents encouraged me to challenge myself growing up on the farm. Learned to drive around the paddocks in the wet, learned that flooring it was not the best way out of a bog.

Never had an accident in 50 years so I must have learned something.

Did we do some stupid things............sure did and I have the scars to prove it but we didn't do it again.

I went to a friends 60th party on Saturday night and I nearly cried when I saw the youth of today just sitting there like zoombies texting on their phones only to realize that they were texting each other 5 meters away.

Bruce

FollowupID: 698898

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:47

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:47
Joe, that is a classic, I'm still laughing. It's funny we don't want them riding on the bonnet but happy for them to sit at home playing computer games were they steal cars, shoot people and all sorts of "fun" things and as you say cycadcenter: sit around txting instead of enjoying life.
Was just thinking if we had listened to the "what ifs" we would never have done our 3 yr trip around oz...what if you don't enjoy it, what if you don't find work, what if something bad happens, what if it's not what you you thought it would be.
Well we did enjoy it, we did find work, nothing bad happened that we couldn't get over, it wasn't what we thought.. it was better.
Kids today miss out on so much because of what ifs...

Josh
FollowupID: 698906

Follow Up By: Member - John B2 (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:04

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:04
Joe Grace Doomadgee posted:
i just checked ..... there has been more people shot on the streets of Melbourne in the last five years than killed falling off bonnets.............
I think it about time we banned walking on the streets, may i say they ride on car bonnets, it is safer ......

Where did you get stats for "killed falling off bonnets" I would be interested to read this.

The people getting shot here are all criminals and drug dealers (good riddance saves the police & courts time ) not your normal citizen, so it is not really a good analogy to use.

FollowupID: 698909

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:32

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:32
I see nothing wrong with this - Looks safe to me - Stop being wowsers :-)
FollowupID: 698913

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:47

Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 10:47
Cool.......looks like fun.
Something my kids would want to do.
And Id let them if the conditions were right.

My Daughter has been riding horses since she was 7....you couldnt throw her off a bonnet if you tried.
As for my son....Id probably have to tie him on so he didnt try and jump off and do a bomb on the low side.

Hahahahahaha....Its safer than letting your kids walk to school in the cities.

AnswerID: 428255