Submitted: Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:19
vk1dx
We just arrived home after a month long trip up to
Cape York. I always give the old "one finger salute" to other 4wders, holidayers and tourers. In that time one a very few caravan users acknowledged our wave.
Why? Is it a snob thing. I am truly disappointed. As a past caravan owner we always said "Hi" in the old traditional way.
Come on you lot! Don't be snobs to any 4WD that is just being friendly.
Reply By: ob - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:34
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:34
I guess it depends on which way your hand is being held as to what reaction you can expect from your "one finger salute"..............lol
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:44
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:44
Brilliant!!!!
Reply By: Gazal Champion - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:39
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:39
Hi Phil, We have recently completed a holiday in not so sunny Qld and in the main we did not experience that lack of recognition to the same extent. We did notice it somewhat more than usual but there were few non wavers.
I find the worst ones were the motorhome fraternity who, in the main, do not wave to lowly caravan owners. There are many exceptions but non waving is the norm for them. Me, I wave to anybody and everybody and if they wave back, good oh but if not, perhaps they did not see me or they have a problem.
See you out there, Cheers, Bruce.
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:53
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:53
Good onya Bruce…. Keep waving mate and most will respond…. Like walking down the street…. Give a smile and it’s usually returned…. I didn’t get my nickname for nothing.
I’ve seen a couple of your recent posts and would have mm’d you if you were a member. Let me know if you’re heading up to Mingo again…. You owe me a beer don’t you?
Myles.
Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:07
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:07
Good onya
Miles. Ill talk to anybody all day long mate.
Cheers, Bruce.
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:12
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:12
Sorry about the spelling there Myles, and yes I owe you one, but listen mate don't tell anybody about Mingo Crossing or they will all want to go there hahaha.
Cheers Mate.
Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:23
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:23
Looks like a great spot.....you might have let the cat out of the bag.
Cheers, The Landy
Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:26
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:26
The "motorhome" types are probably trying to manhandle the vehicle on the road between the white (yellow) lines and need both hands on the wheel, whereby those towing a caravan don't have such hassles of vehicle control :-)
Maîneÿ . . .
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:47
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:47
They possibly could be concentrating on the road ahead and may not see you or by the time they see you it is too late to spot their gesture.
The fact that someone doesn't do it, does not make them a bad person IMO, even though I appreciate it when travellers respond.
Maybe with the modern designs of vehicles, it is difficult to see this one finger at a distance when holding the steering wheel correctly ;)
Follow Up By: Member - Leon A (SA) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:56
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:56
This is generally my problem, although I try to wave when I remember. Normally the other half does it as she's in the passenger
seat and doesn't have to concentrate on the road as much.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:48
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:48
Good point. Yes it was hard to tell sometimes.
Reply By: Notso - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:51
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 17:51
Me, being an ardent caravanner and an inveterate waver, find that not many 4WD drivers wave back. I always mutter something about boring old ??.
But there again I get a few Caravanners who don't wave as
well, so I guess you just strike a few of em every now and again. I find the truckies are a pretty friendly bunch, most of em give you a wave or have a chat on the uhf.
Reply By: Nutta - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:20
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:20
This is The only One finger salute i know of,
http://one-finger-salute.org/middle_finger.png
If that's what you're giving people it's no wonder you're not getting a wave in return.
When I was riding motorbikes the Harley riders rarely waved back, to good apparantley!
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:34
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:34
Clown. You know darn
well that's not what I mean.
It's raising a finger off the steering wheel as a "friend" approaches. Its been around for decades. Long before the yank imported one that you so happily displayed to me in the attachment. Thanks.
Your "handle" suits you excellently.
Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:09
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:09
Jeez , not a very jokey sorta person are you!
I think you really do need to get a life, knob!
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:22
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:22
Read some of my other comments and you can swallow those words as slow of quick as you wish.
Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:36
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:36
Lets hope that after this thread is read a few more "friends" will be seen on the road.
This is a very old tradition in the bush and unlike two posters I think most would like to see this one continue.
Thanks and lets hear from some more readers.
Reply By: ian - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:51
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 18:51
I don't wave to everyone on the road! Give me a break! I always acknowledge courtesy at narrow
places, on bush tracks I stop for a talk, in remote areas I stop for a brew, but on roads and highways I am doing my thing.
Waving a traditional thing? Cars haven't been around long enough for it to be a tradition.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:49
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:49
Surely you jest Ian.
I can remember in the early 50's Dad waving to other cars. Yep Thats long enough to be called a tradition.
Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:01
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:01
Phil,
I always loved the change in my fellow motorists once you get north of the border, paticlularly further to the west towards
Broken Hill and the likes. I added it to one of my earlier
blogs as an intersting and amusing observation.
"The amusing thing to note is the acknowledgement gained from fellow motorists in the forms of waves and finger gestures as they pass. I’ve identified the most popular and will attempt top give a brief description of them.
1. The “Peace Man”; Left hand at 12 o’clock, index and middle finger raised in the classic
sign of the 60’s.
2. The “Cockatoo“; Left hand at 1 or 2 o’clock on the wheel, thumb remains and four fingers move up and spread to the left.
3. The “Dicky bird“; One for true cricket lovers. Right hand up with fingers clenched and the index straight up. Slight movement forwards towards windscreen as if answering that age old question “ow-iz-ee?”.
4. The “Goal“; Hands in the classic 10 and 2 position on the wheel, both index fingers rocket upwards at the same time as if Sav Rocca has just threaded a beauty from 65 meters out.
5. The “Stop!”; Right hand up in front with palms out towards oncoming driver.
6. “The Howe”; (Refer Amerindian custom - F Troop etc) Left hand gesture. Elbow stays to rear and in middle of seats, hand up vertically with palm exposed and all digits extended together.
7 “The Frank“; My personal favourite and named after Cousin Frank who’s to tight to waste much energy. Left or right hand at 12 on the wheel, index finger only moves slightly up. At least it’s a gesture of acknowledgement, no matter how small.
8. “The Cowboy”; Index and middle fingers outwards like you’re playing shoot-em-ups.
9. “The Pope”. Hand forward palm outwards. Thumb out and index and middle fingers straight up. Ring and little finger bent inwards to palm. Also more effective if you make the
sign of the cross as you pass vehicle!"
On teh road to Camerons Corner - 2005
Reply By: sweetwill - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:11
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:11
hi there vk1dx.
try travelling from
Darwin to
Adelaide to in early june waving to every one you will end up with arms like popey cheers for now bill.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:47
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:47
And no doubt a serious case of RSI. Last time we drove that road there weren't too many cars on it.
As said by others we also do not wave to everyone. Without being snobby we have three types. 4wds and trucks always, caravans (now) only on reply to a wave, hire vehicles, RV's and ordinary traffic and obvious locals - never. Disappointed to add locals but they realistically only wave to their local mates anyway. Thats fine. Funny how a lot of locals waved to us in our dirty car. And yes we were only too happy to say Hi in return.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:32
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:32
I wave at most travellers on the road, it dosen't worry me if they don't wave back, you can get a sore wrist from waving sometimes, so I just lift the fingers, maybe a bloke ought to get one of those old mechanical hands you used to see on buses ect, then again some of you
young ones might not have seen them or know what i'm describing lol lol.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:06
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:06
Don't start us on the cheesey car novelties will you!!!
Remember the nodding dog on the back shelf?
What about the hand on a spring? You could cut off a few fingers and let it do it for you..
Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:42
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:42
We just did 1900kms in WA and had a wave of some sort by most. The non wavers came from all types of outfits.
One thing I've noticed though is that sometimes it can be hard to see the other driver. The angle of the windscreen, the direction the sun is hitting it etc can obscure the driver so if there is a wave or not I wouldn't know.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:02
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:02
Very true about the modern cars. As someone else posted.
But who cares. We wave.
Its something to do on a lonely road. As it was when you could travel with another car for heaps of
miles and wave as he turned off onto a side road. Same, same thing.
A friendly country way. Isn't that one of the reasons we go "out there".
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:47
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 19:47
Hi vk1dx,
There's a farmer that we see sometimes as we travel to town, I've got no idea who he is or his name, but he waves. He might be some ways from the road, half a kilometer at times, yet he waves as he sits on his tractor.
Now, I don't know if he sits there all day waving, or he's just a friendly bloke, but I always wave back.
I've come to the conclusion, that some folsk wave and others don't, some pull campers and others pull vans, Makes no different to me, I knowledge all travelers.
A few years back, I use to work in hardware, the truck driver went on a fortnights holiday and I got to do deliveries,
well, if I didn't have a sore arm from waving to every Tom, Dick & Harry that came the other way, It wasn't just trucks, it was car, bikes, delivery vans and push bikes to people walking along the footpath.We always wondered why it took him so long to do a delivery. The bloke spent all day waving, A true story.
If ya wave and ya don't get one back, ya no worse off are ya?
Nah, keep it going
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:58
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 20:58
Nice one. Your driver sounds lika a wag. I gather all those folk also saw the company name on the truck. Now that was priceless advertising. But I think it was just good natured country frindliness.
As the farmer also proved.
Hell Dont you just love the country.
Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:27
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:27
Its time for Phil to take his chemo pills. 23 each night for a week. And that taste rotten. Thanks you mob for jokes and the reminder of how great the country is.
Night all
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:47
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 21:47
When we bought our first Jayco we started to notice other Jayco owners giving us a wave. Wasn't long before we started doing it too. Friendly bunch we thought.
Reply By: Voxson - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:49
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:49
Back in the day when i was a kid and my dad would be driving along,,,, for example,,, between
port augusta and glendambo............
We used to see a car about 4times an hour so a wave was a valid form of recognition of another traveller in a remote sort of area....
You guys seem to want a wave back from people travelling between
Cairns and
Innisfail in the month of July,,, come-on,,, what the.????
What a waste of an iconic gesture..
I think it is a waste of time waving to each and every car that comes along every 1 minute or so...
Save it for when you are on the Northern Arnhemland Road, or on some station track etc etc...
There are too many travellers to really appreciate a two way wave on our highways nowadays..
When i get waved at i dont even bother to wave back on a major highway but it is a different story in remote areas..
And by saying remote areas i dont mean
Cape York or
Kimberley etc...
I mean
places like Arnhemland,
Hay River, Gunbarrel Hwy sometimes........ etc etc...
Follow Up By: Voxson - Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:51
Monday, Aug 23, 2010 at 23:51
and if you guys dont get that,,, then i understand why you started this post..
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:39
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 07:39
Thats fine. It takes all kinds. I sure understand and you will note that I dont wave to every vehiclu either.
But . . .
I sure dont like your attitude to what is considered remote. No way could I get there. I went to Arnemland and the specialist blew a fuse. Its the need to be near civilisation for my cancer mate. And its not curable. 5 years to go at the moment. Thanks for rubbing that one in. I know you did not mean (hope) to do it but maybe a little consideration when saying such things.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:29
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:29
Thats not fair of me. You were not to know.
I withdraw the comment unreservedly.
Reply By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:52
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:52
If you dont wave on
Kangaroo Island the locals run you of the road. Every body waves there. Great place
Reply By: Member - Warwick D (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:52
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 08:52
Greetings, we are caravaners and 4WDs. We always wave, and have a chat to truckers, vanners, and 4WDs. Closer to the cities, there are fewer wavers.
WD
Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:47
Tuesday, Aug 24, 2010 at 09:47
If you want to wave & say "Hi" then what's wrong with that!!! Good onya, the thing I hate talking of courtesy is pulling into a servo & the person in front fills their vehicle & then goes shopping in the servo or orders food whilst their vehicle is still blocking the bowsers!! Recently I pulled in behind a fellow in a Patrol whom, by the look of his vehicle was set up for towing a van....after he filled his 2 tanks he asked if I wanted diesel...he pulled off the drive to allow me to fill up. When he was leaving I waved and thanked him....I had just finished filling my vehicle when another 4WD pulled in behind me...I adopted the same example of the previous guy,pulling fwd so this bloke could fill his vehicle...he waved and thanked me....might be a corney story but if we treat people the way we would like to be treated what a happy & pleasant life we would all have. Courteous behaviour never hurt anyone IMHO.
Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 02:15
Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 02:15
Orejap.
This I like. I do the same if I can. If i'm the only one there I might take my time, but if the servo is busy, get in get out. Move car if possible, let others in. Be careful though as some servos don't like it happening. They're worried about drive offs with todays
fuel prices.
Reply By: Tadooch - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 22:22
Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 22:22
When I was 18 ('77) I won 2x30 day Greyhound bus passes and set off with a mate. Bris to
Cairns was 1st leg. We were seated up front when I noticed the lift of the right index finger "wave" between the driver and truckies etc. I asked the driver and he said those doing long hauls acknowledge each other with the finger wave as a signal that they will look out for each other. It was more important in those days of lesser traffic. If you had break down between say Rocky and Mackay, the code was that if your vehicle was recognised as a friendly they would stop to assist.
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 18:40
Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 18:40
Its an interesting thread I reckon. We tow a van & always wave to oncoming vans & & in nearly all cases get a wave back, usually from the driver. My wife goes crook on me if I get a bit lazy & forget to wave, so she does it for me.
One important thing I think about what our family call the Fraternity wave, is that you should smile while you do it & not do so in a bored & sort of dutiful manner!
But this bit always make me wonder.................. Why is it that if I'm in my Ute & do not have our van in tow & there is an oncoming Van or motor home & I or my wife wave, the on comer does not wave back? It seems you must be hooked up to your pride & joy in order to participate in this wonderful practise? Try it yourself & I reckon you will quickly see what I mean!
A great & friendly thread, there should be more in this vein! Happy & safe travelling to you all & keep waving & smiling
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 20:30
Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 20:30
And thanks for adding to it.