Toyo Open Country M/T LT265/75R16 on highway

About to replace my Dunlops. Was thinking of getting a set of ATs (probably BFGs) and a set of MTs on different rims and swap them as needed. I am now wondering if the Toyo M/T could suffice on bitumen highways without too many drawbacks and be used as an all round tyre. This would save the drama of wheel swaps and a few dollars.

They are for a cruiser V8 trayback that now needs a tyre with better mud performance.

I would like to hear from people who have used the Toyo M/T about how they have performed on the highway.

The pictures were taken on the CSR of a similar vehicle to mine and the owners strongly recommended the Toyos.

Flynnie

Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Aug 30, 2010 at 20:07

Monday, Aug 30, 2010 at 20:07
Flynnie,

I've just done 15,000 on my new Tojo ute with the Open Country M/T. I am wrapped with their performance on dirt and off track. Their construction is second to none. We completed 1600 km or more in off track situations (read no track) through some of the toughest country you could ask for, loaded to the hilt with fuel, water and supplies. I had one puncture on the Toyo's. Other users on the trip had the same experience where our compatriots on other well known brands had over 20 punctures and destroyed tyres.

Gravel, rock and sand...they eat it and ask for more. Through the rocks of the Kimberley and Pilbara not one single issue. I am also very happy with their performance on the bitumen,. They are noisier than an A/T but you would expect that. Still handle very well in wet conditions and maintain an excellent degree of control.

I've have tried and damaged a lot of top brand tyres over the years. Of all those the Toyos are the best performers by far. I'm sold.

Mick

AnswerID: 428965

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Monday, Aug 30, 2010 at 21:08

Monday, Aug 30, 2010 at 21:08
Thanks Mick

The Toyos look to be the go. There is so much mud and slush around I need to lock the hubs to get into my yard - true. The long drought is over.

Never really occurred to me to look at M/Ts without a second set of ATs until today. Time to chase up prices and get some fitted.

I like the picture of your rig. Looks a very well researched and executed vehicle.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 699692

Reply By: Member - Steve M1 (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 08:04

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 08:04
Hi Flynnie

Nice photo of my tyres! The Toyo MT's are still going great. No flat tyres for three months of desert country travel we did this year. These Toyo MT's are the quietest mud terrains I have used on the highway and are the best off road tyres I have ever used.
Steve M

AnswerID: 428986

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 19:07

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 19:07

Thanks for the reply. Good that you could recognise your own tyres! It took a while but I eventually got around to checking out the "good gear" photos collected during my travels.

I had one puncture and that was self inflicted but that's another story. There were an awful lot of near misses which could easily have been staked tyres, if luck was not on my side.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 699754

Reply By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 08:57

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 08:57
We use 265/75x16 Toyo M/T's, fantastic off road and as tough as nails....on road they do a good job, a little more noisier on bitumen and not as stable as an A/T.

Every one forgets about the Toyo's, the all think Cooper, Bridgestone, BFG, Dunlop.

The Toyo M/T gets big reviews in good old USA.

Perhaps their poor popularity is part Toyo's fault....very little advertising and they don't give free sets to jurno's or readers of 4x4 magazines.

Welcome back Mick...must be hard, we have to put up with John and Suzette all this coming weekend so were sure to get an ear bashing...LOL.

Can't wait to hear about the trip.
AnswerID: 428991

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 10:14

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 10:14
What sort of wear are people getting from their Toyo M/Ts ?

AnswerID: 429001

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 09:36

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 09:36
About 45,000k
FollowupID: 699804

Reply By: prado4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 10:16

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 10:16
I can only echo the replies of others;

I've got the Toyo Open Country MT's (285/75R16 - 33") on my V8 Cruiser Trayback and am very happy with them. They've done trips from Perth to the Vic High Country, Pilbara/CSR and Cape York (lots of different dirt roads / sharp rocks / sand / mud / etc) and are still going strong. I'm impressed with their strength.

I don't find them noisy on the road, but with a V8 diesel, a 3" exhaust and no muffler there are other distinct sounds to be heard - and not the tyres

Importantly they are wearing quite well, and haven't chipped out anywhere near as badly as some of the friends (other brand) tyres on the same trips, and no punctures to date.

Not the cheapest, but worth every cent I reckon..............

AnswerID: 429002

Reply By: Flynnie - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 20:19

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 20:19
Thanks for all your replies. All very positive.

Sounds like no one is running a spare set of rims for when on the highway so that says something.

Toyo M/T it is!

Flynnie
AnswerID: 429053

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 22:06

Tuesday, Aug 31, 2010 at 22:06
Err I've still got my Alloys with the standard tyres but I rekon I'll leave them in the shed.

FollowupID: 699779

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 12:55

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 12:55
Ultimately you can only loose with that strategy Flyinne , if your trying to get performance.

Toyo's are good tyres though and I used them whenever I needed something straight and true - usually they balance up with low weight.

Its an understandable ideal to have just one set of tyres , and for some that are not able to change them its almost a must.

But no point kidding oneself, the MT's are simply worse than there AT/HT counterparts in fuel consumption , normal road roadholding , noise, wear & cost.

Its like anything , the more appropriate the tool is for the job the better the job gets done.

I guess its up to each of us to consider whether the compromise is worth the trouble of changing them.

AnswerID: 429102

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:47

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:47
You have made a valid point Robin.

While I am pretty sure I will get some Toyo MTs soon it is likely I will hedge my bets and finish up with two sets of wheels and tyres. I am baulking a little at the cost of six MTs and using them as the only set of tyres. I do a lot of highway driving and encounter ice from time to time so highway performance has to be good.

Presently have six wheels and I could get two more. I have been wondering if when running ATs the MTs could be an acceptable spare if both types were 265/75. And likewise when running MTs would the ATs be an acceptable spare. That way I could get by with eight wheels and tyres of which up to six could be on the vehicle when touring. I really don't want to go to ten or twelve wheels and tyres and have two completely separate sets. Faced with that I would just get six BFG ATs and accept their limitations (and strengths).

Flynnie

FollowupID: 699861

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton H (SA) - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 21:29

Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 21:29
Sooo...Flynnie, what did you get in the end??

Brenton
FollowupID: 702742

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 23:03

Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 23:03
Brenton

Still a work in progress.

I am getting four of the Toyo M/T LT265/75R16 tyres before long. Am waiting on the preferred tyre place to get back to me. They were in process of opening a Toyo account. The time has got away a bit and I will have to chase them up. Have been distracted by rear brake failure and the rebuilding of same. If they can't supply I will try someone else.

Earlier I was considering getting two more Toyota wheels and setting up four AT and four MT wheels. This is not going to happen as the quote of $1,045 each for a wheel is far too high. I should have got three extra wheels with the original cruiser purchase instead of one as the price then was much more reasonable.

I will get the Toyo M/Ts and see how they go on the highway. If OK I will get two more. If they have too many compromises for highway use I will have to think about some after market wheels running AT tyres.

I expect the Toyo M/Ts will be OK. Most of the cruiser traybacks in the local area have M/T tyres so I don't think I will go far wrong.

I will post an update after they are fitted.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 702751

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 03:05

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 03:05
So just as a matter of interest what sort of price are these in Oz.

I just priced them here in San Diego and they are USD $276.00 each, $15.00 fitting and balancing and 8.75% local sales tax making them around $316.00 each

with current exchange rate it would be about AUD $330.00

How does this compare.

Bruce
FollowupID: 702755

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 08:49

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 08:49
Bruce

I was quoted about AUD $435 at one place. I am hoping to get a better price than that, around the AUD $400.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 702762

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 19:57

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 19:57
Well after a lot of twists and turns I have ordered six new tyres. They are Bridgestone D694 LT 265/75R16 123 R. The Toyo M/Ts will have to wait for another time and another set of rims.

How did I come to this point, more or less opposite where I started?

Preferred local tyre place was still negotiating with Toyo for a dealership. Sorry mate but I got to get something. Toyo lists three dealers in town. The first was a no go because of a rather offhand attitude and a rather expensive quote. Also tried to push a different tyre on me. The second had closed down. The third I visited and was told they had never sold a Toyo tyre but that a rep visited once. Undeterred I called in at a dealer in the next town when passing through. This was better. There were Toyo signs on display and there was an AT Toyo tyre in the showroom. He quoted a price a bit higher than I was after but still within the range of how far I was prepared to go - $415 each. He tried to interest me in another brand of tyre but in fairness I think this was just to give me a cheaper option. I came close to ordering the Toyos but not quite close enough.

While all this was going on I was doing more fact finding and coming to the view that I could not meet my needs adequately with M/Ts only and would need to run an A/T type tyre much of the time. Did not Robin Miller say that? The local blokes are running M/Ts on their cruisers but their driving mix is a lot different to mine. They do a lot of paddock work and occasional trip to town and I do the opposite. Also I got to think there was merit in going for a tyre with a lot of dealers.

So it is a tyre better suited to wet weather highway use that I am getting now. The Toyo M/Ts will have to wait until preparations are made for another big desert trip.

After all this I probably finished up getting the same tyres as if I had just gone into Bob Janes and said "I want some tyres at a good price" and been happy with what I got.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 704653