internet in the outback

Hi alll
I am heading off into the SA, WA and NT outback and would like to know the best way to access the internet while I am on the road can anyone help thanks John

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 17:18

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 17:18
Hi John,

Suggest you send an MM to Equinox. He had the latest and greatest while we were in the Gibson Desert this year. Could receive/send absolutely anywhere but a tad expensive tho' I believe.

Michael
AnswerID: 428418

Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 19:06

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 19:06
A tad expensive is slightly understating it MJ! It was horrendously expensive!

Cheers Mick.

(P.S. Wanna be out around a campfire somewhere...anywhere but here!)

FollowupID: 699144

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 19:38

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 19:38
Yes, a luxury I will probably do without next time - $25 per day and $10 per megabyte, my bill coming in just under 2K.

FollowupID: 699147

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:10

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:10
Hi Alan

What system were you using? Details would be appreciated.

Dick
Dick

FollowupID: 699157

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:19

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 21:19
Hi Dick

A Bgan system. It was easy to operate, just point it in the direction of the satellite and connect to your laptop via ethernet. You can charge it via 250v or 12v and internal batteries last a few hours.

I rented it from Rentasatellite phone in Perth.

FollowupID: 699158

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 19:51

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 19:51
Yep was a bit exy Mick, but you cannot put a price on talking to the 'Queen' can you??? :)))

MJ
FollowupID: 699234

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 06:23

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 06:23
Alan,

And I thought my excess usage for 2 months, using Next G, of $40 above my data pack of $10/mth for 150mb and mobile calls of $40 above my plan of $30/mth was expensive. LOL.
FollowupID: 699277

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 17:19

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 17:19
The only real option is Telstra Next G.

Wherever you can get Mobile Phone Service you can get internet access.

I personally use my Next G phone and pay for a data pack to suit my needs. After installing the Telstra software, Connect the phone either through Bluetooth or usb cable connection.

You keep your current email address, as long as you have a current plan with telstra, or another provider.

The other way is to buy a usb Next G modem and use it.

I personally prefer the phone as I reckon I get better reception in marginal areas with my Nokia and external antenna.
AnswerID: 428419

Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 19:05

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 19:05
Yep Telstra is the only option. I use Optus wireless broadband and it isn't worth a cracker when travelling. I had a Telstra 3G phone and was constantly amazed as to where you would get a signal.

FollowupID: 699143

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 11:55

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 11:55
not the only option

depending what they mean about outback the cheapest way to access the internet is at town telecentres
FollowupID: 699193

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 13:03

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 13:03
Yes well, I do think it's the only "Real" option. WIFI Coverage and free access is very patchy. And if you want to do internet banking and other financial transactions I would much rather do it on my own computer.
FollowupID: 699201

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 17:45

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 17:45
Hi John

If you need internet every day, do a search here for threads on satellite internet.

We went with Next G, and had reception in most towns, and up to 20 flat kilometres from towns using an external antenna put onto the caravan roof from the Telstra USB modem. The big advantage of the USB modem over other types of modem is that it needs no additional power source. As aforesaid using the mobile phone is another easy option. Without even going to using skype or any other voice options through the computer, we hardly needed to use our phones. Using email and instant messaging on the computer was adequate to keep in touch with family and business. We had a satellite phone for emergencies, so were able to phone a family member to let the rest of the family know if we were delayed out of range for longer than they would expect. Otherwise we'd let them know we were heading out of range for xxx days or weeks and they would hear from us when we returned to civilisation.

AnswerID: 428425

Reply By: Willykj - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 18:07

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 18:07
Up to this trip I used a laptop tethered to my mobile using a telstra data browsing pack.

Then - I bought an iPad for this current trip. Best thing I ever did..I use it for everything - spreadsheets, photos, blogs, emails, internet etc.

As far as access I use Telstra Next G - a $30 prepaid data plan gives me 3gb which is more than I can use. AS far as reception it outperforms both my mobile telstra next g phones..ie no bars on mobile - iPad works..

Also have checked with others using the USB things & I have had signal when they haven't.
Was just camped 28km outside Wyndham & other campers were using my IPad to pay bills and access on line banking..

Willy
AnswerID: 428428

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 18:23

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 18:23
Snaps to that. I found the iPad better than anything else as well. It must have the extra aerial that the iPhone is missing. Mike
FollowupID: 699139

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:19

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:19
$30 for 3Gig! Gee I pay more than that for my sattelite broadband at home, what speed do you get and does it include both uploads and downloads?
FollowupID: 699152

Follow Up By: Willykj - Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:34

Wednesday, Aug 25, 2010 at 20:34
Not sure what speed but it is reasonably quick. Not like my ADSL 2 at home but it is pretty good for travel. I assume it includes both up & down. Telstra packs are prepaid & on $30 it charges at 1 cent per mb. The $20 plan is 1gb & charges at 2 cents per mb.
Provided you recharge before 30 day expiry any unused carries over. Willy
FollowupID: 699155

Follow Up By: DesF - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 19:54

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 19:54
Hi, Willykj, any more info on where you got your $30.00 for 3 Gig , I have had a Telstra Data pack for a couple of years and the best I can find is $10.00 for 200 meg and $49.00 for 3 gig.
Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers Des,
FollowupID: 699379

Follow Up By: Willykj - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 20:50

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 20:50
Des,
That's the pricing for the prepaid iPad plans. $20 for 1gb & $30 for 3gb plus some higher ones. If you do a search on the Telstra web site for details. You have to have an iPad for those plans, Willy
FollowupID: 699390

Follow Up By: DesF - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:30

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 17:30
Thanks for that info . Willy . I missed the point about the I Pad, I have a Nokia 6720 which works good , the plan we have , you have to be on a Telstra Plan to get them,
Thanks again,
Cheers Des.
FollowupID: 699492

Reply By: B1B2 - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 08:19

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 08:19
G'day John,
We used the iPhone for a similar trip and found it really good. Tether it to your computer for internet access. Get the plan that suits you. If you have phone reception you have internet. We also were mainly bushcamping.

AnswerID: 428479

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 09:28

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 09:28
Last year I used my nokia with a data pack and it worked well in very remote places but when Telstra dropped the prices of its wireless broadband it was cheaper for me to get a USB thingy and not use the phone data packs.
This years trip I could use the USB anywhere the phone worked and it saved having to constantly charge the phone as battery use is very high on the phone when in data mode, typically around an hour at a time.
AnswerID: 428485

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 13:36

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 13:36
Both David and I have mobile phones on a Telstra Business Mobile Plus $35 plan. This plan automatically includes a 100mB data pack, but for David's plan we have also added a 1Gig datapack (which is $29 but we pay $19 due to a $10 monthly credit for being on an annual plan). We also get a 10% discount off our bill. So overall, David's phone with 1Gig of data for the July period when we were away uploading loads of mobile place updates via iPhone, and tethering to the net etc was $56. My bill however was $39 but I still had the 100mB data pack. I consider these rates for service to be very affordable so it looks as if you just have to get yourself onto the right plan. I am aware that with Telstra, you don't have to buy data pack plans as we have, but can add them on a month-to-month basis which is great for people travelling short term, and lets you just pay an extra $10-20/mth for when you need it.

Hope this is of some help,
Michelle
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 428503

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 14:12

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 14:12
Youve got to be carefull with data usage I guess you would have a pretty good idea about what a meg and what a Gb relates too

I was caught out a while back when still on dial up and my exisiting supplier ceased so i sighned up for a month with big pond dial up

the package was 50mb which i though would be ok on dial up
- it lasted just over a day and as i said thats dial up so its not like i was surfing utube, mostly forum cruising like this

i changed the plan for the month and ended up with a bill for $100 for a month of dialup due to excess charges

my point is using next G 100mb wouldbe lucky to last till morning smoko if you wernt ultra carefull
FollowupID: 699209

Reply By: Member - john c2 (SA) - Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 16:01

Thursday, Aug 26, 2010 at 16:01
hi everyone and thank's to all of you who have replied. might go see my telstra shop and have a chat. thank's. john.
AnswerID: 428517

Follow Up By: anglepole - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 10:08

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 10:08
You can also compliment your Internet and save some money by using McDonald's. Most have free WiFi. Signing up with a national Library is also very useful. Just log on computer and you are away.

Have a good trip
FollowupID: 699304