setting up vehicle

thinking of getting rid of the old GU patrol wagon and going for a dual cab with a tray back.
i have visions of using the tray back to carry the quad bike while pulling the CT behind. the question i have is where do i put the 70 liter waeco? it normally lives in the back of the wagon plugged in. but now if i were to get a tray back, what does everyone else do with their fridges? im thinking maybe a pull out box for it, but it may take up too much room for the quad.

any thoughts much appreciated

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 00:04

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 00:04
Hi John

Do you need the dual cab for seating the family? We remove or fold up the rear seats in the F250 extra cab to make room for the Engel and toolboxes. Will the tray on a dual cab be big enough for the quad?

AnswerID: 428356

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 00:22

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 00:22
Gday Motherhen,

Yeah good idea folding down the rear seats. I could look around for a dual cab/king cab that has folding seats.
do you have two fridges, or do you just go back to the car everytime you want something out of the fridge after you've set up camp?
Yes i think the quad will fit on a tray back, but not on a stlye side ute because of the wheel arches.

FollowupID: 699062

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 09:14

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 09:14
I would check the fit of your quad. My Suzuki 250 only just fits on a standard dual cab hilux...couldnt shut the tailgate....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 699084

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 14:25

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 14:25
Hi John

We usually have the caravan, with internal fridge and on long trips can run a second Engel under the bed as a freezer, but when camping on the ute for short periods, just the 40 litre Engel. Basically it is only used for drinking water and lunches. It runs from a separate battery, powered by an 80 w solar panel on the roof of the ute.

Our Grizzly (it is a larger sized quad) just fits on the Landcruiser tray, and does fit on the F250 between the wheel arches - but it is a wider vehicle. Room to spare on the very long tray. We got the extra cab rather than dual cab for extra tray length for sleeping on.

Mh

FollowupID: 699112

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 14:26

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 14:26
Darn - I got an error message and my reply vanished.

FollowupID: 699113

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 14:27

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 14:27
Oh goody, the reply is there now.

FollowupID: 699114

Reply By: SDG - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 02:20

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 02:20
If you make a box for the fridge, be mindfull of circulation. It would build up heat otherwise resulting in inefficient cooling. On another note, make sure it does not get wet with rain. I'm only assuming they are not water proof. Have not been game to test that one out yet.
AnswerID: 428360

Reply By: smokie - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:59

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 08:59
if you are pulling a CT make a box and fit it to your drawbar
AnswerID: 428373

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 15:18

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 15:18
gday Smokie,

Yeah i thought about utilizing the draw bar for a number of things, but then i would loose storage. at the moment i have 1800 X 600mm butterfly lid boxes. i thought of converting it to take a quad, but again, i would be sacrificing storage space. i guess its a juggling act...

FollowupID: 699116

Reply By: Member - John S (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 15:19

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 15:19
Has anyone used those canvas type canopies that Constantin along the length of the tray?
i think that would be the go for protection of the fridge, and room to put the quad in...i think.

AnswerID: 428407

Reply By: crd patrol - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:23

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:23
John,

If you are looking to buy a ute and you work out the size of your quad bike then you may be able to have some alloy toolboxes, either down one or each side of the ute tray to house the camping gear that will come from the butterfly box that is on the front of your camper, if you decide to stick the fridge in there. Just a thought.

We have a Cape York camper and it has a butterfly box on the front that is 1800W x 660D x 600H and it has our 50L waeco stored in it and there is still a lot of room to store most of our gear.

I would seriously consider...not putting the quad on the drawbar of the camper as it will add pretty much the weight of the quad to the towball download. Plus the extra stress to the drawbar. You would have to redistribute a lot of the weight to the back of the camper and sometimes that is near on impossible with most campers.

crd
AnswerID: 428447

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:22

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:22
CRD,

did you have the box modified to allow the fridge to breathe?

FollowupID: 699159

Follow Up By: crd patrol - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 23:22

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 23:22
John,

No, as of yet the box has not been modified, although it would be nice and it may run a little better. But we have been camping like this since we got the camper in 05 and had the 50L waeco for not much less time and we have had absolutely no issues with it. If you leave items around the air vents on the fridge they will get warm but when I pack around it I make sure there is ample room for air to circulate. To allow better air flow around the fridge I have used 2 pieces of pine stud behind (1 laying flat and the other on it's side)it to keep the fridge off the back wall. This gives around 4" of clearance that runs along one side of the fridge (nothing but 1 small fishing rod or a camp light ever gets packed down this side)
Also to stop items falling over and blocking the vents I have taken the lid off a cheap galvanised steel box ($15-$20 at s/cheap) and squeezed it down the other side. It is positioned further down so as to allow the vent to be fully exposed. My wife puts the cling wrap, alfoil, tomato sauce, rum, bourbon etc etc in this box, all the things that can stand up.

I am busy for most of the day tomorrow, but if you want I will try to take some photos of it. You may have to send me a reminder as I will probably forget. Just post a follow up to this and it will be sent to my email, where I will see it later in the day.

crd
FollowupID: 699167

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 23:39

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 23:39
CRD,

thanks for all that info, and thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to take some pics.
Appreciate it,

FollowupID: 699169

Follow Up By: crd patrol - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 19:26

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 19:26
Hi john,

Mate I am having a few issues with photo's at the moment. Is it possible to give me a call on 0439778728 and I will email them to you.

crd
FollowupID: 699231

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 00:12

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 00:12
CRD,

sorry, the phones where i am at the moment are pretty poor. I think you can find my email address in my profile if you want to email me the pics.

thanks,

john
FollowupID: 699273

Follow Up By: crd patrol - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 09:14

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 09:14
Hohn,

I have looked in your profile but as I am no longer a member I cannot send you a message via this site. I couldn't find an email address either. I have tried to get the piccies sorted out on photobucket but I am having issues with it.

When you get home or wherever you can get good phone service give us a buzz (I can call you back if you want) and we can swap email addy's then. I have a few photos of what I have done to the camper so you can have a look.

Nice camper by the way.

crd
FollowupID: 699298

Reply By: Nutta - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:39

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:39
You could either knock up a rack and put the quad on the camper or gear on it.
The quad will use all the room on the tray.
AnswerID: 428453