Plenty of talk about fuel consumption!, how about alcohol consumption.lol.

Submitted: Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 20:48
ThreadID: 81002 Views:4716 Replies:12 FollowUps:12
Come on!, fess up, A carton of beer lasts me a week!, But err!, some red wine seems to disappear as well ....LOL.

Reply By: Member - John S (INT) - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:05

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:05
G'day Axle,
It generally depends on the temp of the old motor, winter time calls for a little more anti-freeze like a bit of Bundy or a nice warming port.
But summer time calls for a few cold ones ,after a hard days work or fishing, what ever the case may be.
Or i could be right off track and you mean what is the fuel consumption of alcohol run 4x4s .
Cheers anyway,guess we should have another beer and think about it. LOL.
John.
AnswerID: 428675

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:27

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:27
Hahahaha, I like that !, " Depends on the Temp of the old motor"....LOL.

FollowupID: 699404

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:20

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:20
A good post Axle,
Do i really what to admit to the 'True' value of my addiction? ;)
As long as it doesn't effect my family, my health or my friends, it isn't a problem.
I love my Friday & Sunday Arvo's.. I also love camping, spending time with family, mates, and meeting travelers.
So i guess it depends on the occasion.
Then again if you ask Fysh, it's too much sometimes. LOL

AnswerID: 428677

Follow Up By: Axle - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:25

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:25
As you say mate!, if its not a worry to others then why not enjoy!

FollowupID: 699403

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 11:33

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 11:33
Gday Hairs,
We just had going away party version 7.9!
The sheds full of rubber and smells like a tyre factory .....there's a brand new new commodore parked out the front waiting to be picked up (with a truck) that wasnt so lucky.
There are a few sore heads.....but what a great day!!!!! They've reopened the GCR.

Yipeeeee!!!!
FollowupID: 699462

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 13:05

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 13:05
Good Stuff mate.
Keep in touch, safe trip.
FollowupID: 699466

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:49

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 21:49
i do note with interest that a lot of "threads" tend to start on something like the "size" of a fridge or whatever and the end result is always as to how much beer it will hold to suffice until the next refill point...
A classic was how best to pack equipment, cooking gear ect and ended up with details on how best to wrap bottles of wine and stubbies, even cans, some wrap each one in paper and i bet they stand back and chuck in the food from a distance .....
Ok lets face it, it is the most expensive, fragile, valuable, essential, hard to get, perishable, essential (think i already said that !!) that you will NEED to have with you where ever you go, incluiding at home for that matter ..... after all can you buy a "vegitable fridge" NUP but you can get all sorts of BEER fridges and WINE fridges specifialy made for that purpose ..... we win..
Travel around Australia and you will go through a handful of fruit n veggie check points yet travel through remote parts of Aussie and you will go through heaps of ACHOLE zones, some places you can lose your whole car if you have as little as 1 CAN in it, some places you can have only light beer ..... and you just try to buy it in some places .... good luck on that, in a lot of places you have to show ID/lic and are limited to how much ....
AnswerID: 428683

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:28

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:28
Joe, the size of the fridge has got bugger all to do with it,
it has to do with how much grog you can carry untill the next "refill point",
Ie' do you wait for the most place to buy your fuel,
plan your trip and dodge the restriction area's and cop it sweet in
the fruit and veggie area's.they apply to every one.
FollowupID: 699411

Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:40

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:40
the most expensive place to buy your fuel
FollowupID: 699415

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:04

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:04
. . alcohol consumption.lol

Now I'm confused

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 428688

Follow Up By: SDG - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:18

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:18
Consumption is fine, but how far do you get on a litre. I only seem to get as far as the nearest tree before needing a refill.
FollowupID: 699410

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:17

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:17
Now I really like a cold beer when it's hot, but I also like to carry red and white wine (and maybe a drop of port) for when sitting around the camp at night. I don't normally drink stuff out of a box, but when camping, getting rid of empty bottles is a real pain, so the box wins out. To save fridge space, I decant white into a 1L plastic container and put it into the fridge.
But my recent dismay was travelling thru the Kimberley - no casks for sale right from Kununurra thru to Broome and beyond! It was bad enough in the NT, where you could only buy one cask each day (Darwin excepted, for some reason). OK that's a fair bit of wine for one day, but if you're travelling thru and stocking up for a week in the wilderness, it's a real pain. Interestingly, you can buy as much beer, bottled wine and spirits as you like - fill the wagon, it's fine, but no boxes.
Yeh, I understand that alcohol is a real problem up in the north, but there's gotta be a better way.
Gerry
AnswerID: 428691

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:37

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:37
...and there I was in the Bungles with more than a couple of frosties chilled in the Engle and not a soul to share them with..what a shame Gerry. Next time perhaps ;-)

FollowupID: 699414

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:49

Friday, Aug 27, 2010 at 22:49
there is a better way, the alcohol is NOT the problem and that is what we need to change, it is the people that have access to it without any form of control ........
Drinking alcohol is a BIG responsibility for any person as is driving a car, we have to get a licence to drive a car and are restricted to limits when we get it for the first time .....
I am working on a system, with the help of "others" where each and every person has to have a licence to drink, starting on low % for a probationary period and if clear get a full licence ......
By now most reading this will throw up there arms in disgust but here are the "points" that make it work ...

You get a licence based on your "history" if previous drinking offences you are limited and "earn" a full licence if you stay clean for a period of time..
You have to show your licence when you buy grog, clear licence and you can buy what you want (casks, bottles, spritis ect), restriced and you can only buy from the restricted list ....
If you show a licence that is not yours you can not buy .....
You can not buy for others without a licence as you will lose yours .....
If a doctor declares you have a drinking problem you lose your licence ....
Drink driving you lose BOTH licences .....
A grog outlet will lose its licence if it gets caught supplying you with grog without your licence .....
The licence will have your piccy on it so you need to carry it at all times .....
It will have a magnetic strip on it and ALL pubs and clubs will have a card swipe on the door, no licence you simply can not get in, even if you want you cant ...
By now you can see the point in it all, the GOVT hate it as it will work and will be cheaper than all the present system combined but means they actually have to do some work at last ....
Wont go into more but it will work and i hope to hell we get it in....
FollowupID: 699418

Follow Up By: Skippype - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 08:26

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 08:26
Joe Grace
What you are proposing has its merits in certain areas. But you try bringing that in in the big cities and you would be laughed out of town. If you brought it in in problem areas you would be accused of discrimination. I think education is the only way and as you and I both know that will not work unless those receiving the education really want to learn.
Good luck with the Rodeo.........
Skip
FollowupID: 699435

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 20:00

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 20:00
I live right within the "problem" areas and guess what, they want it...... we have lived in different areas all over the NT and now in QLD and the money alone that gets poured into education is shocking and it has not done a single thing ...... and wont, instead they are banning it from being sold and that affects those that abide by the laws causing them to bend them as far as possible so they can enjoy what was in the past NOT A PROBLEM ...
The whole point of it is that someone who has a problem with drinking can cause trouble when drunk, maybe even hurt someone and the next day when they sober up they can waltz in again and get some more without anything stopping them and drift off into trouble again ... if sober a publician can get in trouble for NOT serving them, even if he knows they are a problem drinker, they have threatened "discrimiation" for not being served ..
We have lived in TOTALLY dry areas and the grog around is shocking and because it is "dry" it is hidden and the drinking is not seen until it gets out of control and then blows up big time, using this method it brings it out into the open where it can be seen and controlled .......
It is already being used in some areas now and with great success, lets face it if you could be certain you could buy the same products from say Katherine or any outlet in Aust as you could buy in your home town whilst you are on holidays then you would put up your hand to get a licence would you not ???
We had not been to Perth for 5 years and was suprised to find some outlets in PERTH now restrict what you can buy, went down to Kattanning and the same there now, even SHUT down when they suspect something is happening, Geraldton was the same ...... the list gets bigger as we travelled so it is not restriced to just "some problem areas" ..... just we choose not to recognise that it is now Australia wide ....
Rodeo is going well, thanks Skip
FollowupID: 699520

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 21:34

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 21:34
Joe Grace,
Makes a lot of sense to me what you are saying.
Only one problem i can see. Too easy and simple.
Duke
FollowupID: 699531

Reply By: Madfisher - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 11:48

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 11:48
In the summer I love a cold beer, but rarely touch it in the winter, but then again you cannot flyfish and drink or you will wear the consequences, opps already done that fly stuck in the ear.
AnswerID: 428736

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 19:25

Saturday, Aug 28, 2010 at 19:25
Can well and truely call me a 2 pot screamer nowadays BUT BEFORE really bad to the point of ridiculous. 3 mates and I polished off a 10Gal keg one night and by 7am I was riding the motorbike back into town with the empty keg on the tank and my thighs to drop it off at the pub that I used to work at. Have been told of many a night on the good ol bundy that would do plenty of damage to me nowadays but years ago it never seemed to bother me. Was even voted "rooky bleep pot" of a sporting club back when I was 17. Didn't really slow down until mid 20's, might as well say I have completely stopped now as I near 40. Drive as much as I do and you would not risk it either.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 428770

Reply By: molzy - Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 08:43

Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 08:43
about 1L /100klm or 3 cans/hr( sometimes the going can be slow) ;)
AnswerID: 428793

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 14:02

Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 14:02
some of you guys should have the same nickname as me...sponge...
AnswerID: 428828

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 15:59

Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 15:59
Recently I was overnighting at Top Springs in the NT. The next day we were on our way south through Kalkarindji and Lajemanu to the Tanami.

While having a drink at Top Springs some locals were buying up and put about 9 cubes of VB into their vehicle for the trip home.

On our way south in the morning we were able to work out, by seeing the discarded cartons on the side of the road and that a cube of VB is about 10 litres, that the consumption INSIDE the vehicle was 10 litres per 15 kays. ( A fresh carton, a distinctive cube shape, was appearing about every 15 kms.) This was shared by about 4 or 5 adults.

And this is not a comment on the particular group that was doing the drinking, (binge drinking has no ethnic boundaries) more a comment on the consumption level (far worse than my LC200 guzzling down diesel while dragging a heavy van behind it) and the littering.

AnswerID: 428836

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 17:17

Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 17:17
Hard one to answer Axle,
there are some here that would label you an 'alchy' after two shandies.
Others would suggest your not a bloke unless you can knock back a block inside two hours.

All day everyday.............iced coffee.
Evenings by the campfire..........Johnny Walker.
Summers morning after the fire..............6-7 icy beers with the bacon & eggs.

Port........car seems to cover a lot more desert after a bottle or two.

Water.......something the missus cooks spuds in.

Cheers mate,
Lionel.
AnswerID: 428844

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 18:56

Sunday, Aug 29, 2010 at 18:56
Don't drink anymore ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, or less , light beer nowadays instead of full strength ,a G&T as the sun goes down , wine with dinner , chivas or a good single malt for a night cap , not necessarily every day ,,,
AnswerID: 428857